These featured photos come from PC.00.012, Clubs and Organizations photographs, and PC.00.019, Lexerd photographs. Left to right: members of Hillel sit around a dinner table, 1979; candid photo of WKDU member, 1979; candid photo of two members of the Black Student Union, 2000.
Student organizations intend to bring students together with a common interest. The Drexel University Archives has various collections with information about student organizations. Although these collections may not give a complete story, researchers could find information about these clubs and organizations. Related subjects may also help find valuable collections not listed in this LibGuide.
A multitude of student organizations serve the needs of groups that have been historically underrepresented or subject to discrimination. Examples of such organizations documented at Drexel University Archives (DUA) include the Black Student Union, Society of Women Engineers, and the Jewish Student Association.
Black Student Union – Previously titled the Afro-American Society, this organization has been on campus since 1967 and serves as a meeting ground for black students at Drexel. They are responsible for student publications such as The Communicator (1981-1986), which can be found at DUA. Collections that may mention the Black Student Union include the Yearbooks (UR 12 008) and Clubs and Organizations photographs (PC 00 012).
Some related subjects include: Clubs, Student activities, Student life and customs, Students, Drexel University – Students, and African American students – Pennsylvania – Philadelphia.
Society of Women Engineers – Previously titled Society of Women Scientists and Engineers and Women Engineers Club, this organization has been on campus since 1949. It serves as an educational society focused on the advancement of women engineers. Collections that may mention the Society of Women Engineers include Society for the Advancement of Women Scientists and Engineers records (UR 08 007), Yearbooks (UR 12 008), Drexel Institute of Technology Evening College Student Guide 1950-51 (UR 03 019), and Clubs and Organizations photographs (PC 00 012).
Some related subjects include: Engineering – Societies, etc., Drexel University – Societies, etc., Students, Universities and colleges – Societies, etc., Women college students, and Women – Societies and clubs.
Jewish Student Association – The Jewish Student Association, also popularly titled Hillel and previously the Menorah Society, has been the campus home to Jewish students at Drexel University since the 1920s. As quoted on their dragonlink page, this organization is dedicated to "creating a pluralistic Jewish undergraduate community that fosters social, educational, cultural, social action and religious experiences that help students develop their own Jewish identities and make enduring commitments to Jewish life, learning, and Israel." Collections that may mention the Jewish Student Association include Yearbooks (UR 12 008), Drexel Institute of Technology Evening College Student Guide 1950-51 (UR 03 019), and Clubs and Organizations photographs (PC 00 012).
Some related subjects include: Campus activities and participatory groups, Clubs, Drexel University -- Societies, etc., Drexel University -- Students, Student activities, Student life and customs, Students, and Universities and colleges -- Societies.
All information from this master list has been found in through the Drexel University Archives collections or on the club's DragonLink page.