Search scholarly, peer-reviewed literature in the biomedical sciences.
PubMed is a database created by the National Library of Medicine to facilitate searching the biomedical literature. The MEDLINE databases found within PubMed contains journals that have been reviewed by a panel of experts for quality. PubMed also contains PMC, which contains publicly accessible literature that have not necessarily gone through the same review process. Keywords: biomedical sciences, medicine, basic science, molecular biology, genetics, genomics, immunology, kinesiology, neurosciences, neurobiology, nutrition, anatomy, health
PsycINFO comprehensively indexes the literature of psychology/behavioral sciences, including journals, books and book chapters, and dissertations. Journal coverage spans 1800 - present; monograph indexing extends back to 1600.
Literature on nursing, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Content includes fulltext access to more than 600 journals and citations for journal articles, book chapters, dissertations and selected conference proceedings.
Keywords: nurse, biomedicine, integrative medicine, nutrition, art therapy, healthcare, health policy, rehabilitation, wellness
The Global Index Medicus (GIM) provides worldwide access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low- and middle- income countries. The material is collated and aggregated by WHO Regional Office Libraries on a central search platform allowing retrieval of bibliographical and full text information.
Global Index Medicus searches across MEDLINE and SciELO as well as major regional indexes, including AIM (Africa), LILACS (Latin America and Caribbean), IMSEAR (South-East Asia Region), WPRIM (Western Pacific Region), IMEMR (Eastern Mediterranean Region).
SciELO, Scientific Electronic Library Online, is a model for cooperative electronic publishing of scientific journals on the Internet. Especially conceived to meet the scientific communication needs of developing countries -- particularly Latin America and the Caribbean countries.
Citations to the published literature on health services, technology, administration and research. In addition to journal article citations and abstracts, HealthSTAR includes citations to meeting abstracts, technical reports and monographs.
browser requirements for using OVID (as of 08/01/18):
• Chrome version 30 or greater
• Internet Explorer version 9 or greater. For versions 9-10, TLS 1.2 is disabled by default so you will need to enable it in the browser settings if this hasn’t already been done
• Microsoft Edge: All versions are compliant
• Firefox version 24 or greater. For versions 24-26, TLS 1.2 is disabled by default so you will need to enable it in the browser settings if this hasn’t already been done.
• Safari version 7 or greater
• Safari mobile 5 or greater
Keywords: health services, technology, health policy, healthcare
Describes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields.
The database integrates four bibliographies: the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology (Technology and Culture), the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine. Keywords: medical humanities, alchemy
These are broad-spectrum databases that search across disciplines, including scholarly publications as well as trade publications, newspapers and other sources.
Proquest One Academic is a great place to start when researching a topic. The database offers full text access to thousands of academic journals, books, dissertations, newspapers, and videos from across all disciplines.
Largest available data aggregator for statistics, offering more than one million statistics and facts from more than 18,000 sources within the United States and internationally. Statistics, statistical dossiers, reports, surveys, and market studies are categorized into industries, broad topics, countries, and consumer, digital, and mobility markets. Global Consumer Survey covers more than 50 industries, more than 5,000 international brands, and additional topics from a global perspective. Business Plan Export aids in market modeling, business case development, and profit and loss statement creation.
Complete full-text content of local and regional news from 1983-present, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Please note, photos and some blog content for the Inquirer may not be available through this service
Previously available through Newsbank, now provided through Proquest Newspapers.
ProQuest US Northeast Newsstream enables users to search the most recent regional news content, as well as archives which stretch back to the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. Northeast Newsstream covers news sources from Connecticut, Delaware, Massachusetts, Maine, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, and Vermont. Includes full-text access to the Philadelphia Inquirer from 1981-present
We have access to the Washington Post through a number of different databases. Factiva has the most up-to-date content (usually day of publication), but if you're looking for earlier content, I recommend Gale Academic OneFile for a more pleasant browsing/searching experience.
ACCESS NOTE: User must create free MyData Login while on-campus or using VPN in order to download data. After the Login is created you will be able to download from anywhere.
Data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. Teaching/learning resources include data-driven learning guides and classroom exercises.
The data archive includes a broad range of disciplines, including political science, sociology, demography, economics, history, education, gerontology, criminal justice, public health, foreign policy, and law. ICPSR's entire collection is online and available for downloading. Keywords: data, repository, social sciences, health
An online (no software installation needed) U.S. national data and mapping tool and analytics platform with multidisciplinary applications for college students and faculty. It is used in undergraduate and graduate curricula and research related to social sciences, urban studies, real estate and housing analysis, community and economic development, public administration, public health, policy and political science, education, business, economics, statistics, and geography, among others. Users can leverage thousands of U.S. data indicators in PolicyMap to perform demographic and socioeconomic analysis, from a neighborhood census block group in many cases, up to a national level, as well as create custom regions, for their research and studies.
The dataset is a pro-bono, cross-industry collaboration. Until now, researchers and policy-makers seeking to answer questions about the pandemic could only do research on fragmented data sets (such as the data set from a particular hospital), or to conduct long, prospective clinical trials, which makes it difficult to rapidly answer questions about the epidemiology and treatment of the disease. The COVID-19 research database is a consortium of institutions pooling their de-identified and limited pandemic-related data to allow researchers to more rapidly conduct studies at a large scale.
The APA Style Blog is the official companion to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Sixth Edition. We explore what APA Style is and how it works in a variety of areas, including reference citations of every sort, grammar and usage, the publication process, and social media.