LibGuides: Educational Leadership: Open Source and Free Resources

Tools for Leaders

Info Visualization "Tableau" - trial
Harness your structured data to tell a story in a picture. Subscribers have enterprise options for real-time reporting that keep everyone on same page.
Info Visualization "NVivo" trial
Unstructured data? No problem. NVivo can handle interviews and coding with many templated output options such as social network analysis.

Zotero
by Sarah Hughes Last Updated May 8, 2024 114 views this year

Zotero helps you keep track of articles, websites and personal annotations with grouped reading lists and shared folders, producing bibliographies in any format.

Privacy and Security

Privacy
by Michael Johnson Last Updated Jun 28, 2023 28 views this year

top recommendations:

Tor browser
ProtonMail
FireFox privacy mode

Literature Databases for Leadership

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Great for anyone with the goal of influencing policy or educating around public health or health behaviors of specific populations.
PubMed is a database created by the National Library of Medicine to facilitate searching the biomedical literature. The MEDLINE databases found within PubMed contains journals that have been reviewed by a panel of experts for quality. PubMed also contains PMC, which contains publicly accessible literature that have not necessarily gone through the same review process.
Keywords: biomedical sciences, medicine, basic science, molecular biology, genetics, genomics, immunology, kinesiology, neurosciences, neurobiology, nutrition, anatomy, health
Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) via U.S. Department of Education This link opens in a new window
Educational leadership, organizational change, effectiveness. You will find it all here. Be sure to try searching single terms in the Thesaurus to make the most use of the "descriptor" controlled-vocabulary and "scope note" definitions.
Includes ability to limit search results by education level (such as early childhood education or a particular grade) and audience (such as counselors, parents, or teachers)
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Great for when you know your specific keywords, or are seeking a specific "known item" with a particular title. Also includes theses and dissertation content from open repositories not included in many subscription databases.

Google Advanced Search
Specify desired results from .EDU or .GOV sites only. Or in .PDF format.
DragonSearch ("Articles and More" search)
More than a database, this is a "discovery layer" that integrates content from all of Drexel's subscribed resources. This link produces results for the search query "Organizational culture" AND "leadership style"
Be sure to filter results using left-hand options such as "Peer-reviewed Journals" or "Subject Terms / more"

Teaching Tools - Thinking Differently

STEAM Gaming Platform
What do games have to do with teaching? You won't know until you've tried STEAM. High bandwidth and gaming-friendly computer recommended.
JOVE - Journal of visualized experiments
A subset of this service is devoted to open source science education. Useful to know about as a format even if you never subscribe. Make your own versions on YouTube!
Gartner's "magic quadrant" for IT marketplace
These simple graphics have been widely applied to the information technology and system marketplace. Good example of info visualization for decision support that has become key for senior executives.
Periodic Table of Visualization Methods
A helpful reminder of options.

Educational Leadership: Open Source and Free Resources

Why this page on the Education Leadership Guide?

Tools for Leaders

Privacy and Security

Literature Databases for Leadership

Teaching Tools - Thinking Differently