Public Health

PubMed is a database created by the National Library of Medicine to facilitate searching the biomedical literature. The MEDLINE databases found within PubMed contains journals that have been reviewed by a panel of experts for quality. PubMed also contains PMC, which contains publicly accessible literature that have not necessarily gone through the same review process.

Embase is a biomedical and pharmacological bibliographic database of published literature, indexing over 8,500 currently published journals from 1947 to the present, as well as in-press publications and conference abstracts. Embase is strong in coverage of European literature, and in the fields of drug research, pharmacology and pharmaceutics, and includes coverage of over 1,800 biomedical titles not indexed in MEDLINE/PubMed.

Search scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Web of Science is a terrific place to begin for research in the sciences. Also includes citation analysis tools.
https://www-webofscience-com.ezproxy2.library.drexel.edu/wos/woscc/basic-search

PsycINFO comprehensively indexes the literature of psychology/behavioral sciences, including journals, books and book chapters, and dissertations. Journal coverage spans 1800 - present; monograph indexing extends back to 1600.

Literature on nursing, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Content includes fulltext access to more than 600 journals and citations for journal articles, book chapters, dissertations and selected conference proceedings.

Citations to the published literature on health services, technology, administration and research. In addition to journal article citations and abstracts, HealthSTAR includes citations to meeting abstracts, technical reports and monographs.

Proquest One Academic is a great place to start when researching a topic. The database offers full text access to thousands of academic journals, books, dissertations, newspapers, and videos from across all disciplines.

Largest available data aggregator for statistics, offering more than one million statistics and facts from more than 18,000 sources within the United States and internationally. Statistics, statistical dossiers, reports, surveys, and market studies are categorized into industries, broad topics, countries, and consumer, digital, and mobility markets. Global Consumer Survey covers more than 50 industries, more than 5,000 international brands, and additional topics from a global perspective. Business Plan Export aids in market modeling, business case development, and profit and loss statement creation.

Full text of the New York Times from 1980 to present (no images). Full text of New York Times Magazine and New York Time Book Review from 1997 to present.

Search historical New York Times content from 1851 to 3 years ago. Articles, editorials, cartoons, and even advertisements are fully searchable.

Complete full-text content of local and regional news from 1983-present, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Please note, photos and some blog content for the Inquirer may not be available through this service

Full text access to The Philadelphia Inquirer from 1860 - 2001.

ProQuest US Northeast Newsstream enables users to search the most recent regional news content, as well as archives which stretch back to the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. Northeast Newsstream covers news sources from Connecticut, Delaware, Massachusetts, Maine, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, and Vermont. Includes full-text access to the Philadelphia Inquirer from 1981-present

The Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition in full text (no images) from January 1984 to present, with abstracts from January 1982.

Note that this is not the full Westlaw legal database, but does include records of legislation, statutes (federal and state), legal cases as well as some newspapers and broadcast transcripts.

The first time you download data, you must create free MyData Login while on-campus or using VPN. After the Login is created you will be able to download from anywhere.

Data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. Teaching/learning resources include data-driven learning guides and classroom exercises.

A comprehensive library of research methods library with books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos across the social sciences. The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research.