Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Drexel Library

Business Planning

Recommended resources for business planning

Library Databases

Use the library subscription databases below to gather data and information for the various sections of your business plan. See the next page for additional resources recommended for market demographics research. 

Basic company information

Company Information within Literature Databases

Industry overviews

The IBISWorld interface was updated in December 2019. These tutorials and information will help you navigate the new interface:

Using IBISWorld for Porter's Five Forces Analysis

Harvard University professor Michael E. Porter developed the widely-used Five Forces framework to determine profitability and intensity of competition within an industry. IBISWorld industry reports are closely aligned with this framework. This IBISWorld article explains how to use IBISWorld reports to perform a Five Forces analysis. 

Mergent Intellect includes access to First Research U.S. Industry Profiles (more than 500 U.S. Industry Profiles covering 1,000 industry segments), First Research Canadian Industry Profiles, Global Industry Profiles, and Industry Prospector, which allows you to select and rank industries based on 34 financial metrics, 2 human resources metrics, 7 industry drivers, forecasted growth, and international trade growth and dollars. 

Mergent Online includes:

-Mergent Industry Reports that provide in-depth analysis of key industries covering North America, Asia/Pacific, Europe and Latin America by country and region (2003 to present). 

-Additional industry reports from various contributors, accessible from the Investext tab in Mergent Online

Mergent Archives also includes First Research Global Industry Profiles (2003 to present).

Industry Statistics Portal

Market research reports

Statista also offers data from their Global Consumer Survey of more than 400,000 consumers in 46 countries, focusing on consumption and media usage. Global Consumer Survey covers more than 50 industries, more than 5,000 brands, and various topics. To learn more, read the Global Consumer Survey Step-by-Step Tutorial and watch this Global Consumer Survey tutorial video:

Reconcile Conflicting Information