LibGuides: Complementary and Integrative Therapies: Home

Medical and Allied Health Databases

CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Literature on nursing, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Content includes fulltext access to more than 600 journals and citations for journal articles, book chapters, dissertations and selected conference proceedings.
Keywords: nurse, biomedicine, integrative medicine, nutrition, art therapy, healthcare, health policy, rehabilitation, wellness
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Specialized literature in health sciences, including clinical research and healthcare. It includes the Cochrane database of systematic reviews, and databases of clinical trials, and non-Cochrane systematic reviews.
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Cochrane Reviews are peer-reviewed systematic reviews that summarize and assess current research for clinical treatment decisions.
Keywords: systematic review, evidence-based medicine
ClinicalTrials.gov This link opens in a new window
A searchable database, run by the National Library of Medicine, of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world.
PsycINFO 1887-Current This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO comprehensively indexes the literature of psychology/behavioral sciences, including journals, books and book chapters, and dissertations. Journal coverage spans 1800 - present; monograph indexing extends back to 1600. Keywords: psychology, behavioral health, behavioral sciences.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Search scholarly, peer-reviewed literature in the biomedical sciences.
PubMed is a database created by the National Library of Medicine to facilitate searching the biomedical literature. The MEDLINE databases found within PubMed contains journals that have been reviewed by a panel of experts for quality. PubMed also contains PMC, which contains publicly accessible literature that have not necessarily gone through the same review process.
Keywords: biomedical sciences, medicine, basic science, molecular biology, genetics, genomics, immunology, kinesiology, neurosciences, neurobiology, nutrition, anatomy, health

Other Databases

DragonSearch
A broad, multidisciplinary tool that searches in-depth across the Libraries' print and electronic collections. The Advanced Search is useful when searching for a specific article, book or journal title.
Google Scholar
You can use Google Scholar to search for materials from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
The catalog and index for the U.S. National Agricultural Library. Contains citations to books, technical reports, proceedings and articles on agriculture, farming, earth science, plant science, food, nutrition, veterinary science and aquaculture.
Also called the NAL catalog. full text of articles, reports and government documents found in its sister database, PubAg https://pubag.nal.usda.gov/
Keywords: veterinary science, entomology, plants, forestry, aquaculture, fisheries, farming, food science, environmental science
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Search scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Web of Science is a terrific place to begin for research in the sciences. Also includes citation analysis tools.
https://www-webofscience-com.ezproxy2.library.drexel.edu/wos/woscc/basic-search

Complementary and Alternative Medicine Databases

Alt-HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers libraries full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports.

ABC Clinical Guide to Herbs
Summaries and critical reviews of seminal articles on herbal medicine from popular and scientific literature around the world

Natural Medicines (formerly Natural Standard) This link opens in a new window
An international research collaboration that aggregates and synthesizes data on complementary and alternative therapies.
Keywords: complementary medicine, alternative health, herbal

Index to Chiropractic Literature
Contains abstracts or articles in peer reviewed chiropractic journals. Indexed by members of the Chiropractic Library Consortium.

Suggested Electronic Journals

Herbalgram
Chinese Medicine
Holistic Nursing Practice
Journal of Holistic Nursing
Journal of Bodywork and Movement Therapies
Alternative Therapies in Health and Medicine
BMC complementary medicine and therapies
BMC complementary and alternative medicine
more...less...
Ceased in 2019, continued by BMC Complementary Medicine

Websites

Drexel Certificate of Advanced Study in Complementary and Intergrative Therapies
American Botanical Council
USDA Food and Nutrition Information Center (FNIC)
National Center for Complimentary and Integrative Health
The Unites States of America's lead agency for scientific research on complementary and alternative medicine.
NIH Office of Dietary Supplements

Finding More Information on Complementary Medicine

Complementary and Alternative Medicine includes many concepts and modalities. Here are some keywords to try when searching Drexel's catalog or Databases. Many keywords fit under multiple categories.

Whole Body Medicine	Bio-Energy Medicine
Complementary Medicine	Magnet Therapy
Alternative Therapies	Reiki
Integrative Medicine	Tai Chi And Qi Gong
Holistic Nursing	Acupucture/Acupressure
Holistic Medicine
Healing Systems	Plant and Biological-Based Practices
Chinese Medicine	Herbs
Ayurvedic Medicine	Dietary
Homeopathy	Aromatherapies
Tactile/Manipulative Therapies	Other
Chiropractic Treatment	Spirituality
Massage Therapy	Creative Arts Therapies
Osteopathic Treatment	Body Movement and Dance Therapies
	Aromatherapy

Librarian for Health Sciences Research

Janice Masud-Paul

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Drexel University Libraries
W. W. Hagerty Library
3300 Market St
Philadelphia, PA 19104

215-895-2765

Subjects: Behavioral Sciences & Therapies, Creative Arts in Therapy, Food and Hospitality Management, Health Sciences, Medicine & Biomedical Sciences, Nursing & Health Professions, Nutrition & Food Science, Temporary Resource Access During COVID-19 Outbreak

Cite and keep track of sources

Citation Style Manuals
LibGuide

Citing Generative A.I.
by Deborah Bishov Last Updated Sep 6, 2024 335 views this year

Tutorials

SIFT: An approach for evaluating web content
Video from Wayne State University Libraries
Use the CRAAP Test
Video; Western University
CRAAP = Currency, Relevance, Authority, Accuracy, Purpose
PubMed
Learn to use PubMed from this brief video tutorial
CINAHL
Learn to use CINAHL from this series of brief video tutorials
Evaluating Internet Content: Georgetown University

Related LibGuides

Nutrition and Dietetics Resources
by Janice Masud-Paul Last Updated Oct 1, 2024 101 views this year

Health Sciences Resources
by Kathleen Turner Last Updated Oct 1, 2024 9113 views this year
American Botanical Council Resources
by Janice Masud-Paul Last Updated Feb 7, 2024 158 views this year