Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Modern Energy Matchmaker by
Explaining the trends and key words in the green energy movement, this book examines the idea of modern energy--a combination of old and new energy resources--and the costs involved in making them operational. Resources that include wind, solar, nuclear, wave, biofuels, biomass, smart grid technologies, magnetics, hydropower, oil, gas, and coal all need to be partnered with entrepreneurs to bring them to life. Fusing intellectual and financial resources can secure a modern energy-reliant future, and this proposal directs the world's investors to begin that partnership.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2010-09-01
Cold Cash, Cool Climate by
Written for entrepreneurs and investors, this book describes how to profit from tackling climate change, one of this century's greatest challenges. Industry expert Dr. Jonathan Koomey acts as your company's scientific advisor, summarizing the business implications of the climate problem for both new and existing ventures. Koomey helps you effectively allocate scarce time and resources to the most promising opportunities, drawing upon his more than 25 years of experience in analyzing and implementing climate solutions.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2012-02-01
Entrepreneurship and Business Development in the Renewable Energy Sector by
The need for clean sources of energy has increased dramatically as the realities of climate change have begun to effect life on earth. As a result, the demand for pioneering businesses in the sustainable energy industry will increase. Entrepreneurship and Business Development in the Renewable Energy Sector is a critical scholarly resource that examines the growing industry of clean energy as an opportunity to create and expand enterprises, as well as discusses the need for entrepreneurial thinking in this new and growing market. Featuring coverage on a broad range of topics such as corporate entrepreneurship, business growth cycles, and photovoltaic energy, this book is geared towards academicians, researchers, and professionals seeking current research on the expanding economic market of clean energy.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2017-11-30
Free Library of Philadelphia
A Free Library card is available at no cost to anyone who lives, works, pays taxes, or goes to school in the City of Philadelphia. In addition, anyone who lives in the state of Pennsylvania can obtain a Free Library card without charge.
In-Person Reciprocal Borrowing
To establish in-person borrowing privileges at either University of Pennsylvania Libraries
or participating PALCI On-Site Borrowing Libraries
, you must first obtain a Reciprocal Borrowing Letter from the circulation desk at any Drexel University Libraries location. This letter should be presented, along with your current university ID card, to circulation desk staff at the library from which you would like to borrow materials.
Philadelphia & Pennsylvania
City of Philadelphia: Office of Sustainability
The Office of Sustainability (OOS) works with partners around the City to improve quality of life in all Philadelphia neighborhoods, reduce the City’s carbon emissions, and prepare Philadelphia for a hotter, wetter future. OOS is responsible for implementing Greenworks Philadelphia, the City’s comprehensive sustainability plan, which is made up of eight visions including clean and efficient energy.
Philadelphia Energy Authority
In 2010, Council President Darrell Clarke and Mayor Michael Nutter launched the Philadelphia Energy Authority (PEA) as an independent municipal authority. PEA is committed to investing $1 billion in energy efficiency and clean energy.
PA: Energy Programs Office
Website for the Energy Programs Office (EPO) within the Department of Environmental Protection of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.The EPO functions as the Pennsylvania Energy Office and is the state's main contact to the U.S. Department of Energy. Includes links to state energy supply and use data plus guidance for businesses seeking to reduce their environmental impacts through energy.
PA: Renewable Energy
Information from the Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection. Linked pages focus on renewable energy from resources that are not depletable, but naturally replenished, such as biomass (i.e. wood waste), geothermal, water (hydroelectric), the sun (solar), and wind.
Green Philly blog: Energy
Founded in 2008 to make sustainability accessible for all Philadelphians, Green Philly is a community-focused resource.
Government and Other Organizations
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD): Greening Energy
The OECD is an intergovernmental economic organisation with 36 member countries, founded in 1961 to stimulate economic progress and world trade. The OECD's focus on green growth and sustainable energy includes an emphasis on "greening" energy
International Energy Agency (IEA): topics
The IEA is an autonomous intergovernmental organization established in the framework of the OECD. The IEA provides data, analysis, and solutions on all fuels and technologies and promotes alternate energy sources (including renewable energy) and multinational energy technology co-operation.
International Renewal Energy Agency (IRENA)
The International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA) is an intergovernmental organization that supports countries and international cooperation in the global transition to a sustainable energy future. IRENA provides practical tools and policy advice and facilitates knowledge sharing and technology transfer.
U.S. Department of Energy
The United States Department of Energy (DOE) is a cabinet-level department of the United States Government. The DOE's mission is "to ensure America’s security and prosperity by addressing its energy, environmental and nuclear challenges through transformative science and technology solutions."
U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA)
The U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA) is a principal agency of the U.S. Federal Statistical System. The EIA collects, analyzes, and disseminates independent and impartial energy information to promote sound policymaking, efficient markets, and public understanding of energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment.
United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE): Sustainable Energy
UNECE is one of five regional commissions of the United Nations. UNECE's sustainable energy efforts focus on energy efficiency, cleaner electricity production from fossil fuels, renewable energy, coal mine methane, natural gas, classification of energy and mineral reserves and resources, and energy security.
The World Bank Group: Development Topics -- Energy
The World Bank Group is a global partnership of five institutions working for sustainable solutions that reduce poverty and build shared prosperity in developing countries. The Group brings together knowledge and expertise across all major sectors of development including energy.
Other Web Resources
Environmental News Network (ENN)
News and reporting about environmental science and environmental issues from a global perspective. Energy is a main topic.
GreenBiz provides content on business, sustainability, and technology.
GreenMoney Journal is a monthly eJournal focused on global sustainable business and impact investing .
Reuters: Energy & Environment
Reuters news service's coverage of the energy industry and environment, including global oil and gas markets, policy changes impacting climate and the latest developments in solar and wind power.
Sustainable Energy in America Factbook
The Sustainable Energy in America Factbook is produced for the Business Council for Sustainable Energy by Bloomberg New Energy Finance. The Factbook provides market information about industries contributing to cleaner energy production and more efficient energy usage in the United States. Includes state and regional information.