LibGuides: Nursing: Home

College of Nursing and Health Professions:

College of Nursing & Health Professions Academic Programs

Cite and keep track of sources

Tutorials

Avoiding plagiarism
Guide; Purdue University
Fake News: Source Evaluation
Use the resources on this page to evaluate the information you come into contact with every day.
SIFT: An approach for evaluating web content
Video from Wayne State University Libraries
PubMed
Learn to use PubMed from this brief video tutorial
CINAHL
Learn to use CINAHL from this series of brief video tutorials
Evidence-based practice database videos
Presentation and videos demonstrating EBP searching in Cochrane, CINAHL, Dynamed and PsycINFO. This series also includes a presentation on PICO. A presentation demonstrating PubMed Clinical Queries is listed separately
PubMed Clinical Queries
A PubMed search tool designed to retrieve targeted results to clinical questions.

Related Resources

Health Sciences Resources
by Kathleen Turner Last Updated Apr 15, 2024 3586 views this year
Evidence-Based Practice
by Janice Masud-Paul Last Updated Apr 15, 2024 191 views this year

Suggested Databases

Bates' visual guide to physical examination This link opens in a new window
Videos of physical examination techniques for medical, nursing, and health sciences students.
Bates Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. The site features more than 8 hours of video content.
CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Literature on nursing, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Content includes fulltext access to more than 600 journals and citations for journal articles, book chapters, dissertations and selected conference proceedings.
Keywords: nurse, biomedicine, integrative medicine, nutrition, art therapy, healthcare, health policy, rehabilitation, wellness
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
Covers literature on nursing and allied topics. Includes scholarly journals, trade journals, magazines, dissertations, books and reports
Keywords: physical therapy, nutrition, kinesiology
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Search scholarly, peer-reviewed literature in the biomedical sciences.
PubMed is a database created by the National Library of Medicine to facilitate searching the biomedical literature. The MEDLINE databases found within PubMed contains journals that have been reviewed by a panel of experts for quality. PubMed also contains PMC, which contains publicly accessible literature that have not necessarily gone through the same review process.
Keywords: biomedical sciences, medicine, basic science, molecular biology, genetics, genomics, immunology, kinesiology, neurosciences, neurobiology, nutrition, anatomy, health
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Specialized literature in health sciences, including clinical research and healthcare. It includes the Cochrane database of systematic reviews, and databases of clinical trials, and non-Cochrane systematic reviews.
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Cochrane Reviews are peer-reviewed systematic reviews that summarize and assess current research for clinical treatment decisions.
Keywords: systematic review, evidence-based medicine
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Search scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Web of Science is a terrific place to begin for research in the sciences. Also includes citation analysis tools.
https://www-webofscience-com.ezproxy2.library.drexel.edu/wos/woscc/basic-search