Start with these resources for background information to help you frame a research question, or to sharpen your understanding of basic concepts.
Crime and Punishment in America by
Covering some of the most hotly contested topics in crime and criminal justice, including proposed sentencing and prison reforms, controversial developments like Stand Your Ground laws, and Supreme Court decisions, this work supplies essential background, current data, and a range of viewpoints on these important issues. Should people be able to use lethal force before retreating? What are the arguments for and against executing mentally ill inmates? Should police always need warrants to search individuals or their property? How can we best hold accountable white collar offenders? Why do men perpetrate crime at higher rates than women? This two-volume set grapples with the answers to these complex questions and many more, enabling readers to better understand current crime/punishment issues within the context of America's ever-evolving culture, economy, and politics. This multidisciplinary reference work offers a current and thorough compilation of the most important and hotly contested topics related to crime and criminal justice. Organized alphabetically, each entry presents scholarly research and authoritative sources to inform readers about the subject. Provides readers with a thorough analysis of the most controversial topics in criminal justice that includes contributions from renowned scholars, activists, victim service providers, and other experts Addresses current trends and problems in America's criminal justice system Includes tables, graphs, and charts tracking the most important developments related to crime, sentencing, and the prison system
Encyclopedia of Community Corrections by
In response to recognition in the late 1960s and early 1970s that traditional incarceration was not working, alternatives to standard prison settings were sought and developed. One of those alternatives--community-based corrections--had been conceived in the 1950s as a system that might prove more progressive, humane, and effective, particularly with people who had committed less serious criminal offenses and for whom incarceration, with constant exposure to serious offenders and career criminals, might prove more damaging than rehabilitative. The alternative of community corrections has evolved to become a substantial part of the criminal justice and correctional system, spurred in recent years not so much by a progressive, humane philosophy as by dramatically increasing prison populations, court orders to "fix" overextended prison settings, and an economic search for cost savings. Although community correction programs have been in place for some 40 years now, to date no comprehensive reference resource has tackled this topic. Accessible and jargon-free and available in both print and electronic formats, the one-volume Encyclopedia of Community Corrections will explore all aspects of community corrections, from its philosophical foundation to its current inception.
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice by
A complete revision of the 1982 edition, the Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice deals with not only law but also sociology, psychology, history and economics.
Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment by
Winner of Reference USA, Booklist Editor′s Choice and CHOICE 2002 Outstanding Academic Title awards! `The Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment provides the much-needed practices, policies, and research and will be of interest to students, teachers, and the general reader alike. This work should be on the shelves of all libraries with collections in the social sciences′ - Larry E Sullivan, John Jay College of Criminal Justice With 1.5 million words in almost 500 entries, this four-volume Encyclopedia is the definitive resource for anyone interested in crime and criminal justice. The contributors to the Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment are experts from 16 countries: academics, lawyers, police, probation and prison officers, and administrators. The project was aided by an advisory board including renowned researchers and librarians from leading centres of criminal justice studies. The Encyclopedia provides readers with a comprehensive, authoritative 21st century reference resource on crime and punishment. The entries come from many sources - sociological surveys, ethnographic observation, government reports, clinical interviews, evaluation research, media reports, crime fiction and true crime literature, among others. This reference tool is of great value to practitioners and university students alike. University students interested in a career in criminal justice will find the Encyclopedia a useful overview of the entire field. Students in criminology, law, sociology, political science and other related disciplines will find it an accessible entry point into the vast and ever expanding litereature on crime and punishment. Topics covered include: - Crimes and Types of Crimes - Law and Justice - Policing and Forensics - Prisons - Victimology - Social/Cultural Contexts - Concepts and Theories - The Study of Crime and Punishment - Organizations and Institutions - Special Populations (For example: women, children, racial/ethnic groups) Features include: - Broader, more up-todate coverage than any other source on the market - 150 Illustrations - Four volumes - 2400 pages - 425 entries - A to Z format - 100 `Factoids′, spotlighting important and sometimes startling, information - Over 500 photos, charts, tables, graphs - Bibliography: at end of each entry and master bibliography in Volume 4 - Chronology at the beginning of each volume - Appendices: Careers in criminal justice, professional organizations, guidance on using the Web to collect accurate information - An extensive index The Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment is an essential resource for all libraries with collections in criminology and social justice.
Encyclopedia of Criminal Justice Ethics by
Federal, state, county, and municipal police forces all have their own codes of conduct, yet the ethics of being a police officer remain perplexing and are often difficult to apply in dynamic situations. The police misconduct statistics are staggering and indicate that excessive use of force comprises almost a quarter of misconduct cases, with sexual harassment, fraud/theft, and false arrest being the next most prevalent factors. The ethical issues and dilemmas in criminal justice also reach deep into the legal professions, the structure and administration of justice in society, and the personal characteristics of those in the criminal justice professions. The Encyclopedia of Criminal Justice Ethics includes A to Z entries by experts in the field that explore the scope of ethical decision making and behaviors within the spheres of criminal justice systems, including policing, corrections, courts, forensic science, and policy analysis and research. This two-volume set is available in both print and electronic formats. Features: Entries are authored and signed by experts in the field and conclude with references and further readings, as well as cross references to related entries that guide readers to the next steps in their research journeys. A Reader′s Guide groups related entries by broad topic areas and themes, making it easy for readers to quickly identify related entries. A Chronology highlights the development of the field and places material into historical context; a Glossary defines key terms from the fields of law and ethics; and a Resource Guide provides lists of classic books, academic journals, websites and associations focused on criminal justice ethics. Reports and statistics from such sources as the FBI, the United Nations, and the International Criminal Court are included in an appendix. In the electronic version, the Reader′s Guide, index, and cross references combine to provide effective search-and-browse capabilities. The Encyclopedia of Criminal Justice Ethics provides a general, non-technical yet comprehensive resource for students who wish to understand the complexities of criminal justice ethics.Key Themes: History of Criminal Justice Ethics General Criminal Justice Ethics Police Ethics Legal Ethics Correctional Ethics Criminal Justice Cases and Controversies Technology, Crime, and Ethics Ethics and Critical Criminology
Encyclopedia of Criminological Theory by
′Consistently excellent.... The level and coverage of the content make this an invaluable reference for students studying criminology or taking criminal psychology modules at degree level and beyond′ - Adam Tocock, Reference Reviews In discussing a criminology topic, lecturers and course textbooks often toss out names of theorists or make a sideways reference to a particular theory and move on, as if assuming their student audience possesses the necessary background to appreciate and integrate the reference. However, university reference librarians can tell you this is often far from the case. Students often approach them seeking a source to provide a quick overview of a particular theory or theorist with just the basics - the who, what, where, how and why, if you will. And reference librarians often find it difficult to guide these students to a quick, one-stop source. In response, SAGE Reference is publishing the two-volume Encyclopedia of Criminological Theory, available in both print and electronic formats. This serves as a reference source for anyone interested in the roots of contemporary criminological theory. Drawing together a team of international scholars, it examines the global landscape of all the key theories and the theorists behind them, presenting them in the context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses. In addition to interpretations of long-established theories, it also offers essays on cutting-edge research as one might find in a handbook. And, like an unabridged dictionary, it provides concise, to-the-point definitions of key concepts, ideas, schools, and figures. Coverage will include: contexts and concepts in criminological theory the social construction of crime policy implications of theory diversity and intercultural contexts conflict theory rational choice theories conservative criminology feminist theory.
Encyclopedia of Interpersonal Violence by
The Encyclopedia of Interpersonal Violence, edited by Claire M. Renzetti and Jeffrey L. Edleson, is the definitive resource for members of the general public who are interested in learning more about various aspects of this problem, including different forms of interpersonal violence, incidence and prevalence, theoretical explanations, public policies, and prevention and intervention strategies. It is a useful resource for students at all educational levels, who are studying about types of interpersonal violence or who are anticipating a career in one of the many fields in which professionals address aspects of interpersonal violence. Practitioners and clinicians in a wide range of fields will also find the Encyclopedia helpful as a quick reference guide to contemporary statistics, theories, policies, and prevention/intervention programs. The Encyclopedia consists of two volumes, which together contain over 500 alphabetically arranged entries written by experts on the topic addressed and cross-referenced with related entries. Volume 2 also contains appendices that provide information on current data on incidence of interpersonal violence in each state.
Encyclopedia of Juvenile Justice by
′For libraries that cater for criminal and juvenile studies, this lucid and informative resource would be a useful purchase′ - Reference Reviews The Encyclopedia of Juvenile Justice provides more than 200 up-to-date, concise, and readable entries in a single, authoritative volume. The editors, noted authors of several criminal justice books and editors of the award-winning Encyclopedia of Prisons (Garland, 1997), cover historical and contemporary theories, concepts and real-world practices of juvenile justice. Key Features: · More than 200 articles, written by a stellar collection of both academics and professionals in juvenile justice · Complete review of the complicated juvenile legal and court system, juvenile punishment, rehabilitation efforts and legislation · Extensive entries on child and adolescent crimes, pathologies and problems · Coverage of psychological, biological, and sociological theories of delinquency, as well as historic `body type′ theories · Profiles historic theorists and policymakers in juvenile justice · Includes a special appendix on print and electronic resources on juvenile justice · Comprehensive index, including a reader′s guide that facilitates browsing and offers easy access to information
Encyclopedia of Law Enforcement by
Although there is a plethora of studies on crime and punishment, law enforcement is a relatively new field of serious research. When courts, sentencing, prisons, jails, and other areas of the criminal justice system are studied, often the first point of entry into the system is through police and law enforcement agencies. Unfortunately, understanding of the important issues in law enforcement has little general literature to draw on. Currently available reference works on policing are narrowly focused and sorely out-of-date. To this end, a distinguished roster of authors, representing many years of knowledge and practice in the field, draw on the latest research and methods to delineate, describe, and analyze all areas of law enforcement. This three-volume Encyclopedia of Law Enforcement provides a comprehensive, critical and descriptive examination of all facets of law enforcement on the state and local, federal and national, and international stages. This work is a unique reference source that provides readers with informed discussions on the practice and theory of policing in an historical and contemporary framework. The volumes treat subjects that are particular to the area of state and local, federal and national, and international policing. Many of the themes and issues of policing cut across disciplinary borders, however, and several entries provide comparative information that places the subject in context. Key Features * Three volumes cover State and Local, Federal, and International law enforcement * More than 250 contributors have composed over 400 essays on all facets of law enforcement * An editorial board of the leading scholars, researchers, and practitioners in the field of law enforcement * Descriptions of United States Federal Agency law enforcement components * Comprehensive and inclusive coverage, exploring concepts and social and legal patterns within the larger topical concern * Global, multidisciplinary analysis Topics Covered * Agencies, Associations, and Organizations * Civilian/Private Involvement * Communications * Crime Statistics * Culture/Media * Drug Enforcement * Federal Agencies/Organizations * International * Investigation, Techniques * Investigation, Types of * Investigative Commissions * Law and Justice * Legislation/Legal Issues * Military * Minority Issues * Personnel Issues * Police Conduct * Police Procedure * Policing Strategies * Safety & Security * Specialized Law Enforcement Agencies * Tactics * Terrorism * Victims/Witnesses
Encyclopedia of Race and Crime by
As seen almost daily on local and national news, race has historically and continues to feature prominently in reporting on crime and justice within the United States, whether the issue be hate crimes, racial profiling, sentencing disparities, wrongful convictions, felon disenfranchisement, political prisoners, juveniles and the death penalty, or culturally specific delinquency prevention programs. This encyclopedia covers issues in both historical and contemporary context, with information on race and ethnicity and their impact on crime and the administration of justice. Through entries in this encyclopedia, readers will gain a greater appreciation for the similar historical experiences of varied racial and ethnic groups and will see how race and ethnicity has mattered and continues to matter in the administration of American criminal justice.
Encyclopedia of Street Crime in America by
Anyone living or working in a city has feared or experienced street crime at one time or another, whether it be a mugging, purse snatching or a more violent crime. In the United States, street crime has recently hovered near historic lows; hence, the declaration of certain analysts that street life in America has never been safer. But is it really? Street crime has changed over past decades, especially with the advent of surveillance cameras in public places - the territory of the street criminal - but at the same time, criminals have found ways to adapt. This encyclopedic reference focuses primarily on urban lifestyle and its associated crimes, ranging from burglary to drug peddling to murder to new, more sophisticated forms of street crime and scams. This traditional A-to-Z reference has significant coverage of police and courts and other criminal justice subdisciplines while also featuring thematic articles on the sociology of street crime.
Encyclopedia of Transnational Crime and Justice by
Transnational crimes involve border crossings as an integral part of the criminal activity. They also include crimes that take place in one country with consequences that significantly affect other countries. Examples include human trafficking, smuggling (arms, drugs, currency), sex slavery, non-domestic terrorism, and financial crimes. Transnational organized crime refers specifically to transnational crime carried out by organized crime syndicates. Although several encyclopedias cover aspects of transnational crime, it is this encyclopedia′s emphasis on transnational justice, as well, that differentiates it from the pack. Not only does it define, describe and chart the crimes and criminal activity, it also includes significant coverage of policing those crimes and prosecuting them within domestic and international court systems. Accessible and jargon-free and available in both print and electronic formats, the one-volume Encyclopedia of Transnational Crime and Justice will contain such entries as arms smuggling, art fraud, charity fraud, hacking and computer viruses, copyright infringement, counterfeiting, drug smuggling, extradition, human trafficking, intelligence agencies, international banking laws, Internet scams, Interpol, money laundering, pollution and waste disposal, price fixing, prosecution, sanctions, sex slavery, tax evasion, terrorism, war crimes, the World Court, and more.
Encyclopedia of White-Collar and Corporate Crime by
Since the first edition of the Encyclopedia of White Collar and Corporate Crime was produced in 2004, the number and severity of these crimes have risen to the level of calamity, so much so that many experts attribute the near-Depression of 2008 to white-collar malfeasance, namely crimes of greed and excess by bankers and finanÂcial institutions. Whether the perpetrators were prosecuted or not, white-collar and corporate crime came near to collapsing the U.S. economy. In the 7 years since the first edition was produced we have also seen the largest Ponzi scheme in history (Maddoff), an ecological disaster caused by British Petroleum and its subcontractors (Gulf Oil Spill), and U.S. Defense Department contractors operating like vigilantes in Iraq (Blackwater). White-collar criminals have been busy, and the Second Edition of this encyclopedia captures what has been going on in the news and behind the scenes with new articles and updates to past articles.
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences by
This Encyclopedia is the first attempt in a generation to map the social and behavioral sciences on a grand scale. Not since the publication in 1968 of the International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, edited by David L. Sills, has there been such an ambitious project to describe the state of the art in all the fields encompassed within the social and behavioral sciences. Available in both print (26 volumes) and online editions, it comprises 4,000 articles, commissioned by 52 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.
The Social History of Crime and Punishment in America by
Several encyclopedias overview the contemporary system of criminal justice in America, but full understanding of current social problems and contemporary strategies to deal with them can come only with clear appreciation of the historical underpinnings of those problems. Thus, this four-volume work surveys the history and philosophy of crime, punishment, and criminal justice institutions in America from colonial times to the present. It covers the whole of the criminal justice system, from crimes, law enforcement and policing, to courts, corrections and human services. Among other things, this encyclopedia will: explicate philosophical foundations underpinning our system of justice; chart changing patterns in criminal activity and subsequent effects on legal responses; identify major periods in the development of our system of criminal justice; and explore evolving debates and conflicts on how best to address issues of crime and punishment. Its signed entries provide the historical context for students to better understand contemporary criminological debates and the contemporary shape of the U.S. system of law and justice.
Electronic Resources:
Nearly all of the Libraries' journal, all databases, and a significant number of books are available electronically. When you choose a link to a Drexel Libraries-subscribed resources, you'll see an authentication page to verify your Drexel affiliation: use your Drexel EMAIL ID (just the initials and number, not your full email address) and PASSWORD to log in to all library resources.
Alternatively, you can set up VPN (Virtual Private Network) access to reach all licensed resources.
NOTE: Due to changes in Drexel Account requirements, you may need to set up Multi-Factor Authentication to log in.
Start with searching for articles in DragonSearch, then try these more specialized resources.
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research by 
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by 
