Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Grey Literature primarily refers to scholarly, scientific or government materials not controlled by commercial publishing. It includes documents like government reports, dissertations, non-commercially published conference papers, working papers, standards, and guidelines. Grey literature may not go through a peer review process, and may require additional scrutiny and critical appraisal.
Grey Literature Sources for Health Sciences
Current information about clinical trials in the US and other countries. Trial protocols can provide data for research and identify principal investigators.
HSRProj (Health Services Research Projects in Progress)
Searchable information about health services research projects' in progress and archived projects before results are available in a published format. Additional data on your subject may be found by searching publications of the principal investigators.
The Grey Literature Report
Grey literature published between 1999 - 2016 in health services research and selected urban health topics.
Harvard Kennedy School Think Tank
This database defines think tanks as institutions affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, non-governmental organizations, and businesses that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity. Reports from partisan and non-partisan think tanks are included
ECRI Guidelines Trust
ECRI Guidelines Trust is a publicly available online repository of objective, evidence-based clinical practice guideline content. This centralized repository includes evidence-based guidance developed by nationally and internationally recognized medical organizations and medical specialty societies. Individual registration is required to access guidelines.
General Grey Literature Sources
Google Advanced Search
The Advanced search in Google allows you to target searches by domains (.gov, .edu, .org) and restrict keyword searches to specific fields like title, or URL
A free, medically focused search engine that searches across multiple databases in real-time. Promoted as a "deep web" alternative to Google.
National Academies Press
The National Academies Press (publication arm of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine) publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics, providing authoritative, independently-researched information on important matters in science and health policy.
National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine
The website of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine contains reports, discussion papers, presentations and other materials on a wide range of topics.
Institutional Repositories for DNP Projects
Institutional Repostitories (General)
The Open Archives Initiative (pronounced like oyster), provides access to institutional repositories world-wide. Many of the documents are available in full-text.
Information for Evaluating Grey Literature
Librarian for Health Sciences Research