LibGuides: Public Health: Beyond the Basics

Community Health and Prevention

ESRI Business Analyst Online
Link will lead to a page that provides instructions for ESRI access (registration required).

Web-based tool from the geographic information system market leader ESRI, offering the ability to create maps, infographics, or reports from business, crime, demographic, lifestyle, behavioral, consumer spending, and U.S. traffic data. Contains data and reports for more than 135 countries, designed to inform market planning, site selection, and consumer segmentation decisions.
PolicyMap

An online data platform and mapping tool that provides access to U.S. demographic data, as well as data related to health, housing, transit, and more. Create a map with included data or upload your own, generate reports, or download data for use in other applications. Data are sourced from both government and proprietary sources, including: the Census Bureau, the CDC, the DHS, the EPA, the FDIC, FEMA, HUD, NCES, and the Reinvestment Fund. For a complete list of included data, see the data dictionary. Visit the PolicyMap Knowledge Center for tutorials & support documentation.

Environmental and Occupational Health

ASTM Compass
Vast collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information, including the ASTM journals and symposia papers.

Also known as ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library
Consumer Product Information Database
Currently links over 21,000 consumer brands to health effects and has been designed to educate consumers about chemical ingredients of household products.

Fire Research Division / NIST
International Toxicity Estimates for Risk (ITER)
Data in support of human health risk assessments. It is compiled by Toxicology Excellence for Risk Assessment (TERA) and contains data from CDC/ATSDR, Health Canada, RIVM, U.S. EPA, IARC, NSF International and independent parties offering peer-reviewed risk values. ITER provides comparison charts of international risk assessment information and explains differences in risk values derived by different organizations.

Epidemiology and Biostatistics

SAGE Research Methods Online with Videos

A comprehensive library of research methods library with books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos across the social sciences. The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research.

MMWR (Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report)

Health Management and Policy

PILOTS: Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress

Citations to literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations; sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.
ProQuest Congressional

ProQuest Congressional is a comprehensive collection of congressional documents from 1789 to the present. Also includes political news and government social media and website posts, and information on congressional committees.

Compendium of U.S. Health Systems, 2016
A Downloadable data file ((CSV, 78 KB), providing a snapshot of 626 U.S. healthcare systems, accounting for roughly 88% of U.S. hospital beds and 92% of hospital discharges. The compendium identifies system characteristics such as the number of hospitals, acute care beds and physicians, as well as whether a system serves children.
DisasterLit
Disaster LitSM: the Resource Guide for Disaster Medicine and Public Health is a database of links to disaster medicine and public health documents available on the Internet at no cost. Documents include expert guidelines, research reports, conference proceedings, training classes, fact sheets, websites, databases, and similar materials selected from over 700 organizations for a professional audience. Materials selected are from non-commercial publishing sources and supplement disaster-related resources from PubMed (biomedical journal literature) and MedlinePlus (health information for the public).
HSRProj
Information about ongoing health services research and public health projects.HSRProj contains descriptions of research in progress funded by federal and private grants and contracts for use by policy makers, managers, clinicians and other decision makers. It provides access to information about health services research in progress before results are available in a published form.
National Academy for State Health Policy
The National Academy for State Health Policy (NASHP) is an independent academy of state health policymakers. We are dedicated to helping states achieve excellence in health policy and practice. A non-profit and non-partisan organization, NASHP provides a forum for constructive work across branches and agencies of state government on critical health issues.