LibGuides: Kinesiology and Exercise Science: Evidence Based Practice & Appraisal

Study Design and Appraisal

Quantitative and Qualitative Research: Distinguishing Article Type
This guide will help you determine if an article is secondary research (a review article), primary research or a systematic review / meta-analysis. It also distinguishes between qualitative and quantitative research methods.
Quantitative Research Design
A summary of quantitative research design from Sportscience.org. Describes types of design, sampling, and selecting variables
Qualitative Research Review Guidelines -RATS
Provides guidelines to assess a Qualitative Research
Study Design
This short article gives a brief guide to the different study types and a comparison of the advantages and disadvantages.

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Specialized literature in health sciences, including clinical research and healthcare. It includes the Cochrane database of systematic reviews, and databases of clinical trials, and non-Cochrane systematic reviews.
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Cochrane Reviews are peer-reviewed systematic reviews that summarize and assess current research for clinical treatment decisions.
Keywords: systematic review, evidence-based medicine

PEDro -- The Physiotherapy Evidence Database
PEDro is a free database of over 27,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
Pub Med Clinical Queries
PubMed/MEDLINE search feature that filters results in order to display only articles backed by good evidence. NOTE: At the PubMed home page, choose the Clinical Queries option in the Find column in the second half of the page.
REHAB+
A database of EB appraised studies focusing on rehabilitation. You need to create an individual account to use this database. Accounts are free.

Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
Provides information on journal citation activity, journal impact factors and trend data for many journals indexed in the Web of Science database.
Used to evaluate journals and their impact and influence in the research community
Keywords: publishing

PRISMA Flow Diagram
The flow diagram depicts the flow of information through the different phases of a systematic review. It maps out the number of records identified, included and excluded, and the reasons for exclusions.
PRISMA Checklist
The 27 checklist items pertain to the content of a systematic review and meta-analysis, which include the title, abstract, methods, results, discussion and funding.

Evidence-based practice database videos
Presentation and videos demonstrating EBP searching in Cochrane, CINAHL, Dynamed and PsycINFO. This series also includes a presentation on PICO. A presentation demonstrating PubMed Clinical Queries is listed separately
PubMed Clinical Queries
A PubMed search tool designed to retrieve targeted results to clinical questions.
Critical Appraisal Tools
Appraisal worksheets to evaluate research studies for validity. From the Center for Evidence-Based Medicine (CEBM)
Introduction to Evidence-based Medicine
This tutorial provides individuals with a basic introduction to the principles of Evidence-based Medicine. It was created by the Duke University Medical Center Library and the Health Sciences Library, UNC Chapel Hill.
CEBM - Center for Evidence-Based Medicine (Oxford)
This website contains details of learning resources available from the Centre and collaborative departments. CEBM aims to develop, teach and promote evidence-based health care through conferences, workshops and EBM tools so that all health care professionals can maintain the highest standards of medicine.