LibGuides: Physical Therapy & Rehabilitation Sciences: Home

Selected Databases

CINAHL with Full Text
Provides coverage in nursing, nutrition, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Full-text material includes more than 70 journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.
PubMed
PubMed is a database created by the National Library of Medicine to facilitate searching the biomedical literature. The MEDLINE databases found within PubMed contains journals that have been reviewed by a panel of experts for quality. PubMed also contains PMC, which contains publicly accessible literature that have not necessarily gone through the same review process.

RehabData
REHABDATA is produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center. The database describes over 80,000 documents covering physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities.

SPORTDiscus with Full Text
Covers the topics of sports, physical fitness, sports medicine, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport & exercise psychology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism, occupational health & therapy, public health and more, on an international scale. Content includes academic journal, magazine, and trade publication articles, books, conference proceedings, research papers, and reports.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database
Covers literature on nursing and allied topics. Includes scholarly journals, trade journals, magazines, dissertations, books and reports

SportRxiv
Search preprints related to sport, exercise and physical activity. Please note that the quality of preprints are not assessed, you must determine their quality before using as a source.

American Physical Therapy Association (APTA)
Represents more than 88,000 member physical therapists (PTs), physical therapist assistants (PTAs), and students of physical therapy. APTA seeks to improve the health and quality of life of individuals in society by advancing physical therapist practice, education, and research, and by increasing the awareness and understanding of physical therapy's role in the nation's health care system.
American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA)
The national professional association established in 1917 to represent the interests and concerns of occupational therapy practitioners and students of occupational therapy and to improve the quality of occupational therapy services.
American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons
APTA Orthopaedic Section Clinical Practice Guidelines
World Confederation for Physical Therapy
Represents physical therapists and their organisations around the globe

Drexel University College of Nursing and Health Professions Programs in Rehabilitation Sciences and Physical Therapy
Physical Therapist.com
This site covers job vacancies, clinics, schools, courses, and news with services for the professional, such as message boards and discussion groups.
Physical Therapy Corner
The Nicholas Institute of Sports Medicine and Athletic Trauma (NISMAT at Lenox Hill Hospital affiliated with NYU Medical Center) web site has links to specific body area trauma on the front page, as well as to broader topics, such as nutrition, orthopedics and 'hot topics'.
Vumedi
VuMedi is a video community for practicing physicians, fellows, residents, and members of the allied health community. They are the “You Tube” for healthcare professionals
The Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy
The Federation administers the NPTE and promotes standards and ethics in the profession of physical therapy. T Resources include a practice exam, registration forms, professional standards, and international licensing boards and credentialing commissions.
National Center for Medical Rehabilitation Research (NCMRR)
Through basic, translational, and clinical research, the NCMRR aims to foster development of scientific knowledge needed to enhance the health, productivity, independence, and quality-of-life of people with physical disabilities.

Email Me

Subjects: Biological Sciences, Health Sciences, Medicine & Biomedical Sciences, Nursing & Health Professions

Hand Therapy
by Sarah Hughes Last Updated Jun 16, 2025 53 views this year
Health Sciences Resources
by Sarah Hughes Last Updated Jun 16, 2025 4906 views this year

Avoiding plagiarism
Guide; Purdue University
Fake News: Source Evaluation
Use the resources on this page to evaluate the information you come into contact with every day.
SIFT: An approach for evaluating web content
Video from Wayne State University Libraries
PubMed
Learn to use PubMed from this brief video tutorial
CINAHL
Learn to use CINAHL from this series of brief video tutorials
Evidence-based practice database videos
Presentation and videos demonstrating EBP searching in Cochrane, CINAHL, Dynamed and PsycINFO. This series also includes a presentation on PICO. A presentation demonstrating PubMed Clinical Queries is listed separately
PubMed Clinical Queries
A PubMed search tool designed to retrieve targeted results to clinical questions.