Using Electronic Resources

There are a few reasons you may not be able to access a database or other resources available through the Drexel Libraries:

• Off campus access: If you are off campus, you must first sign in using your Drexel username and password.
• Clear the cache: Clearing the cache will often solve many display and access problems. You will most likely have to reboot the browser once you have cleared the cache (see below for instructions on clearing your cache). 
• We do not subscribe to that database: Unfortunately, we may not subscribe to the resource you are trying to access. Please see the current list of available databases.

If you experience issues accessing our online resources, the first step is to clear your cookies and cache. This can often resolve the problem. If it doesn't, it will help rule it out as a cause and will allow the Online Resources team to focus on other potential solutions.  

To clear your cookies and cache in Chrome:  

1. In the ‘Settings’ menu, select ‘Privacy and Security.’  
2. Click on the option to ‘Clear Browsing Data.’ 
3. Select ‘Cookies and other site data’ and ‘Cached images and files.’ 
4. Click ‘Clear data.’ 

To clear your cookies and cache in Firefox: 

1. In the ‘Settings’ menu, select ‘Privacy and Security.’  
2. Under ‘Cookies and Site Data’ click ‘Clear Data…’ 
3. Select ‘Cookies and Site Data’ and ‘Cached Web Content.’ 
4. Click ‘Clear.’ 

We do not recommend Microsoft Edge or Apple Safari when using Drexel Libraries resources. If one of these browsers is all you are able to use, please contact the Online Resources team at onlineresources@drexel.libanswers.com

Some databases provided by the Libraries cannot be used off-campus with out using the Drexel VPN. If you receive an error when connecting to a database or other resources while working off-campus, check to be sure you are logged in to the VPN first. If that does not resolve the issue, please report the issue via email. 

Drexel IT provides more information and instructions for downloading and connecting to Drexel's VPN for off-campus access to resources. 

Sometimes access to subscription databases or individual articles does not work as it should due to technical issues. 

Whenever you are unable to access one of our resources, please take a moment to report the issue so we can fix it.

Please send us as much of the following information as possible via email or through our live chat service:

1. Which resource are you using that is not working as expected? 
2. Are you on or off campus?
3. What kind of computer operating system and browser are you using? (ex: working on a Mac while using Firefox)
4. How would you describe the problem? If you have an error message, please share that too.
5. Do you have any immediate information needs, such as an article that you need to get access to, that we might be able to help out with in the short term as we work to address the issue?

Can't get access to a resource through the Drexel Libraries? You can borrow books, journal articles, and other materials from nearby libraries using our resource sharing services.

• Borrow print materials using EZBorrow
   
• Request digital copies of journal articles and book chapters outside the Drexel Libraries’ owned and licensed collections through our interlibrary loan service, ILLIAD.

Visit our website to learn more about resource sharing.