Selected resources from our collections to help with the process of writing research and other funding proposals.
Creating Winning Grant Proposals by
Providing clear-cut steps for producing each section of a competitive grant proposal, this hands-on book is filled with examples from actual RFPs and proposals, practical tools, and writing tips. Prominent educator and successful proposal writer Anne L. Rothstein shares a systematic process created over decades of experience in the field. She details how to: achieve group consensus around a project; identify likely funding sources; establish need; develop objectives; assemble a Master Project Table and other needed tables, figures, and charts; create an effective logic model; prepare an evaluation; put together a budget; tailor the proposal to meet the requirements of funders; and avoid common errors. Purchasers get access to a Web page where they can download and print the book's 14 reproducible templates in a convenient 8 1/2" x 11" size.
Developing a Winning Grant Proposal by
In a world of tightening budgets and increased competition for grant money, Developing a Winning Grant Proposal provides the guidelines, strategies, plans, and techniques to craft a fundable grant proposal. A user-friendly, engaging, and up-to-date guide, this book covers the entire process from the inception of a good idea, to the formulation of a strong proposal, to the next steps once a proposal is funded. Providing a basic overview and helpful tools for busy faculty and researchers, this is a must-have guide for anyone interested in the mechanisms that successful grant writers employ. Special Features Include: Appendices with a "Model of a Funded Proposal" and a "Basic Toolbox for Grant Seekers" Checklists for self-evaluating the efficacy of each portion of the grant proposal Coverage of complex issues in a concise and clear manner, perfect for grant writers facing tight time constraints.
Funded! by
Funded! leads readers from knowing nothing about writing grants to having a complete grant proposal. Based on personal experience and the experiences of dozens of professional nonprofit grantwriters, students learn about writing grants by completing exercises at the end of each chapter, movingfrom finding funding opportunities to submitting the completed proposal. The book covers every essential grantwriting topic: finding funding, writing needs statements, finding or developing evidence-based programs, developing logic models, writing evaluation plans, describing implantation plans,budgeting, sustainability planning, and submission to the funder. Overall, it is an invaluable resource that provides flexibility for instructors, students, and professionals to learn about grantwriting in a variety of settings and formats.
Funded! by
Funded! leads readers from knowing nothing about writing grants to having a complete grant proposal. Based on personal experience and the experiences of dozens of professional nonprofit grantwriters, students learn about writing grants by completing exercises at the end of each chapter, movingfrom finding funding opportunities to submitting the completed proposal. The book covers every essential grantwriting topic: finding funding, writing needs statements, finding or developing evidence-based programs, developing logic models, writing evaluation plans, describing implantation plans,budgeting, sustainability planning, and submission to the funder. Overall, it is an invaluable resource that provides flexibility for instructors, students, and professionals to learn about grantwriting in a variety of settings and formats.
Grant Writing by
When an important project's budget is hanging in the balance, you need to be prepared for anything, so don't let a poorly written grant application stop your project from moving forward. Whether you or your organization is applying for a grant or you are a grant writer looking for tips to improve your trade, look no further than the Grant Writing QuickStudy® guide, a concise, point-to-point overview of the entire grant-writing process that will help you make sure your organization's needs are both realistic and achievable.
Grant Writing for Dummies by
Your go-to guide for getting that coveted grant Though hundreds of thousands of grant opportunities exist, finding the right one can be a challenge. Grant Writing For Dummies, 6th Edition offers expert guidance for locating available grants, carefully applying, and ultimately winning a grant. From writing compelling applications to properly adhering to strict guidelines and parameters, it takes the intimidation out of the process and shows you how to increase your ability to get a piece of the billion-dollar pie for your non-profit or for-profit organization. You'll even have access to sample applications, letters, and budgets online to help you stand out from the competition. As the amount of established granting foundations increases, so does the amount of money available. But for most grant-seekers, the application process can be long, tedious, and highly competitive. Packed with step-by-step instructions for registering with Grants.gov, up-to-date grant opportunities available via newly created websites and online databases, updated resources and best practices--and more--Grant Writing For Dummies is your all-encompassing guide to navigating the entire grant-writing process. Find grant opportunities in the public or private sector Create strong statements of need tailored for your prospects Navigate federal regulations Apply for grants online If you're ready to create powerful, successful applications and proposals that convey your need for grant funding, help is a page away!
Grant Writing Handbook for Nurses and Health Professionals, Third Edition by
This accessible, hands-on text, for new grant writers and seasoned health researchers, educators, and clinicians alike, illuminates the process of writing a persuasive request for funding from start to finish. Packed with practical tips for dealing with common pitfalls besieging grant seekers, the text progresses step by step from establishing the need for the grant through disseminating grant findings. This third edition is distinguished by key information about newer grant mechanisms and a fresh focus for foundation and corporate grants. It also includes updates on electronic submissions and web resources. Useful supporting features include examples and underlying principles for each guideline, examples of grants and specific elements that lend themselves to the development of PowerPoint slides for traditional or online classroom use, real-life examples from actual grant applications, and links to online resources to support searches for grant funders and websites supporting grant applications. Armed with savvy tips and advice from the authors--an experienced grant writer, grant reviewer, and grant consultant--readers will be able to write a persuasive grant with ease. NEW TO THE THIRD EDITION: Top-notch grant writing guidance for all health professionalsInformation about newer grant mechanisms emphasizing community-based and patient-centered outcomes research grantsFoundation and corporate grants focusing on population health, personalized health, and interprofessional team grants that include community collaborations and corporate partnershipsImportant information on the Patient-Centered Research InstituteGuidance on how to involve stakeholders and communities in study design and implementationUpdates on electronic submissions and web resourcesNew coauthor who is a successful PCORI awardeeInstructor's PowerPoint slides KEY FEATURES: Describes the process of writing a persuasive request for funding from start to finishDelivers practical tips from experienced authors for dealing with common pitfalls and difficultiesIncludes examples and underlying principles for each guidelineProvides real-life examples from actual grant applicationsHelps readers to apply principles for selling and justifying the grant to their own proposals
Storytelling for Grantseekers by
Grantwriters often have little or no training in the practical task of grantseeking. Many feel intimidated by the act of writing, and some don't enjoy writing. In Storytelling for Grantseekers, Second Edition, Cheryl Clarke presents an organic approach to grantseeking, one that views the process through the lens of the pleasures and rewards of crafting a good story. Grantseekers who approach the process as one in which they are connecting with an audience (grantmakers) and writing a narrative (complete with settings, characters, antagonists and resolutions) find greater success with funders. The writing process becomes a rewarding way to tell the organization's tale, rather than a chore, and their passion and creativity lead to winning proposals. This book walks readers through all the main phases of the proposal, highlighting the creative elements that link components to each other and unify the entire proposal. The book contains resources on crafting an effective synopsis, overcoming grantwriter's block, packaging the story, and the best ways to approach the "short stories" (inquiry and cover letters) that support the larger proposal. Clarke also stresses the need to see proposal-writing as part of a larger grantseeking effort, one that emphasizes preparation, working with the entire development staff, and maintaining good relations with funders. In Storytelling for Grantseekers, new and experienced grantseekers alike will discover how to write and support successful proposals with humor and passion. New edition features: Overall updates as well as both refreshed and new examples Workshop exercises for using the storytelling approach New chapters on the application of the storytelling method to other fundraising communications like appeal letters and case statements, as well as the importance of site visits Example of a full narrative proposal
Successful Grant Writing for Health and Human Service Professionals, Fifth Edition by 
Winning Grants Step by Step by
Strong grant proposal writing made easy From small startups to established national organizations, nonprofits large and small depend on grant funding to survive and thrive. Winning Grants Step by Step: The Complete Workbook for Planning, Developing, and Writing Successful Proposals has long been the go-to resource for individuals and organizations looking for a clear, easy-to-follow approach to tackling the grant-writing process and winning funds. Now, in this revised Fifth Edition, changes and developments in the not-for-profit sector are integrated into the time-tested grant-writing formula that has proven effective time and again. New to this edition, you'll find an expanded discussion of the importance of relationship building, social media, and online resources to successful nonprofit funding. The text has also been revised to include guidance for nonprofit program budgets for both foundation and public funding grants. Never before has Winning Grants Step by Step been so easy to comprehend. Updated worksheets and forms will improve your comprehension and make your grant proposals stronger and more successful than ever. Learn the proven step-by-step approach to writing strong grant proposals for foundation grants and public funds Complete worksheets and activities to practice your grant-writing skills and break the process down into easy pieces Understand how to integrate your ideas and insights with research and facts to demonstrate your organization's potential Learn the best approaches to building relationships and networking both in-person and online to push strong grant proposals into the winner's circle This guide is perfect as an introduction for the novice grantseeker or a refresher for the more experienced. Whether your organization needs only a thousand dollars or several million, following this step-by-step process will improve your ability to transform an idea that needs financial support into a proposal that deserves to be funded.
Videos (from SAGE Research Methods Online):
