LibGuides: Health Informatics: Home

Research Centers

Center For Biomedical Informatics
This is the Online Learning Library of the Center for Biomedical Informatics (CBMi) which resides in The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia Research Institute as the home for development of innovative solutions to healthcare's immediate and long-term informatics needs. Videos from recent presentations.

See the link for "books" in the upper left to access ClinicalKey's medical handbooks and encyclopedias.

ClinicalKey

Clinical Key is a medical search engine, which provides quick access to full-text medical and surgical resources. Includes access to full text journals & reference books, ebooks, videos, drug monographs, drug class overviews, calculators, patient education, and practice guidelines.

The Procedures Consult collection within ClinicalKey provides video overviews of common procedures in a variety of disciplines.

Several databases overlap to cover this space, each with its own general focus. In general, for articles more about:

medical end-users see IGI or PubMed (same as MedLine)
- Example: implementing electronic health records (EHR)
core computing techologies applied to healthcare (see the others listed on the Special Topics page)
- Example: new EHR datamining methods

PubMed

PubMed is a database created by the National Library of Medicine to facilitate searching the biomedical literature. The MEDLINE databases found within PubMed contains journals that have been reviewed by a panel of experts for quality. PubMed also contains PMC, which contains publicly accessible literature that have not necessarily gone through the same review process.
IGI Global Gateway
Focuses on specialized topics in information science and technology and the related organizational, managerial, behavioral, and social implications. Includes full text collection of peer reviewed journals and eBooks, as well as streaming video lectures.
ACM Digital Library
Access full text articles on computer science, software and computer engineering published in the Association for Computing Machinery periodicals, transactions, and proceedings since 1985.
Engineering Village
Engineering Village is a search interface for Compendex, Inspec, Chemical Business NewsBase (CBNB), and Knovel databases. It provides access to articles from scientific journals and conference proceedings, access to electronic books through Knovel database, offers support for varying engineering research initiatives, and helps discover engineering-related jobs.

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database

Covers literature on nursing and allied topics. Includes scholarly journals, trade journals, magazines, dissertations, books and reports
CINAHL with Full Text
Literature on nursing, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Content includes fulltext access to more than 600 journals and citations for journal articles, book chapters, dissertations and selected conference proceedings.