LibGuides: Nursing: Clinical Trials Research Concentration: Home

Resources for Citing and Writing

APA Style Blog
APA Style Website
APA style website
Purdue Online Writing Lab
Contains an excellent APA citation style guide
Endnote Desktop
Library Guide
Endnote Online
Endnote Online is the web-based version of Endnote reference management software.
Zotero
Open-source reference management tool

Writing for Publication in Nursing (3rd Edition) by Marilyn H. Oermann
ISBN: 9780826119926

Publication Date: 2015-01-01

Anatomy of writing for publication for nurses
This book is designed to help you bridge the gap between incomplete sentences and a published manuscript
Drexel Writing Center
The Drexel Writing Center helps all members of the Drexel community think through and develop writing projects. The Writing Center offers in-person and online appointments.

Tutorials

Evidence-based practice database videos
Presentation and videos demonstrating EBP searching in Cochrane, CINAHL, Dynamed, PubMed and PsycINFO. Also a presentation on PICO.
Critical Appraisal Tools
Appraisal worksheets to evaluate research studies for validity. From the Center for Evidence-Based Medicine (CEBM)
Introduction to Evidence-based Medicine
This tutorial provides individuals with a basic introduction to the principles of Evidence-based Medicine. It was created by the Duke University Medical Center Library and the Health Sciences Library, UNC Chapel Hill.
Use the CRAAP Test
Video; Western University
CRAAP = Currency, Relevance, Authority, Accuracy, Purpose
CINAHL
Learn to use CINAHL from this series of brief video tutorials
PubMed
Learn to use PubMed from this brief video tutorial

Databases

Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Library consists of a collection of regularly updated evidence-based health care databases. The collection is designed to provide information and evidence to support health care decision-making. It includes the Cochrane database of systematic reviews, and databases of clinical trials, and non-Cochrane systematic reviews.

The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Cochrane Reviews are peer-reviewed systematic reviews that summarize and assess current research for clinical treatment decisions.
CINAHL with Full Text
Literature on nursing, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Content includes fulltext access to more than 600 journals and citations for journal articles, book chapters, dissertations and selected conference proceedings.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database

Covers literature on nursing and allied topics. Includes scholarly journals, trade journals, magazines, dissertations, books and reports
PubMed

PubMed is a database created by the National Library of Medicine to facilitate searching the biomedical literature. The MEDLINE databases found within PubMed contains journals that have been reviewed by a panel of experts for quality. PubMed also contains PMC, which contains publicly accessible literature that have not necessarily gone through the same review process.
Google Scholar
Recommended link to Google Scholar for Drexel users, as it provides verified links to full text items licensed for Drexel University use.
Web of Science
Search scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Web of Science is a terrific place to begin for research in the sciences. Also includes citation analysis tools.
Scopus
Scopus covers more than 36,000 titles from over 11,000 publishers, nearly all of which are peer-reviewed journals in top-level subject fields: life sciences, social sciences, physical sciences, and health sciences. It covers three types of sources: book series, journals, and trade journals

DragonSearch (Advanced)
"Google"-like search for many, but not all, items available through the Drexel University Libraries. This link puts you in Advanced search mode, which allows you to target your search.

Government Databases

ClinicalTrials.gov
A searchable database, run by the National Library of Medicine, of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world.

Agency for Healthcare Rearch and Quaility (AHRQ)
AHRQ's mission is to produce evidence to make health care safer, higher quality, more accessible, equitable, and affordable, and to work with the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) and other partners to make sure that the evidence is understood and used.
HSRProj (Health Services Research Projects in Progress)
Information about ongoing health services research and public health projects

Grey Literature Sources

Grey Literature primarily refers to scholarly, scientific or government materials not controlled by commercial publishing. They include documents like government reports, dissertations, non-commercially published conference papers, working papers, standards, and guidelines.

Evaluating Grey Literature
The AACODS Checklist, put together by Jess Tyndal at Flinders University, is a good resource for evaluating grey literature. Acronym stands for (Authority, Accuracy, Coverage, Objectivity, Date, Significance)
Sigma Repository (formerly the Virginia Henderson Global Nursing e-Repository)
The Sigma Repository is a free, online service that collects, preserves, and disseminates digital materials related to all aspects of nursing research. In 2012, the repository expanded to include full-text submissions.
National Academies Press
The National Academies Press (publication arm of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine) publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics, providing authoritative, independently-researched information on important matters in science and health policy.

more... less...

Please click on "read online" or Download PDF to view the publication for free. Prices listed refer print versions of these items. To search the database, separate keywords by commas. Terms not separated by commas are searched as a phrase.
National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine
The website of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine contains reports, discussion papers, presentations and other materials on a wide range of topics.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global

Find millions of global dissertations and theses, dating back to 1743. Items added since 1997 generally available in full text.

Google Advanced Search
The Advanced search in Google allows you to target searches by domains (.gov, .edu, .org) and restrict keyword searches to specific fields like title, or URL
International Council for Harmonisation of Technical Requirements for Pharmaceuticals for Human Use (ICH)
Includes guidelines and standards for improving pharmaceutical registration and clinical trials
Finding Grey Literature Evidence and Assessing for Outcome and Analysis Reporting Biases When Comparing Medical Interventions: AHRQ and the Effective Health Care Program
This is a chapter from the AHRQ document Methods and Guides for Effective and Comparative Research. The chapter focuses on difference sources of grey literature related to drugs and devices and how to assess reporting bias within reports

Librarian for Health Sciences Research

Sarah Hughes

Email Me

Subjects: Biological Sciences, Health Sciences, Medicine & Biomedical Sciences, Nursing & Health Professions

Professional Organizations

Selected Journals

Other Helpful Library Guides

Poster Design
by Rachel Weidner Last Updated Feb 5, 2025 397 views this year

Grey Literature in Health Sciences
by Sarah Hughes Last Updated Jan 10, 2025 38 views this year