Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Drexel Library

NCBI My Bibliography: NCBI My Bibliography

Using the NCBI My Bibliography tool to create a publicly accessible list of your publications

What is My Bibliography?

My Bibliography is a tool that allows you to save your citations from PubMed, or citations entered manually, to a single list that can be shared via download or a publicly accessible link. When creating an NIH Biosketch using the SciENcv tool, you can easily add the public link to this bibliography. The My Bibliography tool also allows you to monitor your NIH Public Access policy compliance.

Related Guides

Creating a My NCBI account

To create a My NCBI account, go to PubMed and click the "Sign in to NCBI" link in the top right corner. You will see a few options for signing in to My NCBI.

  1. Register for an NCBI account.
  2. Sign in using your eRA Commons account
  3. Sign in using another 3rd party option such as Google.

If you choose to create a new NCBI account, you can link it to your eRA Commons account at a later time, which will be needed for managing NIH Public Access Policy compliance.

Adding Delegates

Once you have signed in to My NCBI, you can assign others as delegates, giving them permission to edit your My Bibliography and SciENcv profiles.

To add a delegate, go to your NCBI Account Settings page by clicking on your username in the top right corner of the page. You will see a section for managing your delegates. Click Add a Delegate to enter the email address of the person you would like to give access to. Once they have accepted the delegate role for your account, you can assign them access to your My Bibliography and/or your SciENcv profiles.

NCBI Account Settings

Addinf delegates

The Linked Accounts section of this page is where you can link to your eRA Commons account, if you have not already done so.

Adding Citations to My Bibliography from PubMed

After logging in to My NCBI, go to the PubMed search page. You can search using the basic search box, or use the Single Citation Matcher to search for yourself as an author.

PubMed Search Page

Once you have selected you publications from the search results list, use the Send To menu, on the right above the search results, to add them to your My Bibliography.

After the citations have been added, you will see a confirmation message that "New items were added to your bibliography" and a link to edit your bibliography.

 

 

 

Add Citations from a File

Citations that are in either MEDLINE or RIS format can be uploaded to your My Bibliography collection.  Most bibliographic management apps (e.g. EndNote*, Zotero) can produce a file in this format.

It's very easy:

  1. Log in to My Bibliography and click "Manage My Bibliography".
  2. Click on the "Upload a File" button, and browse to the file containing your citations.

When the upload is complete, a message will confirm the number of citations added.  If any of the citations can be matched to MEDLINE records, you'll be asked whether you want to add the MEDLINE metadata to the record.

* To create an RIS formatted file of citations from your EndNote (desktop) library,

  1. Open the Group that contains the citation you want to export to a file.
  2. If you want to use only selected citations, click on them to select (ctrl-click to select non-adjacent citations).
  3. From the top menu bar, under File, select Export . . .
  4. In the dialog box, give your file a name, select "Text file" as the file type, and "Ref Man (RIS) Export" as the Output Style. If you don't see that as an output option, click "Select Another Style" to see the entire list of EndNote output styles.
  5. Click Save to export the citation and create the file.

Manually Add Citations to My Bibliography

Citations not in PubMed or a citation manager will need to be added to your My Bibliography manually. To do this, go to the My NCBI main menu by clicking on "My NCBI" in the top right corner of the page. You will see a box for your bibliography, which will contain citations that you have already added from PubMed. For delegates, the bibliography will show up in your list of Collections.

My NCBI - My Bibliography

Click on "Manage My Bibliography" and then the "Add Citation" button in the menu of the bibliography management page.

Choose "Manual Citation" from the drop-down menu, or another manual entry format as appropriate.

Manual Citations

Enter all information available and click "Add Citation" to save.

You will see the new citation appear in your bibliography along with an Edit link in case the informtion was added incorrectly.

Making Your Bibliography Public

Now that you have a bibliography, you will need to make it public to share it with others. You can do this using the link at the top of the Manage Your Bibliography Page.

After clicking the lin, you will see a confirmation message and a link to your public profile. To find the link later, click "Edit setting" where you will find a URL to copy or HTML for embedding in a website.

More Help from NCBI

See the My NCBI Help Manual and the video below for more information about My Bibliography: