LibGuides: Higher Education Leadership: Special Topics

Professional and Trade Associations

Associations:
Professional and trade associations offer unique insider perspectives on the world of their membership with industry reports and member surveys you will not find elsewhere. Here are a few for higher education worth considering:

Association of College & University Policy Administrators (ACUPA) -- WEB (see their "Resources" page)
Association of Governing Boards of Universities and Colleges - has topical bibliographies and good links on their site.
Education Commission of the States - has a good section on post-secondary issues.
State Higher Education Executive Officers - a handy listing of the higher education board, commission, regents or department for each state.
College and University Public Relations and Associated Professionals - higher education marketing and communications professionals

Still can't find your special statistic or fact? Other associations can be found from the Inside Higher Education weblinks page, or the National Forum for Teaching and Learning weblinks page, or in the Library's database Encyclopedia of Associations or the Leadership Library (which includes corporate and political info as well).

Postsecondary Governance Structures Database
Profiles individual state postsecondary governance structures as well as 50 state overviews to provide context for understanding how policy is implemented and funding appropriated in higher education. (This source is of special interest to EDHE 510 students)

more... less...

Last revised in 2007, the project is a partnership of the National Center for Higher Education Systems, State Higher Education Executive Officers and the Education Commission of the States.

Selected Higher Education Scholarly Journals

QUESTION:
What if I just want to browse a few good peer-reviewed / scholarly journals that are all about higher education ?

ANSWER:
Try some of the following:

Journal of Higher Education
Journal of Higher Education Ethics
Journal of Higher Education Policy and Management

You may also choose to keyword search on just the journal TITLES using our "GetIt E-Journal Portal" as I have linked to in the following examples: "higher education" or "college"

Other libraries have lists of journals focused on higher education too:
UNT, BGSU, or USF

Higher Education Navigator

National Center for Education Statistics
The NCES College Navigator can be queried by a small but useful set of criteria and reliably saves detailed output to Excel format. A great time saver if you are building an overview of colleges that share specific programs.

Encylopedias on Education Topics

The Encyclopedia of Education
includes articles that cover policy and curriculum issues; learning; assessment; standards; history and culture; legislation; and profiles of organizations, schools, and people. Use the "search within this publication" feature to locate the entries on topics you desire. For example "higher education" AND history
World Education Encyclopedia
This 3-volume country-by-country survey of educational systems provides detailed essays on the histories, legal foundations, and primary and secondary educational systems of 233 countries.
Encyclopedia of educational leadership and administration
Presents the most recent theories, research, terms, concepts, ideas, and histories on educational leadership and school administration as it is taught in preparation programs and practiced in schools and colleges today.

Current Awareness for Higher Education Professionals

Institutions of higher education exist in local, regional and national contexts, each with its own news publications. The following short list works for Drexel University's context. Other universities will have a comparable list of publication. Every higher education professional, whether faculty or staff, should be able to navigate these publications to support the mission of their institution in an informed manner.

Philadelphia Inquirer 1983 - Present

Complete full-text content of local and regional news from 1983-present, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Please note, photos and some blog content for the Inquirer may not be available through this service

Previously available through Newsbank, now provided through Proquest Newspapers.
Philadelphia Business Journal

Full text access to Philadelphia Business Journal, along with 44 regional Business Journals from around the United States. Content includes: articles, event notices, lists of companies and business decision-makers, job postings, videos, and other business resources including the annual "Book of Lists." Registration using Drexel email required, select Drexel University Business Journal Subscription #1.
Chronicle of Higher Education
In addition to recent and archived issues of The Chronicle of Higher Education, a weekly news and information publication, this online access contains daily updates on a variety of topics of interest in higher education. Includes advice, blogs, news, opinion pieces, videos, jobs, and contents of the annual Almanac of Higher Education.
Factiva
Provides access to sources of local, regional, national, and international news, general insight, selected financial information and profiles for publicly traded U.S. and international companies, industry reports, quotes for financial instruments, and stock market data. News content types include: newspapers, magazines, media transcripts, wire services, transcripts, images, blogs, and websites.
Westlaw Campus Research

Contains legal, news, and business-related subjects. Newspapers & legal materials are featured, including cases, statutes, and regulations of the U.S. government and the various state governments; includes the legal encyclopedia American Jurisprudence 2nd and American Law Reports; case law from 1789 to present; current statutes and regulations.

Subject Guide

Deborah Bishov

she/her

Email Me

Subjects: Education