See more Health Policy journals on Browzine. (Use the Browzine app on your phone to follow your favorites!)
Better Posters
by
Better posters mean better research. Distilling over a decade of experience from the popular Better Posters blog, Zen Faulkes will help you create a clear and informative conference poster that delivers maximum impact. Academics have used posters to share research for more than five decades, and tens of thousands of posters are presented at conferences every year. Despite the popularity of the format, no in-depth guide has been available on how to create and deliver compelling conference posters. From over-long titles, tiny text and swarms of logos, to bad font choices, chaotic colour schemes and blurry images - it's easy to leave viewers confused about your poster's message. The solution is Better Posters: a comprehensive guide to everything you need to know - from writing a title and submitting an abstract, to designing the poster and finally presenting it in the poster session. Your conference poster will be one of your first research outputs, and the poster session is your first introduction to a professional community. Making a great poster develops the skills to create publications, reports, outreach and teaching materials throughout your career. This book also has material for conference organizers on how to make a better poster session for their attendees.
Briefs and Beyond
by
This book hits the sweet spot between books that focus only on briefs and books that try to do too much. Expertly written and constructed by Mary Beth Beazley and Monte Smith, Briefs and Beyond: Persuasive Legal Writing gives law professors options to supplement a persuasive writing course with complaints, demand letters, and other persuasive documents while not overwhelming their students. Professors and student will benefit from: A behavioral approach to legal writing A focus on how documents look as well as what they say Sidebars that answer students' common questions as they go along Effective formulas for legal writing that ease the writing process Many examples of both good and bad writing throughout that illustrate concepts covered in the text
Plain Language, Please: How to Write for Results
by
Writing in plain language is not something they teach in you school. But it is an art and a science, and you can learn how to do it and apply it--how to write for results. This book provides a step-by-step, example-filled guide to the critical aspects of writing in plain English--plain language--the type of writing people understand and to which they respond favorably. Not many people refuse to read a newspaper because it is "too easy," but lots of people avoid technical publications and barbecue grill instructions because they are "too hard" or unintelligible.Good writers are made, not born. The examples and information in this book will guide you along the process of becoming one of those "good" writers...and you may even find yourself looking forward to your next writing project.
The Political Science Student Writer's Manual and Reader's Guide
by
The Political Science Student Writer's Manual and Reader's Guide is a practical guide to research, reading, and writing in political science. The Political Science Student Writer's Manual and Reader's Guide, Eighth Edition, is a set of instructions and exercises that sequentially develop citizenship, academic, and professional skills while providing students with knowledge about a wide range of political and governmental concepts, phenomena, and information sources. It begins by teaching beginning students to engage newspapers and other political media sources critically and analytically. It focuses on the crafts of writing and scholarship by providing the basics of grammar, style, formats and source citation, and then introduces students to a variety of rich information resources including the Congressional Record, Federal Register, and the Library of Congress. Students actively apply their knowledge and skills by corresponding with their representatives and commenting on pending government regulations. Part 1 concludes with campaign management, policy analysis, legislation assessment, and similar exercises that develop student skilled-observation proficiency. Part 2 prepares students to research, read, write, review, and critique political science scholarship. Finally, Part 3 teaches advanced students how to investigate public opinion; analyze domestic and international public policies; author amicus briefs; and participate in the universal community that deliberates the continuing rich tradition of political philosophy.
Drexel Libraries' Dragon Search (aka "The big search box on the library homepage") can be used as a broad interdisciplinary search across most of our subscribed databases and journal collections, as well as to find access to a specific book, journal article or video.
Contains legal, news, and business-related subjects. Newspapers & legal materials are featured, including cases, statutes, and regulations of the U.S. government and the various state governments; includes the legal encyclopedia American Jurisprudence 2nd and American Law Reports; case law from 1789 to present; current statutes and regulations.
ProQuest Congressional is a comprehensive collection of congressional documents from 1789 to the present. Also includes political news and government social media and website posts, and information on congressional committees.
PubMed is a database created by the National Library of Medicine to facilitate searching the biomedical literature. The MEDLINE databases found within PubMed contains journals that have been reviewed by a panel of experts for quality. PubMed also contains PMC, which contains publicly accessible literature that have not necessarily gone through the same review process.
Use the "Legislation and Jurisprudence" MeSH Subheading to focus on policy issues. Select this subheading from the MeSH term entry in the MeSH database, or as a field search from the Advanced Search page.
An online data platform and mapping tool that provides access to U.S. demographic data, as well as data related to health, housing, transit, and more. Create a map with included data or upload your own, generate reports, or download data for use in other applications. Data are sourced from both government and proprietary sources, including: the Census Bureau, the CDC, the DHS, the EPA, the FDIC, FEMA, HUD, NCES, and the Reinvestment Fund. For a complete list of included data, see the data dictionary. Visit the PolicyMap Knowledge Center for tutorials & support documentation.
Provided by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research, Roper iPoll is the largest collection of poll data anywhere—from 1935 to present. Contains data from U.S. and international polling firms with broad topical coverage of opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, and more. International and U.S. datasets available for immediate download.
Authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Content includes more than 1,400 individually indexed tables (with attached spreadsheets) that are searchable and browsable. Includes the following editions: 2013 to present. For the 1878 to 2012 editions, visit the U.S. Census Bureau website.
Provides access to major United Nations statistical databases containing over 60 million data points and covering agriculture, crime, education, employment, energy, environment, health, HIV/AIDS, human development, industry, information and communication technology, national accounts, population, refugees, tourism, trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators. Content includes country profiles, databases, statistical tables, and glossaries; statistical coverage varies by measure, but may go back to 1950.
Complete full-text content of local and regional news from 1983-present, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Please note, photos and some blog content for the Inquirer may not be available through this service
Also see all Drexel News & Newspaper databases.
