LibGuides: REFRESH: Information Skills for Health Sciences Research and Practice: REFRESH

Start the REFRESH Online Module

Evidence-Based Practice Tutorials

Evidence-based practice database videos
Presentation and videos demonstrating EBP searching in Cochrane, CINAHL, Dynamed and PsycINFO. This series also includes a presentation on PICO. A presentation demonstrating PubMed Clinical Queries is listed separately
PubMed Clinical Queries
A PubMed search tool designed to retrieve targeted results to clinical questions.
Critical Appraisal Tools
Appraisal worksheets to evaluate research studies for validity. From the Center for Evidence-Based Medicine (CEBM)
Introduction to Evidence-based Medicine
This tutorial provides individuals with a basic introduction to the principles of Evidence-based Medicine. It was created by the Duke University Medical Center Library and the Health Sciences Library, UNC Chapel Hill.
CEBM - Center for Evidence-Based Medicine (Oxford)
This website contains details of learning resources available from the Centre and collaborative departments. CEBM aims to develop, teach and promote evidence-based health care through conferences, workshops and EBM tools so that all health care professionals can maintain the highest standards of medicine.

REFRESH: Information Skills for Health Sciences Research and Practice

REFRESH provides an introduction to locating evidence-based material using resources licensed by the Drexel University Libraries. This online module will detail how to formulate a clinical question and discuss levels of evidence. A demonstration of PubMed’s Clinical Queries search feature, DynaMed, and the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews will be included. Specific features in Clinical Key and AccessMedicine will also be explored.

Suggested Resources

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
A collection of medical information resources. Comprised primarily of eBooks, such as Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, it also includes drug monographs, video, images, and cases.
Note: Use of some features, such as quizzes, requires setting up a personal account with AccessMedicine.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
ClinicalKey contains a large collection of published medical resources including a wide array of current medical textbooks.
The Procedures Consult collection within ClinicalKey provides video overviews of common procedures in a variety of disciplines.
Keywords: clinical key, mdconsult, md consult
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library searches across a collection of databases related to evidence-based practice. The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reveiws (CDSR) is the gold standard in regards to meta-analytic and systematic review content available.
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Cochrane Reviews are peer-reviewed systematic reviews that summarize and assess current research for clinical treatment decisions.
Keywords: systematic review, evidence-based medicine
DynaMed Plus This link opens in a new window
A clinical reference tool with clinically-organized summaries for nearly 2,000 topics in evidence-based medicine. Information supplied in these summaries have levels of evidence grades. Users can also find recent updates related to their specialty of interest. In addition, a wide array of calculators are provided dealing with unit/dose conversions, clinical criteria, statistics, and more.

PubMed: Clinical Queries
Searching via Clinical Queries provides users with EBP-related items such as: case and cohort studies, randomized controlled trials, systematic reviews, meta-analyses, guidelines, etc.

Other Resources

This guide includes clinical resources and links to specialty guides with relevant books.

Residents & Fellows (GME)
by Sarah Hughes Last Updated Feb 7, 2024 22 views this year

The AMA style guide can help with writing papers and articles.

AMA Manual of Style