It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Women's Health Education Program Research Project: PubMed and other databases
This guide is intended to help students frame a timely and focused research question and find primary sources for the Transdisciplinary Research Project.
Many topics in women's health are multidisciplinary in nature. In addition to searching the PubMed database, you may find it helpful to search some specialized databases that provide good coverage of psychology, sociology, public policy, economics, public health, and education.
Your literature review must only use primary sources. Primary sources are hypothesis driven and contain original research data typically found in peer-reviewed journals. Such sources include original research articles, conference papers, dissertations, and technical papers. Secondary sources are derived from primary sources and help interpret, evaluate, or summarize original research. Secondary sources include textbooks, narrative review articles, systematic reviews, and meta-analyses, and should only be used to gain background information for your research.
Search scholarly, peer-reviewed literature in the biomedical sciences.
PubMed is a database created by the National Library of Medicine to facilitate searching the biomedical literature. The MEDLINE databases found within PubMed contains journals that have been reviewed by a panel of experts for quality. PubMed also contains PMC, which contains publicly accessible literature that have not necessarily gone through the same review process. Keywords: biomedical sciences, medicine, basic science, molecular biology, genetics, genomics, immunology, kinesiology, neurosciences, neurobiology, nutrition, anatomy, health
PsycINFO comprehensively indexes the literature of psychology/behavioral sciences, including journals, books and book chapters, and dissertations. Journal coverage spans 1800 - present; monograph indexing extends back to 1600.