LibGuides: Special Education: EDEX 542 Assignment

Assignment Topic: Disproportionate Representation

"You have been asked to present on the topic of disproportionate representation of (X) within the special education population of your school. Find three articles that discuss the range of views this topic with regard to your group of interest and articulate what you believe are the contributing factors."

Advice: If you are not yet familiar with searching on ERIC.ed.gov this video can help get you started.

Definitions of Special Education

Proquest E-Books from Multiple Publishers
Try these to get a sense of the sub-domains within the field.
SAGE Knowledge E-book Platform
Dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks from a leading social science publisher, focused on the field of special education.
SAGE Research Methods on Special Ed (e-books)
Multiple results in handbooks from the publisher SAGE on how to conduct research in the special education field

Definition of Inclusive Education

ERIC Descriptor: "Disproportionate Representation"
Brief scope note with links to other related descriptors and articles on eric.ed.gov
21st Century Education: A Reference Handbook
A definition of the term "special education" is offered in the Chapter 44 of this work, entitled "Special Education"
more...less...
DOI: http://dx.doi.org.ezproxy2.library.drexel.edu/10.4135/9781412964012.n44

Issue Briefings and Opinions

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Weekly publication providing original in-depth analysis of current major and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, pros and cons, bibliographies and more.
Keywords: government, politics
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints (formerly: Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context) is an online library of current event topics: the facts as well as the arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors. Features include Viewpoint articles, access to statistics and government data placed in context, interactive maps, and infographics.

These two databases can help you find arguments pro and con regarding controversial issues. The CQ Researcher briefs are not all current, but still possess the foundational facts and timelines for the issues covered.

Videos of master class sessions with inclusion

Education in Video (United States) This link opens in a new window
A growing multi-volume collection of online streaming video with a global scope, developed specifically for training and developing teachers. Currently contains more than 1,650 hours of teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms, plus teaching tools including course, study, and discussion guides, assessment checklists, and themed playlists.
Keywords: teacher

Here are search results for the keyword "DISPROPORTIONATE" in the video contents of this database.