Skip to main content
Drexel Library

Certificate in Global Health: Library Resources

Guide to finding and using the resources and services of Drexel University Libraries for students enrolled in the Dornsife Certificate in Global Health program.

Greetings!

This page has been created specifically for the students in the Dornsife School of Public Health Certificate in Global Health program. It will help you navigate through the Drexel Libraries' services, and the resources that are most likely to be relevant to your program of studies. Bookmark this as your Library landing page to speed up your work!

When You Can't Come to the Library

Don't worry -- the library will come to you. Available online:

  • E-journals
  • E-books
  • Databases

When you choose a link to a Drexel Libraries-subscribed resources, you'll see an authentication page to verify your Drexel affiliation: use your Drexel EMAIL ID (just the initials and number, not your full email address) and PASSWORD to log in to all library resources.

Alternatively, you can set up VPN (Virtual Private Network) access to reach all licensed resources.

NOTE: Due to changes in Drexel Account requirements, you may need to set up Multi-Factor Authentication to log in.

Finding Journal Articles

Whether you find citations to journal articles using one of the recommended databases, or have a list of citations from another source, how do you get to the actual TEXT of the article?

From a citation in a database:

Look for the GetItbutton, or a DREXEL FULL TEXT link. This is our linking system that connects you from a citation in one database to the text of that article that might be in a different journal collection.

A new tab or new browser window will open (you may need to turn-off your pop-up blocker!). If the article is available to us online, you'll either go directly to the article itself, or to a "services" window that will allow you to choose between multiple options to access the article.

If the article is not available online, the "services" page will instruct your to sign in (use your usual Drexel ID and password), then will show options for requesting the article via Interlibrary Loan.


Citations from other sources:

When you have a citation that you didn't find in a database, you can find out whether the article is available in our journal collections.

  • Type or copy-and-paste a phrase from the article title into the Summon search box on the library home page. Use enough of the title to have a unique/significant phrase, and put it in quotation marks:  "microbiological evaluation of water fountains of public and private schools".
  • OR, see "Finding/Browsing Journals" below to search for the journal title, then navigate to the appropriate year/volume/issue to find the article.

 

Troubleshooting

Sometimes the linking function just doesn't work quite right; there might be a malfunction at the journal website, or there may be problems with the information in the citation. Try going directly to the journal website (see Finding/Browsing Journals below) and looking for the article directly.

Interlibrary Loan Services

If we don't have any article you need, don't panic! -- we may not have direct access to everything, but we can get most articles for you through our Interlibrary Loan Service.

Choose "Request through InterLibrary Loan" from a "services" page, then:

  • Log in with your DREXEL EMAIL ID and PASSWORD.
  • If this is the first time you're using it, fill in the registration form. For STATUS use Graduate - Distance Education .
  • Now here's a little trick: after you fill in the registration form, go back to the GetIt page and click that Borrow this Item button again.
  • You should see the Article Request form with all of the citation information filled in; check to make sure it is accurate (especially page numbers) and submit the request.

OR start at "Borrow from Other Libraries" link on Libraries homepage, then select "Connect to ILLiad:"

  • Log in with your DREXEL EMAIL ID and PASSWORD.
  • If this is the first time you're using it, fill in the registration form. For STATUS use Graduate - Distance Education .
  • Select the type of material you need (article, book chapter, etc.).
  • Fill in as many fields as you can -- those with a red star are required (absolutely include a DOI or PMID (PubMed ID number) if you have one.

You'll receive an email message -- usually in 3-4 business days -- with a link to the article.

To check the status of your request:  Log in to ILLIAD 

Finding/Browsing Journals

BrowZineUse BrowZine on the web or download on your phone or tablet to stay current with your selected journals from Drexel Libraries collections.

Finding Books

Some subject terms to try:

  • drinking water
  • water supply
  • water quality management
  • hygiene
  • sanitation standards

For medical information:

We have several medical e-book collections that include major textbooks, dictionaries, etc. Try these if you need some background medical information.


Print Books

Our Interlibrary Loan service will ship print books from our collection to distance students; obviously, this would not be a practical way for you to obtain information you need in a timely manner. If it appears that a print book in our collection may have information that you need that isn't available to you from another source, please contact me (Kathleen Turner); we can arrange to scan and email pages you need.

When You Need Help

You can reach a librarian through our Chat reference service:

  • Monday-Thursday 9:00 am - 7:00 pm
  • Friday 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
  • Sunday 3:00 pm - 7:00 pm

(Times are Eastern Standard/Daylight Time -- here's the current time in Philadelphia.)

I am generally in my office 8:00 am - 5:00 pm; if you email me with a question, I'll try to get back to you as quickly as I can!

The Writing Process

While these titles may not be specifically for Public Health, they are good, practical guides to the writing and research process:

Plagiarism: an act or instance of using or closely imitating the language and thoughts of another author without authorization and the representation of that author's work as one's own, as by not crediting the original author . . . ; a piece of writing or other work reflecting such unauthorized use or imitation. (From http://www.dictionary.com/browse/plagiarism).

Also see: Drexel University Academic Policies -- Academic Integrity.

Cite any information or ideas that come from other writers, whether you paraphrase their writing, or quote their words exactly.