An interactive tutorial to help build fundamental library research skills. The module takes an estimated 30-45 minutes to complete, and covers topics such as connecting to the full text of items, forming a research strategy, and when and how to format citations.
This Guide from the Drexel Legal Research Center will introduce you to the main primary and secondary legal sources, as well as other resources that will help you with your legal research. Although some of the resources listed will be specific to the Law School, it provides a good understanding of legal research.
This guide from the Drexel Legal Research Center discusses some of the sources of documents from each branch of the Federal government: Executive, Judicial, and Legislative.
PsycBOOKS includes chapters in PDF from over 2,500 books, published by the APA and other publishers, and includes digitized content of historical significance from the Archives of the History of American Psychology (AHAP) collection . It also contains over 1,600 classic books of landmark historical impact in psychology dating from the 1600s, and entries from the Encyclopedia of Psychology.
The Cambridge Handbook of Personality Psychology offers a one-stop source for the most up-to-date scientific personality psychology. It provides a summary of cutting-edge personality research in all its forms, from DNA to political influences on its development, expression, pathology and applications.
10 volume "encyclopedia" covers everything from the history of the field to current thinking about training, professional standards and practices, and socio-cultural factors in mental health and illness.
With over 11,000 authoritative and up-to-date entries, . . . covers all branches of psychology, including psychoanalysis, psychiatry, criminology, neuroscience, and statistics.
Spanning the modern development of psychological science and practise-the era most relevant to today's psychologists-this concise overview of psychology's history focuses on how the field has striven to make a positive impact on society and the individuals within it.
A guide to the mysteries — and idiosyncracies — of the human mind. Includes discussions of concepts such as language, memory, and intelligence, side by side with definitions of common human experiences such as the ‘cocktail-party’ and ‘halo’ effects, and the least effort principle. The second edition includes new entries on attachment theory, caffeine, extra-terrestrial intelligence, and imagination.
This handbook covers the qualitative methods used in psychology combining 'how-to-do-it' summaries with examination of historical and theoretical foundations. Examples from recent research are used to illustrate how each method has been applied, the data analysed and the insights gained.
DSM-5/DSM-5-TR
For online access to the American Psychiatric Association's Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth edition, Text Revision (and continued access to the DSM-5 pre-revisions).
ALERT (February 2024) - EBSCOhost (CINAHL) has recently implemented some updates that are causing limited search results. For advanced searching, Boolean operators must be capitalized (AND, OR). Contact librarians@drexel.libanswers.com for assistance.
PsycINFO comprehensively indexes the literature of psychology/behavioral sciences, including journals, books and book chapters, and dissertations. Journal coverage spans 1800 - present; monograph indexing extends back to 1600. Keywords: psychology, behavioral health, behavioral sciences
Search scholarly, peer-reviewed literature in the biomedical sciences.
PubMed is a database created by the National Library of Medicine to facilitate searching the biomedical literature. The MEDLINE databases found within PubMed contains journals that have been reviewed by a panel of experts for quality. PubMed also contains PMC, which contains publicly accessible literature that have not necessarily gone through the same review process. Keywords: biomedical sciences, medicine, basic science, molecular biology, genetics, genomics, immunology, kinesiology, neurosciences, neurobiology, nutrition, anatomy, health
Embase is a biomedical and pharmacological bibliographic database of published literature, indexing over 8,500 currently published journals from 1947 to the present, as well as in-press publications and conference abstracts. Embase is strong in coverage of European literature, and in the fields of drug research, pharmacology and pharmaceutics, and includes coverage of over 1,800 biomedical titles not indexed in MEDLINE/PubMed.
ALERT (February 2024) - EBSCOhost has recently implemented some updates that are causing limited search results. For advanced searching, Boolean operators must be capitalized (AND, OR). Contact librarians@drexel.libanswers.com for assistance. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full text education literature and resources. Content types include journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, dissertations, policy papers, and reports.
Includes ability to limit search results by education level (such as early childhood education or a particular grade) and intended audience (such as counselors, parents, or teachers)
Citations to literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations; sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.
Search scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Web of Science is a terrific place to begin for research in the sciences. Also includes citation analysis tools.
https://www-webofscience-com.ezproxy2.library.drexel.edu/wos/woscc/basic-search
The Psychotherapy.net Expanded Collection is a collection of streaming video in the fields of Psychotherapy, Counseling and Social Work, highly recommended for clinical training.
Keywords: psychotherapy, counseling, family therapy, addiction
ACCESS NOTE: User must create free MyData Login while on-campus or using VPN in order to download data. After the Login is created you will be able to download from anywhere.
Data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. Teaching/learning resources include data-driven learning guides and classroom exercises.
The data archive includes a broad range of disciplines, including political science, sociology, demography, economics, history, education, gerontology, criminal justice, public health, foreign policy, and law. ICPSR's entire collection is online and available for downloading. Keywords: data, repository, social sciences, health
A comprehensive library of research methods library with books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos across the social sciences.
The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research. Keywords: research, methodology, quantitative, qualitative, social science
Largest available data aggregator for statistics, offering more than one million statistics and facts from more than 18,000 sources within the United States and internationally. Statistics, statistical dossiers, reports, surveys, and market studies are categorized into industries, broad topics, countries, and consumer, digital, and mobility markets. Global Consumer Survey covers more than 50 industries, more than 5,000 international brands, and additional topics from a global perspective. Business Plan Export aids in market modeling, business case development, and profit and loss statement creation.
The guide is written to raise awareness, direct learning, and support the use of culturally sensitive terms and phrases that center the voices and perspectives of those who have been historically marginalized or stereotyped. The guide also explains the origins of problematic terms and phrases and offers suitable, more contemporary alternatives. Because this guide is not a legal treatise or advice, terms may differ from how they are defined, interpreted, and applied under law. Please recognize that cultural, global, and regional differences abound; in this guide, we concentrate on language used in a U.S. context.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by 
Reporting Research in Psychology by 
