Political Science and Public Policy: Home

Weekly publication providing original in-depth analysis of current major and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, pros and cons, bibliographies and more.

Search scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Web of Science is a terrific place to begin for research in the sciences. Also includes citation analysis tools.

Supplies up-to-date bibliographic information and research drawn from 1000 journals drawn from the international serials literature.

Provides access to seven first-rate political reference tools, providing information such as profiles of members of congress, Supreme Court case summaries, legislative history, election statistics, primary source documents, and much more.

Full text collection of peer-reviewed journals and eBooks, as well as video lectures, all focused on specialized topics in computing research and the related organizational, managerial, behavioral, and social implications.

A comprehensive library of research methods library with books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos across the social sciences. The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research.

Full text of the New York Times from 1980 to present (no images). Full text of New York Times Magazine and New York Time Book Review from 1997 to present.

Complete full-text content of local and regional news from 1983-present, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Please note, photos and some blog content for the Inquirer may not be available through this service

Full text access to The Philadelphia Inquirer from 1860 - 2001.

Search historical New York Times content from 1851 to 3 years ago. Articles, editorials, cartoons, and even advertisements are fully searchable.

Includes all the articles published since the first issue of the paper in 1877 through 2001. Provides full text and full image articles with digital reproductions of every page, every article and every issue in PDF format. In addition to news stories, includes editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements.

Contains legal, news, and business-related subjects. Newspapers & legal materials are featured, including cases, statutes, and regulations of the U.S. government and the various state governments; includes the legal encyclopedia American Jurisprudence 2nd and American Law Reports; case law from 1789 to present; current statutes and regulations.

Provided by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research, Roper iPoll is the largest collection of poll data anywhere—from 1935 to present. Contains data from U.S. and international polling firms with broad topical coverage of opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, and more. International and U.S. datasets available for immediate download.

Largest available data aggregator for statistics, offering more than one million statistics and facts from more than 18,000 sources within the United States and internationally. Statistics, statistical dossiers, reports, surveys, and market studies are categorized into industries, broad topics, countries, and consumer, digital, and mobility markets. Global Consumer Survey covers more than 50 industries, more than 5,000 international brands, and additional topics from a global perspective. Business Plan Export aids in market modeling, business case development, and profit and loss statement creation.

Authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Content includes more than 1,400 individually indexed tables (with attached spreadsheets) that are searchable and browsable. Includes the following editions: 2013 to present. For the 1878 to 2012 editions, visit the U.S. Census Bureau website. 
 

American History in Video includes approximately 1,000 hours of newsreels from the late 1890s to the 1980s. Beginning with the Spanish American War, the early films provide documentary footage of actual people, places, and events together with interviews and other broadcast content from the period. In addition to the officially received perspectives offered by newsreels, this collection includes some 200 hours of rare, hard-to-find, and diverse perspectives as captured in a wide range of short films.

ProQuest Congressional is a comprehensive collection of congressional documents from 1789 to the present. Also includes political news and government social media and website posts, and information on congressional committees.