LibGuides: English & Literature: Home

Find Articles

Start with searching for articles in DragonSearch then try these more specialized resources.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window Find full text for leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and life sciences, as well as scholarly eBooks. Most journals provide content from the first year of publication through 3 years ago.
Project MUSE - Premium Collection This link opens in a new window Project MUSE is a collaboration between libraries and publishers providing full-text access to over 300 humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
ProQuest One Literature This link opens in a new window Formerly known as ProQuest Literature Online (LION) ProQuest One Literature gives faculty and students access to millions of sources, including: More than 3 million literary criticism citations, 14,000 dissertations, 20,000 ebooks, 1,300 videos, and 1,200 full-text journals. 500,000 primary texts written by authors from more than 65 nations, including the ProQuest Black Writing Collection and World Literature Collection, alongside works spanning the canon of traditional Western Literature covering poetry, prose and drama from the eighth century to today. 1.1 million bibliographic citations from the Annual Bibliography of English Language & Literature (ABELL), a renowned index from the Modern Humanities Research Association (MHRA) and a definitive resource for literary criticism.
Keywords: poetry, prose, drama, author biography

Oxford Reference Online: Premium This link opens in a new window Full text collection of peer-reviewed journals and eBooks, as well as video lectures, all focused on specialized topics in computing research and the related organizational, managerial, behavioral, and social implications.

Black Literature Criticism by James P. Draper (Editor)
Call Number: Hagerty Reference PS153 .N5 B556 1992
Critical Survey of Drama, English Language Series by Frank N. Magill (Editor)
Call Number: Hagerty Reference PR623 .C75 1985
Critical Survey of Poetry, Revised Edition by Frank N. Magill (Editor)
Call Number: Hagerty Reference PR502 .C85 1992
Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism by Paula Kepos
Call Number: Hagerty 2nd Floor PN94 .T83x
Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism by Laurie L. Harris Each print volume in this long-standing series profiles approximately four to eight literary figures who died between 1800 and 1899 by providing full-text or excerpted criticism taken from books, magazines, literary reviews, newspapers and scholarly journals. Among those profiled in this volume are:Jane AustenElizabeth Barrett BrowningJames Fenimore CooperEdgar Allan Poe
ISBN: 0810358018
Publication Date: 1981-10-30

Columbia Granger's World of Poetry This link opens in a new window
Search for poetry and discover works from a variety of time periods and languages. Browse by subject or search using keywords, titles, authors, etc.
The poems in full text are largely in English, though Spanish, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Polish, Yiddish, Welsh, Gaelic, and other Celtic languages are also represented, as well as poems in the ancient languages: Anglo-Saxon, Provencal and Latin. Scholars in each of these languages have reviewed and guided the selection of poems. Complete coverage provided of the works of several individual great poets, including the complete poems of Shelley, Blake, Burns, Keats, Marvell, Poe, Unamuno, Heine, Baudelaire, and other major poets. In addition users will find a wealth of current poetry from some of the best poetry periodicals, such as Poetry Magazine, The Southern Review, and Poetry Northwest. Contains 250,000 poems in full text and 450,000 citations.
Keywords: Literature, poet, poem,

DPLA: Digital Public Library of America
An ongoing project to develop, “an open, distributed network of comprehensive online resources that would draw on the nation’s living heritage from libraries, universities, archives, and museums in order to educate, inform, and empower everyone in current and future generations.”

Print copies of the MLA Handbook, 8th edition are available at W.W. Hagerty Library.

Print copies of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, 3rd edition are available at W.W. Hagerty Library.