LibGuides: Engineering Technology: Home

Finding books

Try a keyword search in DragonSearch. Filter search results by 'Material Type-Book Chapter.:
Try a keyword search:
To find additional books on any topic, search using 'Advanced Keyword searching'.

Electronic Books

Search in various electronic book collections about topic related to your topic of your research or information need.

Skillport from Skillsoft Books This link opens in a new window
Skillport®is a web-based Learning Management System (LMS) that provides access to content covering IT & digital skills, business and finance, and leadership development applied to various disciplines. Content types include: articles, eBooks and audiobooks, book summaries, case studies, certification materials, electronic handbooks and how-to books, instructional videos, and live events. Keywords: accounting, business, certification, compliance, digital, engineering, entrepreneurship, finance, government, human resources, IT, information technology, leadership, management, technology, well-being, books24x7
Create a profile using your Drexel email address to set preferences, enable notifications, create a personal learning plan, and view bookmarks, book notes, and downloaded book chapters. Each user is entitled to 15 chapter downloads every 90 days.
Ebrary [ProQuest Ebook Central] This link opens in a new window
Ebrary is now part of ProQuest Ebook Central. Ebook Central offers over 100,000 ebooks from scholarly sources, including University Presses and other top publishers.
Knovel Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Engineering decision-support solution enabling students to solve problems faster. Its powerful search and interactive analytical tools help students find answers to technical questions through best practice insights, validated equations, and materials and property data from various providers.

Electronic Reference

Heat Exchanger Design Handbook (HEDH) Multimedia Edition This link opens in a new window
The Multimedia Edition of Heat Exchanger Design Handbook (HEDH), the standard reference source for heat transfer and heat exchanger design.
THERMOPEDIA This link opens in a new window
Based on an updated version of the International Encyclopedia of Heat and Mass Transfer, the entirely revised online version of THERMOPEDIA covers a wide range of fundamental topics including thermodynamics and physical properties, fluid dynamics, heat transfer, mass transfer, and basic equations and their methods of solution. Details of industrial processes and plants and of equipment involving fluid mechanics and heat transfer are also presented.
Browsing using the visual and interactive navigation through a semantic map is also available. The extensive coverage is appropriate for practitioners in general engineering (chemical, civil, mechanical, industrial), chemical process design and operation, power generation (conventional and nuclear) and energy use and conservation.

Heat Exchanger Design Handbook - Guide
Searching tips

History of Engineering

AccessScience

History of Science and HIST 280-281-282

History -- History of Technology and HIST 285

IEEE Global History Network

Finding Articles

Try DragonSearch to find peer reviewed research articles from scholarly journals.

Use relevant research keywords related to your topic.
For example, type ‘Knitted Electronic Circuits' and click on Search.
Refine your search results by selecting options such as 'peer review' and 'Articles and more'.
Explore your results, find and access papers you need.

Electronic Databases

Use databases below to find scholarly journal articles about the topic of your research project.

AccessScience
High-quality reference material that covers all major scientific disciplines with access to primary research material, videos, exclusive animations and more.

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Find journals published by Annual Reviews.
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Engineering Village is a search interface for Compendex, Inspec, Chemical Business NewsBase (CBNB), and Knovel databases. It provides access to articles from scientific journals and conference proceedings, access to electronic books through Knovel database, offers support for varying engineering research initiatives, and helps discover engineering-related jobs.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than four-million full text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, biomedical engineering, computer science and electronics.
ProQuest One Academic This link opens in a new window
Proquest One Academic is a great place to start when researching a topic. The database offers full text access to thousands of academic journals, books, dissertations, newspapers, and videos from across all disciplines.

ScienceDirect
Full-text scientific database offering journal articles from nearly 2,500 journals.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Search scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Web of Science is a terrific place to begin for research in the sciences. Also includes citation analysis tools.
https://www-webofscience-com.ezproxy2.library.drexel.edu/wos/woscc/basic-search

Patents

United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)
The USPTO offers web access to bibliographic and full-text patent databases. These databases provide full-text of patents from 1976 to the present and full page images from 1790 to the present.

See What is a Patent?
See Anatomy of a U.S. patent

See Patent Searching Tips.
See 'What is Intellectual Property?' in Frequently Asked Questions for Inventors
See 'Manual of Patent Classification'

Fresh Patents
Provides access to the latest published US patent applications each week BEFORE the USPTO decision to
grant/deny.

pat2pdf.org
Given a patent number, pat2pdf.org will return a free, pdf formated version of the patent.

The Google Patent Search covers the entire collection of patents made available by the USPTO—from patents issued in the 1790s to present.

Engineering Standards

Engineering Standards:

See
- Engineering Standards

See aso:

IEEE Standards:

IEEE Xplore - Click on Standards
With an active portfolio of nearly 1,300 standards and projects under development, IEEE is a leading developer of industry standards in a broad range of technologies.

Defense and federal specifications and standards

ASSIST Quick Search

Searching for standards from other organizations such as ISO or SAE.

Find standard number and the title for each standard you need from the other organizations.

ANSI Store - Search for ISO, IEC and other standards
Techstreet

MAD CAD

MAD CAD
Mad Cad is a database with access to cross-referenced collections of building, electrical, mechanical, plumbing, fire, and maintenance codes from BOCA, SBCCI, ICBO, ICC, and NFPA. Some ASHRAE standards are also available.

To obtain any other standards, or if you have any other questions, please contact Jay Bhatt, Liaison Librarian for Engineering, Hagerty Library room 127, Phone: 215-895-1873. Email: bhattjj@drexel.edu

Technical Reports

What is a technical report? A technical report is a document that describes the process, progress, or results of technical or scientific research, or the state of a technical or scientific research problem.

Tutorials

Catalogs and components

OEMSecrets - compare pricing and inventory from 100+ electronic component distributors
Globalspec: Engineering Search engine - Engineering 360 Products and Services
Sensors, Transducers and Detectors
Electrical and electronic Components