LibGuides: Biomedical Technology Commercialization: Funding Sources

Background Research

For background information about sources of funding for your venture:

Gale Business: Entrepreneurship This link opens in a new window
Formerly called the Small Business Resource Center. Covers all aspects of starting and operating a small business, including accounting, finance, human resources, management, marketing, and tax, with an interface mapped to the four key states of business development: plan, fund, start, and manage. Content includes journal, magazine, and newspaper articles, books, reference materials, directories, a glossary, "how to" section, and hundreds of sample business plans.

Drexel Funding Resources

Pivot Funding Discovery (formerly COS Funding Opportunities) This link opens in a new window
Pivot integrates funding opportunities and collaborator discovery. Pivot contains the full content of the database COS Funding Opportunities, which the Libraries have subscribed to for many years, with the additional 'scholar profiles' for researchers around the world.

To access Pivot you need to establish an account:
Start at https://pivot.proquest.com/register and sign up using your Drexel email. You’ll receive an email with a validation link to confirm your registration to Pivot. Click on the validation link to gain access. If you have already registered for Pivot, you'll need to log in to your account.
Create a personal profile in Pivot using your drexel.edu email to get the most out of the service.

Funding Institutional
Funding Institutional is an Elsevier resources, provided by the Drexel Office of Research Administration and the Office of Institutional Advancement; it must be used on a Drexel-networked computer, or via the VPN service (https://drexel.edu/it/help/a-z/VPN/). It is a searchable database containing data on funding opportunities, funders, and awarded grants, drawn from a wide range of governmental and private sources. Investigators utilizing FI may increase grant rate success, uncover new sources of funding, and minimize time and maximize productivity using this resource.
Faculty, students and staff can use FI to:
• Search for funding opportunities
• Find new sources of external grant income
• Identify potential collaborators and find investigators that are securing grants in their field of interest
• Survey funding trends
• Set-up alerts to be notified automatically of new funding opportunities
InfoReady Drexel University Funding Portal
Provided by Drexel University Office of Research, funding opportunities available on the portal include:
• Limited submission opportunities from external funding agencies (such as the CDC, NSF & NIH)
• Internal funding opportunities from the Office of the Provost, schools & colleges
• Foundation calls for proposals from the Office of Institutional Advancement
Fellowships Office: Search for Fellowships
Office of Research: Funding Information

Potential Investors

To search for potential venture capitalists, angel investors, business incubators, and small business development centers (SBDCs):

PrivCo This link opens in a new window
Data and information about U.S. private companies and private investors plus more. To use this database, you must create a PrivCo account using your Drexel email address. Each user may download 250 records per month.

To access investor information: from the new PrivCo dashboard, click "Log back into PrivCo Classic" on the upper right side of the page. Log on to the PrivCo Classic platform. Navigate to "Advanced Searches," select "Investors," and enter your search criteria.

Federal Funding

Grants.gov This link opens in a new window
Search for open federal funding opportunities, apply for and manage grants.
Helping the grant community learn more about available opportunities. Centralizing more than 1,000 different grant programs across federal grant-making agencies awarding more than $500 billion annually. Standardizing grant information, application packages and processes for finding and applying for federal grants.
Keywords: funding, grants, federal

National Institutes of Health (NIH) SBIR and STTR Programs
The Small Business Innovation Research (SBIR) and Small Business Technology Transfer (STTR) programs, also known as America’s Seed Fund, are one of the largest sources of early-stage capital for technology commercialization in the United States. These programs allow US-owned and operated small businesses to engage in federal research and development that has a strong potential for commercialization.

State Finance Programs

In addition to identifying potential research & development or production funding available from federal agencies, research funding may be available from applicable state government(s).

For example:

Pennsylvania

Business Financing - from the Pennsylvania Department of Community & Economic Development's Office of Business Financing

New Jersey

Financing and Incentives - from the State of New Jersey Business Portal

Also, see the interactive Financing and Incentives Tool that provides detailed information about NJ financing programs and business incentives.

Delaware

Incentives - from the Delaware Division of Small Business. Incentive programs include: grants, loans, and tax credits.