If you have questions about this guide, please email the University Archives at archives@drexel.edu and an archivist will be in touch. We look forward to helping you with your research.
Find out more about the Drexel University Archives.
This guide was created by Sophia Stutte, Archival Assistant and co-op student at Drexel University Archives.
These featured photos all come from PC.00.012, Clubs and Organizations photographs. Left to right: Members of the Chess Club,1938; Hillel members sit around and share a meal, 1979; Members of WKDU student radio station, 1979.
This research guide provides information about student organizations and Greek life at Drexel University in related collections in the Drexel University Archives. Researching these organizations gives insight into the past of student culture and club involvement on campus that researchers may find useful.
Many of these collections have scattered information on different clubs and organizations. The collections section of this guide, found on the Research Guide page, will help direct researchers to useful collections and subjects at Drexel University Archives with descriptions of what kinds of information may come out of these resources.
Collections Description
The featured collections in this research guide include a variety of resources that could be useful for researchers. This includes photographs, annual reports, yearbooks, newspapers, event programs, and scrapbooks. Student organizations often showcase their events and history through photographs, meeting minutes, and scrapbooks. These resources can provide background on an organization's impact on the campus and community throughout its history.
The University Archives is committed to maintaining the records documenting Drexel University’s history. This means preserving records created by our University’s founders and actively collecting documents that reflect the University today.
We build our collections through transfers from University departments and campus organizations and through donations from faculty, students, alumni/ae, and members of the public. We welcome materials that fall within our collecting scope. Drexel’s student organizations can preserve their history by transferring materials to the University Archives. These materials shed light on student life and the academic experience at Drexel.
If you have records you would like to transfer or donate, please check with us first by emailing archives@drexel.edu so we can discuss the materials and ensure they are a good fit for the University Archives. For more information on donating as a student organization, please visit https://www.library.drexel.edu/archives/donate-materials/student-organizations/.
This LibGuide was created to help researchers, but a particular focus was placed on educating student researchers. Whether students are researching for projects or their own organization's benefit, this research guide intends to serve as a starting point for studying Drexel's student organizations and Greek life through Drexel University Archives. Being created by a co-op student, we hope this research guide helps students learn more about how to use Archives in their educational career.
If an organization wishes to make any edits in the information this research guide that involves them, please email archives@drexel.edu.
