This page has been created specifically for the students in the Dornsife School of Public Health Certificate in Global Health program. It will help you navigate through the Drexel Libraries' services, and the resources that are most likely to be relevant to your program of studies. Bookmark this as your Library landing page to speed up your work!
Nearly all of the Libraries' journal, all databases, and a significant number of books are available electronically. When you choose a link to a Drexel Libraries-subscribed resources, you'll see an authentication page to verify your Drexel affiliation: use your Drexel EMAIL ID (just the initials and number, not your full email address) and PASSWORD to log in to all library resources.
Alternatively, you can set up VPN (Virtual Private Network) access to reach all licensed resources.
NOTE: Due to changes in Drexel Account requirements, you may need to set up Multi-Factor Authentication to log in.
Whether you find citations to journal articles using one of the recommended databases, or have a list of citations from another source, how do you get to the actual TEXT of the article?
From a citation in a database:
Look for the button, or a DREXEL FULL TEXT link. This is our linking system that connects you from a citation in one database to the text of that article that might be in a different journal collection.
A new tab or new browser window will open (you may need to turn-off your pop-up blocker!). If the article is available to us online, you'll either go directly to the article itself, or to a "services" window that will allow you to choose between multiple options to access the article.
If the article is not available online, the "services" page will instruct your to sign in (use your usual Drexel ID and password), then will show options for requesting the article via Interlibrary Loan.
Citations from other sources:
When you have a citation that you didn't find in a database, you can find out whether the article is available in our journal collections.
Sometimes the linking function just doesn't work quite right; there might be a malfunction at the journal website, or there may be problems with the information in the citation. Try going directly to the journal website (see Finding/Browsing Journals below) and looking for the article directly.
Startt at "Borrow from Other Libraries" link on Libraries homepage, then select "Connect to ILLiad:"
OR "Request through InterLibrary Loan" from a "services" page, then:
You'll receive an email message -- usually in 3-4 business days -- with a link to the article.
To check the status of your request: Log in to ILLIAD
For medical information:
We have several medical e-book collections that include major textbooks, dictionaries, etc. Try these if you need some background medical information.
You can reach a librarian through our Chat reference service:
(Times are Eastern Standard/Daylight Time -- here's the current time in Philadelphia.)
I am currently working from home, but usually online 9:00 am - 5:00 pm; if you email me with a question, I'll try to get back to you as quickly as I can!
While these titles may not be specifically for Public Health, they are good, practical guides to the writing and research process:
Cite any information or ideas that come from other writers, whether you paraphrase their writing, or quote their words exactly.