LibGuides: Health Sciences Resources: Resources

Popular Health Sciences Databases

Research Resources

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a database created by the National Library of Medicine to facilitate searching the biomedical literature. The MEDLINE databases found within PubMed contains journals that have been reviewed by a panel of experts for quality. PubMed also contains PMC, which contains publicly accessible literature that have not necessarily gone through the same review process.

PubMed Video Tutorials on YouTube

Ovid MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Search scholarly, peer-reviewed literature in the biomedical sciences on the Ovid platform.
Embase This link opens in a new window
Embase is a biomedical and pharmacological bibliographic database of published literature, indexing over 8,500 currently published journals from 1947 to the present, as well as in-press publications and conference abstracts. Embase is strong in coverage of European literature, and in the fields of drug research, pharmacology and pharmaceutics, and includes coverage of over 1,800 biomedical titles not indexed in MEDLINE/PubMed.
CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Literature on nursing, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Content includes fulltext access to more than 600 journals and citations for journal articles, book chapters, dissertations and selected conference proceedings.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Specialized literature in health sciences, including clinical research and healthcare. It includes the Cochrane database of systematic reviews, and databases of clinical trials, and non-Cochrane systematic reviews.
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Cochrane Reviews are peer-reviewed systematic reviews that summarize and assess current research for clinical treatment decisions.
PsycINFO 1887-Current This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO comprehensively indexes the literature of psychology/behavioral sciences, including journals, books and book chapters, and dissertations. Journal coverage spans 1800 - present; monograph indexing extends back to 1600.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
Covers literature on nursing and allied topics. Includes scholarly journals, trade journals, magazines, dissertations, books and reports
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Search scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Web of Science is a terrific place to begin for research in the sciences. Also includes citation analysis tools.
https://www-webofscience-com.ezproxy2.library.drexel.edu/wos/woscc/basic-search

Clinical Information Resources

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
A collection of medical information resources. Comprised primarily of eBooks, such as Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, it also includes drug monographs, video, images, and cases.
Note: Use of some features, such as quizzes, requires setting up a personal account with AccessMedicine.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Search across content in medicine and biomedical sciences. Includes books, journals, drug monographs, practice guidelines, images, and videos.
The Procedures Consult collection within ClinicalKey provides video overviews of common procedures in a variety of disciplines.
DynaMed Plus This link opens in a new window
DynaMed Plus is a clinical reference tool containing summaries of diseases and other topics, with information about diagnosis, treatment options, etc. All the information in DynaMed is linked back to the original articles that provided the evidence, and evidence is graded based on the quality of the study methodology and the results.
Dynamic Health CDS +Skills This link opens in a new window
Formerly Nursing Reference Center Plus, Dynamic Health is an evidence-based tool designed to help nurses and allied health professionals master skills, obtain fast answers to questions and foster a culture of evidence-based practice and critical thinking leading to improved patient outcomes. Dynamic Health CDS + Skills builds on EBSCO’s current resource, Dynamic Health™ Skills, adding clinical decision support content that is based on a strict, evidence-based methodology, leading to improved patient outcomes.
Stat!Ref This link opens in a new window
A searchable collection of ebooks in medicine and other health sciences, including Stedman's Medical Dictionary. Also offers image and media collections, clinical calculators and converters, evidence alerts, and more.

Mobile Access to Clinical Tools

For mobile access to AccessMedicine
For mobile access to ClinicalKey
For Mobile Access to Dynamic Health
These tutorials demonstrate how to download and install the Dynamic Health mobile app on your iOS and Android device as well as how to search and navigate the app.

Browzine

BrowZine provides a platform for storing and reading journal articles on your phone or tablet. Put your favorite journals on a "shelf" for easy access, set up alerts for new issues, download full text for reading, and send articles to EndNote.

Browzine can be used as either an app on your mobile device (phone, tablet, etc.) or a website, with syncing between them.

Selected Electronic Textbook and Reference Sources

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
A collection of medical information resources. Comprised primarily of eBooks, such as Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, it also includes drug monographs, video, images, and cases.
Note: Use of some features, such as quizzes, requires setting up a personal account with AccessMedicine.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Search across content in medicine and biomedical sciences. Includes books, journals, drug monographs, practice guidelines, images, and videos.
The Procedures Consult collection within ClinicalKey provides video overviews of common procedures in a variety of disciplines.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-5) This link opens in a new window
*Now includes the DSM-5-TR*
DSM-5 is used by health professionals, social workers, and forensic and legal specialists to diagnose and classify mental disorders. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings: inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care.
LWW Premium Basic Sciences Health Library This link opens in a new window
Interactive online access via LWWHealthLibrary.com to 35 textbooks on core/fundamental topics, plus procedural videos, images, real-life case studies, and quiz banks for medical and health science students and practitioners.
LWW Health Library: PA Rotations/Specialties This link opens in a new window
LWW Health Library for PA Rotations/Specialties offers a core collection of content for each of the core PA rotations in a student's second year of study in a user-friendly online portal. Users can quickly access key texts for Internal Medicine, OB/GYN, Pediatrics, Surgery, Family Medicine, and Psychiatry, and save chapters in PDF format for offline reading. Key general reference and exam preparation texts, including O'Connell's Comprehensive Review, as well as over 150 case studies and 4,700 Q&A are a key piece of this collection as well.
Stat!Ref This link opens in a new window
A searchable collection of ebooks in medicine and other health sciences, including Stedman's Medical Dictionary. Also offers image and media collections, clinical calculators and converters, evidence alerts, and more.

Exam Review Resources

Exam Master Online
A database of sample medical exam questions for USMLE and Medical Specialty Board exams. The content outlines and question types conform to a large extent with the guidelines set up by the various licensing/certification authorities such as the National Board of Medical Examiners. Registration required for access. Upon registration, please use individual username / password for access.
Davis's NCLEX-RN Success
Complete and current NCLEX-RN review text available through Stat!Ref. Includes a downloadable file that provides a customizable pre-test/self-assessment mechanism. (Online text is limited to 5 concurrent users)
PreTest Ebooks
PreTest Self-assessment books; some available online.

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
USMLE-formatted questions, answers and explanations in a Board-simulated testing interface; customize exams, retake tests, and track performance. USMLE Step 3-format questions, answers, and explanations cover all specialty areas on the USMLE Step 3 exam: pathology, obstetrics and gynecology, psychiatry, surgery, pediatrics, and preventative medicine; customize your exams by specialties or clinical settings. Select USMLEasy Lite in the center of the Access Medicine homepage; you must register for an Access Medicine account in order to login to USMLEasy Lite.

Tutorials

Yellow background with text: Evaluate web-based health information

Evaluate Web-based Health Information (Module)
From the National Library of Medicine

blue background with text: pubmed fundamentals

PubMed Fundamentals (4:25)
Explore the core skills of working with PubMed: searching, filtering, formatting and exporting citations, and accessing the full text of articles.

See more

Use the arrows to see the rest of the videos

blue background with text: pubmed advanced

PubMed Advanced (5:43)
Explore the advanced techniques of working with PubMed: using medical subject headings (MeSH), combining MeSH terms, and field searching in the advanced screen.

blue background with text: Pubmed clinical queries

PubMed Clinical Queries (4:27)
Explore the PubMed Clinical Queries tool, including the Clinical Study and Systematic Review sections, how to filter search results that come from these sections, and how to view your search strategy to create a search table.

blue background with text: cinahl database introduction

CINAHL Database Introduction (5:16)
Learn how to perform a basic search, use limiters to focus your results, and export and save citations in CINAHL, one of the most important databases in nursing, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and other health sciences disciplines.

Blue background with text: cinahl special features

CINAHL Special Features (3:38)
This tutorial reviews special features available in CINAHL: Creating an account and signing in, save options for searches and individual items, creating an alert, and attaching a note to an item.

blue background with text: cinahl keyword searching

CINAHL Keyword Searching (3:59)
This video demonstrates how to combine keyword searches and email citations for relevant results.

blue background with text: cinahl subject headings part one

CINAHL Subject Headings, Part 1 (3:49)
This tutorial focuses on finding information in CINAHL using subject headings.

blue background with text: cinahl subject headings part two

CINAHL Subject Headings, Part Two (4:11)
This tutorial continues finding information in CINAHL using subject headings.

Blue background with text: evidence-based practice searching: worksheet and applying PICO format

Evidence-Based Practice Searching: Worksheet and Applying PICO Format (2:18)
This tutorial covers the evidence-based practice search assignment.

Blue background with text: evidence-based practice searching: cochrane database of systematic reviews

Evidence-Based Practice Searching: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (5:53)
This tutorial covers the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.

Blue background with text: evidence-based practice searching: cinahl using ebp filters

Evidence-Based Practice Searching: CINAHL Using EBP Filters (7:00)
This tutorial uses a clinical question to demonstrate features in CINAHL.

Blue background with text: evidence-based practice searching: psycinfo

Evidence-Based Practice Searching: PsycINFO (12:20)
This tutorial uses PsycINFO to help research a PICO question.

Blue background with text: evidence-based practice searching: dynamed

Evidence-Based Practice Searching: DynaMed (4:18)
This tutorial explores the point-of-care tool, DynaMed.

Health Sciences Resources

Related Subject Guides

Drexel University Libraries