View Research Publications by faculty of Department of Psychological and Brain Sciences, and the Center for Weight, Eating and Lifestyle Sciences (WELL) in Drexel Libraries' Research Discovery portal.
The Psychology Student Writer's Manual and Reader's Guide by
The Psychology Student Writer's Manual 3/E is a practical guide to research, reading, and writing in the discipline. Ideal as either a companion or stand-alone text for any psychology course that requires students to write papers. This clear and functional handbook shows how to research and write in psychology as well as improve one's overall writing ability. Covering every fundamental aspect of writing (from content to form, grammar, tracking sources of information, and citing sources), it assists students in preparing two specific types of papers: research reports and term papers. Comprehensive source--Contains all the information needed to write most types of papers typically assigned in the discipline of psychology. Provides students with a complete, one-stop, easy-to-follow reference source on how to research and write papers--including how to conduct research in psychology, how to find information on topics related to psychology, how to incorporate citations, and more. Thorough review of writing basics and formatting instructions--Addresses fundamental concerns of all writers, exploring the reasons why we write, describing the writing process itself, and examining those elements of grammar, style, and punctuation that cause the most confusion among writers in general. Shows students the key elements of good writing and effective communication, gives students a quick and handy grammar reference source, and provides them with a detailed, easy-to-follow guide to preparing papers according to accepted formats. Creative writing assignments--Offers practical writing exercises with step-by-step instructions. Heightens students' interest in the study of psychology, and frees professors from the duty of teaching students to write the papers most often assigned in psychology classes. APA standards--Complies with all APA style requirements, displays formats for text, title pages, reference pages, tables of contents in APA format, details the APA citation system, and discusses the crucial responsibility of every psychology writer to use source material ethically. General analysis of psychology -◦Helps students obtain a deeper understanding of what constitutes the discipline of psychology so that they will become better and more educated writers on the subject.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by 
Writing Your Psychology Research Paper by
This primer explains how to write clear, compelling, well-organized research papers. From picking a promising topic, to finding and digesting the pertinent literature, to developing a thesis, to outlining and presenting ideas, to editing for clarity and concision -- each step is broken down and illustrated with examples. In addition, a bonus chapter discusses how to combat procrastination. You will learn that the best writing is done in chunks over long periods of time and that writing is a skill that improves with practice. By following the advice in this book, you can not only get through dreaded writing assignments, but also become a more proficient writer. This book is part of APA's Concise Guides to Conducting Behavioral, Health, and Social Science Research series. Aimed at undergraduate students in research methods courses or others with a lab or research project, each book describes a key stage in the research process. Collectively, these books provide a solid grounding in research from start to finish.
APA Dictionary of Psychology® by
PRINT. This second edition of a landmark reference resource -- created not only for psychologists, clinicians, students, and professionals from allied mental health professions, but for all interested readers -- offers definitive information on the lexicon of the field, including Almost 26,000 entries offering clear and authoritative definitions -- approximately 1,000 more than the first edition Balanced coverage of 90 subareas, with significantly revised and expanded content especially in the areas of neuroscience, psychopharmacology, lifespan developmental psychology, statistics, experimental design, and many others Thousands of incisive cross-references that deepen the user's comprehension of related topics More than 400 brief biographical entries on historical figures in psychology and other related areas -- four times more than the first edition A Guide to the Dictionary and a Quick Guide to Format that explain stylistic and format features Three appendixes: Institutional and Organizational Entries; Psychological Test and Assessment Instrument Entries; Psychotherapeutic Techniques, Biological Treatments, and Related Entries
APA Dictionary of Statistics and Research Methods by
PRINT. Statistics is the field of knowledge concerned with data collection, data analysis, and data interpretation and presentation. Methodology comprises the many and varied structured ways in which research is conducted -- answering the fundamental question: How does the researcher effectively gather information for particular purposes? Both are core topics underlying the discipline of psychology and the other social, physical, and medical sciences. Moreover, a basic understanding of the language of statistics and research methods is required for any serious student, scientist, and practitioner in these fields. The APA Dictionary of Statistics and Research Methods is a focused reference resource that explores the lexicon of these two profoundly interrelated areas. It provides: Over 4,000 entries offering clear and authoritative definitions; Balanced coverage in such core areas as research planning and design, psychometrics, quantitative and qualitative measurements, and data analysis; Hundreds of incisive cross-references that deepen the user's understanding of related topics; More than 100 illustrations of some of the common and uncommon data display methods; A Quick Guide to Use that explains stylistic and formal features at a glance; andAppendixes listing common abbreviations and statistical symbols
The Cambridge Handbook of Personality Psychology by
Personality psychology is a rapidly maturing science making important advances on both conceptual and methodological fronts. The Cambridge Handbook of Personality Psychology offers a one-stop source for the most up-to-date scientific personality psychology. It provides a summary of cutting-edge personality research in all its forms, from DNA to political influences on its development, expression, pathology and applications. The chapters are informative, lively, stimulating and, sometimes, controversial and the team of international authors, led by two esteemed editors, ensures a truly wide range of theoretical perspectives. Each research area is discussed in terms of scientific foundations, main theories and findings, and future directions for research. With useful descriptions of technological approaches (for example, molecular genetics and functional neuroimaging) the Handbook is an invaluable aid to understanding the central role played by personality in psychology and will appeal to students of occupational, health, clinical, cognitive and forensic psychology.
A Dictionary of Psychology by
Including more than 11,000 definitions, this authoritative and up-to-date dictionary covers all branches of psychology. Clear, concise descriptions for each entry offer extensive coverage of key areas including cognition, sensation and perception, emotion and motivation, learning and skills, language, mental disorder, and research methods. The range of entries extends to related disciplines including psychoanalysis, psychiatry, the neurosciences, and statistics. Entries are extensively cross-referenced for ease of use, and cover word origins and derivations as well as definitions. More than 100 illustrations complement the text.This fourth edition has incorporated a large number of significant revisions and additions, many in response to the 2013 publication of the American Psychiatric Association's latest edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, bringing the Dictionary fully up to date with the most recent literature of the subject.In addition to the alphabetical entries, the dictionary also includes appendices covering over 800 commonly used abbreviations and symbols, as well as a list of phobias and phobic stimuli, with definitions. Comprehensive and clearly written, this dictionary is an invaluable work of reference for students, lecturers, and the general reader with an interest in psychology.
The Dictionary of Psychology by
With more than three times as many defined entries, biographies, illustrations, and appendices than any other dictionary of psychology ever printed in the English language, Raymond Corsini's Dictionary of Psychology is indeed a landmark resource. The most comprehensive, up-to-date reference of its kind, the Dictionary also maintains a user-friendliness throughout. This combination ensures that it will serve as the definitive work for years to come. With a clear and functional design, and highly readable style, the Dictionary offers over 30,000 entries (including interdisciplinary terms and contemporary slang), more than 125 illustrations, as well as extensive cross-referencing of entries. Ten supportive appendices, such as the Greek Alphabet, Medical Prescription Terms, and biographies of more than 1,000 deceased contributors to psychology, further augment the Dictionary's usefulness. Over 100 psychologists as well as numerous physicians participated as consulting editors, and a dozen specialist consulting editors reviewed the material. Dr. Alan Auerbach, the American Psychological Association's de facto dictionary expert, served as the senior consulting editor. As a final check for comprehensiveness and accuracy, independent review editors were employed to re-examine, re-review, and re-approve every entry.
History of Psychology 101 by
Spanning the modern development of psychological science and practice-the era most relevant to today's psychologists-this concise overview of psychology's history focuses on how the field has striven to make a positive impact on society and the individuals within it. It not only examines, decade by decade, the key developments in psychology, but goes beyond the usual "schools and systems" approach to illuminate not just how psychological theories developed but how they have been applied and practiced. The text is unique in its focus on connecting the historical development of psychology to present concerns in the field, thus making the information more relevant to today's student. Woven throughout the book is thread of optimism regarding the value of psychological ideas for the betterment of humanity. The book considers how psychology has informed-and been influenced by-social and cultural concerns of the past century. Each chapter highlights a theme that typified the science and practice of psychology in a particular era, along with a "historical centerpiece," an examination of an exemplary psychologist or psychological work that typified the field's development during that time period. Key Features: Presents a concise, accessible overview of the modern history of psychology Goes beyond the usual "schools and systems" approach to focus on how psychological theories were developed, applied, and practiced Demonstrates how the field of psychology has endeavored to make a positive impact on society and individuals Focuses on making historical information relevant to psychological practice today Embeds psychology in the social and cultural milieu of each era
The Oxford Companion to the Mind by
The Oxford Companion to the Mind,edited by Richard L. Gregory, is a classic. Published in 1987, to huge acclaim, it immediately took its place as the indispensable guide to the mysteries - and idiosyncracies - of the human mind. In no other book can the reader find indiscussions of concepts such as language, memory, and intelligence, side by side with witty definitions of common human experiences such as the 'cocktail-party' and 'halo' effects, and the least effort principle. Richard Gregory again brings his wit, wisdom, and expertise to bear on this most elusive of subjects. Research into the mind and brain has moved on in bounds in recent years, and interest in the subject has never been so high. There has been a shift in focus away from Freud's concept of the unconscious onto consciousness itself. The new edition of the Companion includes three 'mini symposia' - on consciousness, brain scanning, and artificial intelligence - with contributions from a number of specialists, and encompassing a range of approaches.
Psychology and Mental Health: Concepts, Methodologies, Tools, and Applications by
The human mind has long been a complex topic of research that is still largely unexplored. As research continues to advance on how the brain functions and what motivates human behavior and emotions, new methods for treating psychological and mental health disorders and applying brain functioning concepts in various other disciplines emerge. Psychology and Mental Health: Concepts, Methodologies, Tools, and Applications is a multi-volume compilation of the latest research on topics pertaining to human behavior, mental disorders, and psychological theory and practice. Providing a compendium of theoretical research, practical applications, and real-world examples, this comprehensive publication is an essential addition to the library collections of academic institutions benefiting researchers, scholars, graduate-level students, and psychologists, and mental health professionals.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Abnormal and Clinical Psychology by
Abnormal and clinical psychology courses are offered in psychology programs at universities worldwide, but the most recent major encyclopedia on the topic was published many years ago. Although general psychology handbooks and encyclopedias include essays on abnormal and clinical psychology, such works do not provide students with an accessible reference for understanding the full scope of the field. The SAGE Encyclopedia of Abnormal and Clinical Psychology, a 7-volume, A-Z work (print and electronic formats), is such an authoritative work. Its more than 1,400 entries provide information on fundamental approaches and theories, various mental health disorders, assessment tools and psychotherapeutic interventions, and the social, legal, and cultural frameworks that have contributed to debates in abnormal and clinical psychology. Key features include: 1,400 signed articles contained in 7 volumes and available in choice of print and/or electronic formats Although organized A-to-Z, front matter includes a Reader's Guide grouping related entries thematically Back matter includes a Chronology, Resource Guide, Bibliography, and detailed Index Entries conclude with References/Further Readings and Cross-References to related entries The Index, Reader's Guide themes, and Cross-References between and among entries all combine to provide robust search-and-browse features in the electronic version.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Lifespan Human Development by
Lifespan human development is the study of all aspects of biological, physical, cognitive, socioemotional, and contextual development from conception to the end of life. In approximately 800 signed articles by experts from a wide diversity of fields, The SAGE Encyclopedia of Lifespan Human Development explores all individual and situational factors related to human development across the lifespan. Some of the broad thematic areas will include: Adolescence and Emerging Adulthood Aging Behavioral and Developmental Disorders Cognitive Development Community and Culture Early and Middle Childhood Education through the Lifespan Genetics and Biology Gender and Sexuality Life Events Mental Health through the Lifespan Research Methods in Lifespan Development Speech and Language Across the Lifespan Theories and Models of Development. This five-volume encyclopedia promises to be an authoritative, discipline-defining work for students and researchers seeking to become familiar with various approaches, theories, and empirical findings about human development broadly construed, as well as past and current research.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Psychology and Gender by
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Psychology and Gender is an innovative exploration of the intersection of gender and psychology--topics that resonate across disciplines and inform our everyday lives. This encyclopedia looks at issues of gender, identity, and psychological processes at the individual as well as the societal level, exploring topics such as how gender intersects with developmental processes both in infancy and childhood and throughout later life stages; the evolution of feminism and the men's movement; the ways in which gender can affect psychological outcomes and influence behavior; and more. With articles written by experts across a variety of disciplines, this encyclopedia delivers insights on the psychology of gender through the lens of developmental science, social science, clinical and counseling psychology, sociology, and more. This encyclopedia will provide librarians, students, and professionals with ready access to up-to-date information that informs some of today's key contemporary issues and debates. These are the sorts of questions we plan for this encyclopedia to address: What is gender nonconformity? What are some of the evolutionary sex differences between men and women? How does gender-based workplace harassment affect health outcomes? How are gender roles viewed in different cultures? What is third-wave feminism?
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Theory in Psychology by
Drawing together a team of international scholars, The SAGE Encyclopedia of Theory in Psychology examines the contemporary landscape of all the key theories and theorists, presenting them in the context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses. Key features include: · Approximately 300 signed entries fill two volumes · Entries are followed by Cross-References and Further Readings · A Reader′s Guide in the front matter groups entries thematically · A detailed Index and the Cross-References provide for effective search-and-browse in the electronic version · Back matter includes a Chronology of theory within the field of psychology, a Master Bibliography, and an annotated Resource Guide to classic books in this field, journals, associations, and their websites The SAGE Encyclopedia of Theory in Psychology is an exceptional and scholarly source for researching the theory of psychology, making it a must-have reference for all academic libraries.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Theory in Psychology by
Drawing together a team of international scholars, The SAGE Encyclopedia of Theory in Psychology examines the contemporary landscape of all the key theories and theorists, presenting them in the context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses. Key features include: · Approximately 300 signed entries fill two volumes · Entries are followed by Cross-References and Further Readings · A Reader′s Guide in the front matter groups entries thematically · A detailed Index and the Cross-References provide for effective search-and-browse in the electronic version · Back matter includes a Chronology of theory within the field of psychology, a Master Bibliography, and an annotated Resource Guide to classic books in this field, journals, associations, and their websites The SAGE Encyclopedia of Theory in Psychology is an exceptional and scholarly source for researching the theory of psychology, making it a must-have reference for all academic libraries.
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research in Psychology by
One of our bestselling handbooks, The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research in Psychology, is back for a second edition. Since the first edition qualitative research in psychology has been transformed. Responding to this, existing chapters have been updated, and three new chapters introduced on Thematic Analysis, Interpretation and Netnography. With a focus on methodological progress throughout, the chapters are organised into three sections:Section One: MethodsSection Two: Perspectives and TechniquesSection Three: ApplicationsIn the field of psychology and beyond, this handbook will constitute a valuable resource for both experienced qualitative researchers and novices for many years to come.
The Wiley Encyclopedia of Personality and Individual Differences, Measurement and Assessment by
Volume 2, Measurement and Assessment of The Wiley Encyclopedia of Personality and Individual Differences The Encyclopedia of Personality and Individual Differences (EPID) is organized into four volumes that look at the many likenesses and differences between individuals. Each of these four volumes focuses on a major content area in the study of personality psychology and individuals' differences. The first volume, Models and Theories, surveys the significant classic and contemporary viewpoints, perspectives, models, and theoretical approaches to the study of personality and individuals' differences (PID). The second volume on Measurement and Assessment examines key classic and modern methods and techniques of assessment in the study of PID. Volume III, titled Personality Processes and Individuals Differences, covers the important traditional and current dimensions, constructs, and traits in the study of PID. The final volume discusses three major categories: clinical contributions, applied research, and cross-cultural considerations, and touches on topics such as culture and identity, multicultural identities, cross-cultural examinations of trait structures and personality processes, and more. Each volume contains approximately 100 entries on personality and individual differences written by a diverse international panel of leading psychologists Covers significant classic and contemporary personality psychology models and theories, measurement and assessment techniques, personality processes and individuals differences, and research Provides a comprehensive and in-depth overview of the field of personality psychology The Encyclopedia of Personality and Individual Differences is an important resource for all psychology students and professionals engaging in the study and research of personality.
The Wiley Encyclopedia of Personality and Individual Differences, Models and Theories by
Volume 1, Models and Theories of The Wiley Encyclopedia of Personality and Individual Differences The Encyclopedia of Personality and Individual Differences (EPID) is organized into four volumes that look at the many likenesses and differences between individuals. Each of these four volumes focuses on a major content area in the study of personality psychology and individuals' differences. The first volume, Models and Theories, surveys the significant classic and contemporary viewpoints, perspectives, models, and theoretical approaches to the study of personality and individuals' differences (PID). The second volume on Measurement and Assessment examines key classic and modern methods and techniques of assessment in the study of PID. Volume III, titled Personality Processes and Individuals Differences, covers the important traditional and current dimensions, constructs, and traits in the study of PID. The final volume discusses three major categories: clinical contributions, applied research, and cross-cultural considerations, and touches on topics such as culture and identity, multicultural identities, cross-cultural examinations of trait structures and personality processes, and more. Each volume contains approximately 100 entries on personality and individual differences written by a diverse international panel of leading psychologists Covers significant classic and contemporary personality psychology models and theories, measurement and assessment techniques, personality processes and individuals differences, and research Provides a comprehensive and in-depth overview of the field of personality psychology The Encyclopedia of Personality and Individual Differences is an important resource for all psychology students and professionals engaging in the study and research of personality.
The Wiley Handbook of Psychometric Testing by
A must-have resource for researchers, practitioners, and advanced students interested or involved in psychometric testing Over the past hundred years, psychometric testing has proved to be a valuable tool for measuring personality, mental ability, attitudes, and much more. The word 'psychometrics' can be translated as 'mental measurement'; however, the implication that psychometrics as a field is confined to psychology is highly misleading. Scientists and practitioners from virtually every conceivable discipline now use and analyze data collected from questionnaires, scales, and tests developed from psychometric principles, and the field is vibrant with new and useful methods and approaches. This handbook brings together contributions from leading psychometricians in a diverse array of fields around the globe. Each provides accessible and practical information about their specialist area in a three-step format covering historical and standard approaches, innovative issues and techniques, and practical guidance on how to apply the methods discussed. Throughout, real-world examples help to illustrate and clarify key aspects of the topics covered. The aim is to fill a gap for information about psychometric testing that is neither too basic nor too technical and specialized, and will enable researchers, practitioners, and graduate students to expand their knowledge and skills in the area. Provides comprehensive coverage of the field of psychometric testing, from designing a test through writing items to constructing and evaluating scales Takes a practical approach, addressing real issues faced by practitioners and researchers Provides basic and accessible mathematical and statistical foundations of all psychometric techniques discussed Provides example software code to help readers implement the analyses discussed
For online access to the American Psychiatric Association's Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth edition, Text Revision (and continued access to the DSM-5 pre-revisions).
Video tutorials:
