LibGuides: NURS 330 Nursing Research: Methods and Critical Appraisal for Evidence-Based Practice: Home

From the Librarian

Video: Library Guide overview 2 minute overview of the NURS 330 library guide

Learning Check Anonymous - four question learning check to check your understanding
What is in PubMed?
Short NLM training video on what is included in PubMed
Using PubMed in Evidence-Based Practice
Helpful training course by the creators of PubMed.
Nursing Experts: Translating the Evidence (NExT) _Appraising the Evidence
18 minute video by the University of Illinois that helps answer the question: Is the study design clearly described?

Cite and keep track of sources

APA (American Psychological Association)

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association: The Official Guide to APA Style, Seventh Edition, 2020 (Print Copies)
Print copies of this Manual are available at Drexel Libraries. Click the link for locations and availability.
more...less...
Search Summon for previous editions, if needed.
APA Style Guide
Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL)
APA Style Website
Website of the American Psychological Association with APA style examples
APA Style Blog
APA Style Twitter Feed

Sample Professional Paper
Annotated, from APA Style Blog

Suggested Databases

CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage in nursing, nutrition, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Full-text material includes more than 70 journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.
Keywords: nurse, biomedicine, integrative medicine, nutrition, art therapy, healthcare, health policy, rehabilitation, wellness
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Cochrane Reviews represent the highest level of evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions.
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Cochrane Reviews are peer-reviewed systematic reviews that summarize and assess current research for clinical treatment decisions.
Keywords: systematic review, evidence-based medicine
PubMed This link opens in a new window
The PubMed Clinical Queries tool filters results to display evidence based articles and reports. NOTE: At the PubMed home page, choose the Clinical Queries option from the choices under "PubMed Tools."
PubMed is a database created by the National Library of Medicine to facilitate searching the biomedical literature. The MEDLINE databases found within PubMed contains journals that have been reviewed by a panel of experts for quality. PubMed also contains PMC, which contains publicly accessible literature that have not necessarily gone through the same review process.
Keywords: biomedical sciences, medicine, basic science, molecular biology, genetics, genomics, immunology, kinesiology, neurosciences, neurobiology, nutrition, anatomy, health

Tutorials (scroll to view more PubMed and CINAHL videos)

Yellow background with text: Evaluate web-based health information

Evaluate Web-based Health Information (Module)
From the National Library of Medicine

blue background with text: pubmed fundamentals

PubMed Fundamentals (4:25)
Explore the core skills of working with PubMed: searching, filtering, formatting and exporting citations, and accessing the full text of articles.

See more

Use the arrows to see the rest of the videos

blue background with text: pubmed advanced

PubMed Advanced (5:43)
Explore the advanced techniques of working with PubMed: using medical subject headings (MeSH), combining MeSH terms, and field searching in the advanced screen.

blue background with text: Pubmed clinical queries

PubMed Clinical Queries (4:27)
Explore the PubMed Clinical Queries tool, including the Clinical Study and Systematic Review sections, how to filter search results that come from these sections, and how to view your search strategy to create a search table.

blue background with text: cinahl database introduction

CINAHL Database Introduction (5:16)
Learn how to perform a basic search, use limiters to focus your results, and export and save citations in CINAHL, one of the most important databases in nursing, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and other health sciences disciplines.

Blue background with text: cinahl special features

CINAHL Special Features (3:38)
This tutorial reviews special features available in CINAHL: Creating an account and signing in, save options for searches and individual items, creating an alert, and attaching a note to an item.

blue background with text: cinahl keyword searching

CINAHL Keyword Searching (3:59)
This video demonstrates how to combine keyword searches and email citations for relevant results.

blue background with text: cinahl subject headings part one

CINAHL Subject Headings, Part 1 (3:49)
This tutorial focuses on finding information in CINAHL using subject headings.

blue background with text: cinahl subject headings part two

CINAHL Subject Headings, Part Two (4:11)
This tutorial continues finding information in CINAHL using subject headings.

Blue background with text: evidence-based practice searching: worksheet and applying PICO format

Evidence-Based Practice Searching: Worksheet and Applying PICO Format (2:18)
This tutorial covers the evidence-based practice search assignment.

Blue background with text: evidence-based practice searching: cochrane database of systematic reviews

Evidence-Based Practice Searching: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (5:53)
This tutorial covers the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.

Blue background with text: evidence-based practice searching: cinahl using ebp filters

Evidence-Based Practice Searching: CINAHL Using EBP Filters (7:00)
This tutorial uses a clinical question to demonstrate features in CINAHL.

Blue background with text: evidence-based practice searching: psycinfo

Evidence-Based Practice Searching: PsycINFO (12:20)
This tutorial uses PsycINFO to help research a PICO question.

Blue background with text: evidence-based practice searching: dynamed

Evidence-Based Practice Searching: DynaMed (4:18)
This tutorial explores the point-of-care tool, DynaMed.

Evidence-Based Practice Tutorials

Evidence-based practice database videos
Presentation and videos demonstrating EBP searching in Cochrane, CINAHL, Dynamed and PsycINFO. This series also includes a presentation on PICO. A presentation demonstrating PubMed Clinical Queries is listed separately
Critical Appraisal Tools
Appraisal worksheets to evaluate research studies for validity. From the Center for Evidence-Based Medicine (CEBM)
Introduction to Evidence-based Medicine
This tutorial provides individuals with a basic introduction to the principles of Evidence-based Medicine. It was created by the Duke University Medical Center Library and the Health Sciences Library, UNC Chapel Hill.
CEBM - Center for Evidence-Based Medicine (Oxford)
This website contains details of learning resources available from the Centre and collaborative departments. CEBM aims to develop, teach and promote evidence-based health care through conferences, workshops and EBM tools so that all health care professionals can maintain the highest standards of medicine.

Curricula Support Librarian, Health Sciences Team

Sarah Hughes

Email Me

Subjects: Biological Sciences, Health Sciences, Medicine & Biomedical Sciences, Nursing & Health Professions

Related Resources

Drexel Libraries Student Orientation Guide
by Stacy Stanislaw Last Updated Sep 10, 2024 1667 views this year
Evidence-Based Practice
by Janice Masud-Paul Last Updated Sep 6, 2024 344 views this year
Health Sciences Resources
by Kathleen Turner Last Updated Aug 15, 2024 8256 views this year
Nursing
by Janice Masud-Paul Last Updated Sep 6, 2024 759 views this year
Funding
by Kathleen Turner Last Updated Aug 5, 2024 188 views this year

NURS 330 Nursing Research: Methods and Critical Appraisal for Evidence-Based Practice: Home

Library 101