Covers aspects of food science and nutrition including food chemistry, food safety, packaging, additives and product development. FSTA contains abstracts from journals, books, conference proceedings, reports, theses, and the full text of some patents.
Search scholarly, peer-reviewed literature in the biomedical sciences.
PubMed is a database created by the National Library of Medicine to facilitate searching the biomedical literature. The MEDLINE databases found within PubMed contains journals that have been reviewed by a panel of experts for quality. PubMed also contains PMC, which contains publicly accessible literature that have not necessarily gone through the same review process. Keywords: biomedical sciences, medicine, basic science, molecular biology, genetics, genomics, immunology, kinesiology, neurosciences, neurobiology, nutrition, anatomy, health
Search scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Web of Science is a terrific place to begin for research in the sciences. Also includes citation analysis tools.
https://www-webofscience-com.ezproxy2.library.drexel.edu/wos/woscc/basic-search
Provides access to a comprehensive and reliable collection of scientific research information. A global network of scientists curate and aggregate the world’s scientific patent and journal content daily and make it fully discoverable. This ensures researchers have current and accurate substance, reaction, reference and commercial sourcing information available to quickly inform your critical research activities. SciFinder-n includes new predicted reaction steps in synthesis plans. These new predicted steps, produced by a CAS rules-based AI engine, will inspire new ideas for retrosynthetic routes to novel molecular entities.
ALERT (February 2024) - EBSCOhost (CINAHL) has recently implemented some updates that are causing limited search results. For advanced searching, Boolean operators must be capitalized (AND, OR). Contact librarians@drexel.libanswers.com for assistance.
PsycINFO comprehensively indexes the literature of psychology/behavioral sciences, including journals, books and book chapters, and dissertations. Journal coverage spans 1800 - present; monograph indexing extends back to 1600. Keywords: psychology, behavioral health, behavioral sciences
A research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. Researchers can explore methods concepts to design research projects, identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.
The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research. Keywords: research, methodology, quantitative, qualitative, social science
A broad, multidisciplinary tool that searches in-depth across the Libraries' print and electronic collections. The Advanced Search is useful when searching for a specific article, book or journal title.
Recommended link to Google Scholar for Drexel users, as it provides verified links to full text items licensed for Drexel University use. Follow these instructions to set your Google Scholar settings for access to Drexel Full Text.
The Flavor Ingredient Library provides information on ingredients that have been determined to be generally recognized as safe under conditions of intended use as flavor ingredients by the Flavor and Extract Manufacturers Association of the United States Expert Panel.
Knovel includes book chapters on food safety, nutrition, tests for the purity and quality of food ingredients, properties of ingredients, food microbiology, safe packaging methods, preservation, functional foods, and supplements. Of use to food scientists, chemists and chemical engineers, and manufacturing engineers.
A practical guide to sensory evaluation methods and techniques in the food, cosmetic and household product industries. It explains the suitability of different testing methods for different situations and offers step-by-step instructions on how to perform the various types of tests. Covering a broad range of food and non-food product applications,a practical guide to sensory evaluation methods and techniques in the food, cosmetic and household product industries. It explains the suitability of different testing methods for different situations and offers step-by-step instructions on how to perform the various types of tests.
Brief examples of how to format citations for both "In Text" and Reference sections of publications. If you need additional examples, see the CSE web-handbook below.
This web-handbook was written by the University of Madison's Writing Center. CSE has three distinct citation formats. The CSE Name-Year format is used by the Journal of Food Science.
