PubMed is a database created by the National Library of Medicine to facilitate searching the biomedical literature. The MEDLINE databases found within PubMed contains journals that have been reviewed by a panel of experts for quality. PubMed also contains PMC, which contains publicly accessible literature that have not necessarily gone through the same review process.
The Cochrane Library consists of a collection of regularly updated evidence-based health care databases. The collection is designed to provide information and evidence to support health care decision-making. It includes the Cochrane database of systematic reviews, and databases of clinical trials, and non-Cochrane systematic reviews.
Covers literature on nursing and allied topics. Includes scholarly journals, trade journals, magazines, dissertations, books and reports
Scopus is Elsevier's abstract and citation database launched in 2004. Scopus covers more than 36,000 titles from over 11,000 publishers, nearly all of which are peer-reviewed journals in top-level subject fields: life sciences, social sciences, physical sciences, and health sciences. It covers three types of sources: book series, journals, and trade journals. All journals covered in the Scopus database, regardless of who they are published under, are reviewed each year to ensure high quality standards are maintained. Searches in Scopus also incorporate searches of patent databases. Scopus gives four types of quality measure for each title; those are h-Index, CiteScore, SJR (SCImago Journal Rank) and SNIP (Source Normalized Impact per Paper).
Evaluate Web-based Health Information (Module)
From the National Library of Medicine
PubMed Fundamentals (4:25)
Explore the core skills of working with PubMed: searching, filtering, formatting and exporting citations, and accessing the full text of articles.
Use the arrows to see the rest of the videos
PubMed Advanced (5:43)
Explore the advanced techniques of working with PubMed: using medical subject headings (MeSH), combining MeSH terms, and field searching in the advanced screen.
PubMed Clinical Queries (4:27)
Explore the PubMed Clinical Queries tool, including the Clinical Study and Systematic Review sections, how to filter search results that come from these sections, and how to view your search strategy to create a search table.
CINAHL Database Introduction (5:16)
Learn how to perform a basic search, use limiters to focus your results, and export and save citations in CINAHL, one of the most important databases in nursing, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and other health sciences disciplines.
CINAHL Special Features (3:38)
This tutorial reviews special features available in CINAHL: Creating an account and signing in, save options for searches and individual items, creating an alert, and attaching a note to an item.
CINAHL Keyword Searching (3:59)
This video demonstrates how to combine keyword searches and email citations for relevant results.
CINAHL Subject Headings, Part 1 (3:49)
This tutorial focuses on finding information in CINAHL using subject headings.
CINAHL Subject Headings, Part Two (4:11)
This tutorial continues finding information in CINAHL using subject headings.
Evidence-Based Practice Searching: Worksheet and Applying PICO Format (2:18)
This tutorial covers the evidence-based practice search assignment.
Evidence-Based Practice Searching: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (5:53)
This tutorial covers the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.
Evidence-Based Practice Searching: CINAHL Using EBP Filters (7:00)
This tutorial uses a clinical question to demonstrate features in CINAHL.
Evidence-Based Practice Searching: PsycINFO (12:20)
This tutorial uses PsycINFO to help research a PICO question.
Evidence-Based Practice Searching: DynaMed (4:18)
This tutorial explores the point-of-care tool, DynaMed.
Clinical Key is a medical search engine, which provides quick access to full-text medical and surgical resources. Includes access to full text journals & reference books, ebooks, videos, drug monographs, drug class overviews, calculators, patient education, and practice guidelines.
A searchable collection of ebooks in medicine and other health sciences, including Stedman's Medical Dictionary. Also offers image and media collections, clinical calculators and converters, evidence alerts, and more.
BrowZine provides a platform for storing and reading journal articles on your phone or tablet. Put your favorite journals on a "shelf" for easy access, set up alerts for new issues, download full text for reading, and send articles to EndNote.
Browzine can be used as either an app on your mobile device (phone, tablet, etc.) or a website, with syncing between them.
Clinical Key is a medical search engine, which provides quick access to full-text medical and surgical resources. Includes access to full text journals & reference books, ebooks, videos, drug monographs, drug class overviews, calculators, patient education, and practice guidelines.
A searchable collection of ebooks in medicine and other health sciences, including Stedman's Medical Dictionary. Also offers image and media collections, clinical calculators and converters, evidence alerts, and more.
