LibGuides: Basic MBA resources: Industry Research

Industry overviews

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive U.S. industry reports and related content for 16 NAICS sectors, 700 NAICS industries and many specialized industries at the national level, state-level industry reports for states contributing most to the U.S. economy (includes reports for top-contributing industries in the state), and state economic profiles. Content includes interactive, searchable, and downloadable industry reports featuring industry performance and outlook, supply chains, product and market characteristics and segmentation, SWOT analysis, disruptive technology analysis, competitive landscape, major companies, operating conditions, and key statistics including industry financial ratios from RMA Annual Statement Studies, as well as condensed iExpert Summary Reports SWOT analyses and call preparation questions, Business Environment Profiles identifying key external factors determining industry performance, and Industry Insider section containing spotlight reports, featured articles, and more. Interactive data, charts, and tables are downloadable in various formats. Drexel subscribes to U.S. content only.
Keywords: company, five forces, industry, market research, state, SWOT

The IBISWorld interface was updated in December 2019. These tutorials and information will help you navigate the new interface:

Industry Glossary
Product Tutorials
Industry Research Reports
- SWOT Analysis section (located in the "Industry at a Glance" area of the industry report)
- Technology & Systems section (located in the "Operating Conditions" area of the industry report)
iExpert Summary Reports
Business Environment Profiles
Downloadable Formats and Options

Using IBISWorld for Porter's Five Forces Analysis

Harvard University professor Michael E. Porter developed the widely-used Five Forces framework to determine profitability and intensity of competition within an industry. IBISWorld industry reports are closely aligned with this framework. This IBISWorld article explains how to use IBISWorld reports to perform a Five Forces analysis.

Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Data and information about active and inactive public and private U.S. and international companies, company and industry news, and more. In addition to profiles containing descriptive and financial details about active and inactive companies, Mergent Intellect features consumer data, Nielsen demographic and U.S. Census data, industry reports (U.S., Canada, global), and key business ratios. Includes D&B Million Dollar Database, Hoover's Online, and Mergent Key Business Ratios on the Web
Keywords: company, demographic, finance, industry, job

Mergent Intellect includes access to First Research U.S. Industry Profiles (more than 500 U.S. Industry Profiles covering 1,000 industry segments), First Research Canadian Industry Profiles, Global Industry Profiles, and Industry Prospector, which allows you to select and rank industries based on 34 financial metrics, 2 human resources metrics, 7 industry drivers, forecasted growth, and international trade growth and dollars.

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Data and information about U.S. and international public and private companies (including thousands of inactive U.S. and international public companies), economic research, country profiles, and international industry analysis. Content includes: basic company, customer, competitor, and product information, executive profiles, financial statements (up to 35 years), financial ratios, stock prices, SEC filings, Investext current and historical broker research reports, supply chain information, Mergent Industry Reports for key industries covering North America, Asia/Pacific, Europe and Latin America by country and region (2003 to present), and the ability to perform a mock merger and acquisition analysis. Mergent Bond Viewer is also accessible from the Bond Search tab.Keywords: financial analysis, financial analyst, broker, company, country, finance, industry, supply chain

Mergent Online includes:

-Mergent Industry Reports that provide in-depth analysis of key industries covering North America, Asia/Pacific, Europe and Latin America by country and region (2003 to present).

-Additional industry reports from various contributors, accessible from the Investext tab in Mergent Online

Mergent Archives This link opens in a new window
Collections of historical corporate and industry-related documents. Drexel subscribes to: Moody's/Mergent Corporate Manuals (1909-present), Corporate Annual Reports (USA, Canada, and International; 1844-present), Global Industry Profiles (from First Research, covering more than 1,000 top industry segments; 2003-present), Equity Reports (from Ford Equity Research, 2011-present), Dun & Bradstreet Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios Print Archive (covering more than 800 lines of business; 1979-present), Hoover's Handbooks (American Business, Emerging Companies, MasterList of U.S. Companies, Private Companies, World Business; early 1990s-present), and the SEC Historical Collection (1970-1994).
Keywords: broker, company, finance, financial analysis, financial analyst, industry

Mergent Archives also includes First Research Global Industry Profiles (2003 to present).

Passport This link opens in a new window
Provides international data on various consumer product industries (including food, beverage, luxury goods, consumer electronics, and personal accessories) and service industries including consumer finance, consumer foodservice, retail, and travel.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Largest available data aggregator for statistics, offering more than one million statistics and facts from more than 18,000 sources within the United States and internationally. Statistics, statistical dossiers, reports, surveys, and market studies are categorized into industries, broad topics, countries, and consumer, digital, and mobility markets. Global Consumer Survey covers more than 50 industries, more than 5,000 international brands, and additional topics from a global perspective. Business Plan Export aids in market modeling, business case development, and profit and loss statement creation.
Gartner Core Research Library This link opens in a new window
Use when researching information technology within or across industries. Includes hype cycles, magic quadrants, reports, and other insights from Gartner, the world's leading information technology research and advisory company.
Access provided by Drexel Technology Services. Also accessible from the CAMPUS+COMMUNITY tab, Technology Services channel of DrexelOne.
Keywords: communication, digital, IT, information, mobile, technology

Industry Information within Literature Databases

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
To access industry profiles and reports within Business Source Complete:
-use the "NAICS/Industry Code" search field [OR type the industry keyword or six-digit NAICS code into the general search box and change the search field to "IC NAICS Code or Description"]
Then:
-Scroll down the search page to the "Limit your results" section:
-check the "Full Text" box
-in the "Publication Type" menu, select "Industry Profile"
-on the results page, use the menu on the left side of the page to select desired Publication Date range and Geography (when applicable)
ABI/INFORM Collection (formerly ABI Complete) This link opens in a new window
To access industry information within ABI/INFORM Collection:
-click the "Advanced Search" link in the menu
-use the "NAICS Code" or "Classification Code" field to enter/search for the desired industry
-in the "Document type" menu, select "Industry Report" then click the Search button
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
To access industry information within ProQuest Central:
-click the "Advanced Search" link in the menu
-enter keywords in the search box
-in the "Document type" menu, select "Industry Report" then click the Search button
Factiva This link opens in a new window
To access industry information within Factiva:
Hover over the "Companies/Markets" tab on the top of the screen and select "Industry." Click on an industry name to view an Industry Snapshot featuring targeted news, industry reports, charts, analysis and financial data.

Also, perform the following search in Factiva to retrieve additional industry reports, analyses, and forecasts:
-Date: select desired publication date range
-Source: search for and select "Business Monitor International-All sources" and "Mergent Industry Reports"
-Industry: select desired industry
-Region: select desired geographic region
-click the Search button