LibGuides: Certificate in Global Health: Library Resources: Databases and other Research Resources

Research Databases: MEDLINE

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Search scholarly, peer-reviewed literature in the biomedical sciences.
PubMed is a database created by the National Library of Medicine to facilitate searching the biomedical literature. The MEDLINE databases found within PubMed contains journals that have been reviewed by a panel of experts for quality. PubMed also contains PMC, which contains publicly accessible literature that have not necessarily gone through the same review process.
Keywords: biomedical sciences, medicine, basic science, molecular biology, genetics, genomics, immunology, kinesiology, neurosciences, neurobiology, nutrition, anatomy, health

PubMed Online Training
Video and interactive tutorials to help you get started.

PubMed is an INDEX to journal literature; it links directly to some articles in the PubMed Central repository. To find the full text of other articles, click on an article title; in the Abstract View, look for our buttons on the right.

Some MeSH (Medical Subject Heading) terms you may find useful for searching:

Developing Countries
Disease Outbreaks
Health Education
Health Knowledge, Attitudes, Practices
Hygiene

Outcome Assessment
Rural Population
Sanitation
Water Purification
Water Supply

Additional Research Databases

HealthSTAR (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Citations to the published literature on health services, technology, administration and research. In addition to journal article citations and abstracts, HealthSTAR includes citations to meeting abstracts, technical reports and monographs.
browser requirements for using OVID (as of 08/01/18):
• Chrome version 30 or greater
• Internet Explorer version 9 or greater. For versions 9-10, TLS 1.2 is disabled by default so you will need to enable it in the browser settings if this hasn’t already been done
• Microsoft Edge: All versions are compliant
• Firefox version 24 or greater. For versions 24-26, TLS 1.2 is disabled by default so you will need to enable it in the browser settings if this hasn’t already been done.
• Safari version 7 or greater
• Safari mobile 5 or greater

Keywords: health services, technology, health policy, healthcare
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Search scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Web of Science is a terrific place to begin for research in the sciences. Also includes citation analysis tools.
https://www-webofscience-com.ezproxy2.library.drexel.edu/wos/woscc/basic-search

Some additional interdisciplinary databases:

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Recommended link to Google Scholar for Drexel users, as it provides verified links to full text items licensed for Drexel University use. Follow these instructions to set your Google Scholar settings for access to Drexel Full Text.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Find millions of global dissertations and theses, dating back to 1743. Items added since 1997 generally available in full text.
ProQuest One Academic This link opens in a new window
Proquest One Academic is a great place to start when researching a topic. The database offers full text access to thousands of academic journals, books, dissertations, newspapers, and videos from across all disciplines.
Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Contains legal, news, and business-related subjects. Newspapers & legal materials are featured, including cases, statutes, and regulations of the U.S. government and the various state governments; includes the legal encyclopedia American Jurisprudence 2nd and American Law Reports; case law from 1789 to present; current statutes and regulations.
Keywords: government, legal, legislation, news

Certificate in Global Health: Library Resources

Research Databases: MEDLINE

Additional Research Databases

Agencies and NGOs