LibGuides: Communications: Home

Find Articles

Start with searching for articles in DragonSearch then try these more specialized resources.

ComAbstracts This link opens in a new window
ComAbstracts features indexing and abstracting for journals and books from the Communication field.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete features indexing and full text coverage of journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study. This is the primary database for the field.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts indexes and abstracts the literature in socology (and related disciplines) from an international selection of journals, serials, conference papers, books, and dissertations.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Search scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Web of Science is a terrific place to begin for research in the sciences. Also includes citation analysis tools.
https://www-webofscience-com.ezproxy2.library.drexel.edu/wos/woscc/basic-search

SAGE Research Methods Online with Videos This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive library of research methods library with books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos across the social sciences.
The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research.

New York Times 1980 - Present This link opens in a new window
Full text of the New York Times from 1980 to present (no images). Full text of New York Times Magazine and New York Time Book Review from 1997 to present.
Philadelphia Inquirer 1983 - Present This link opens in a new window
Complete full-text content of local and regional news from 1983-present, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Please note, photos and some blog content for the Inquirer may not be available through this service
Previously available through Newsbank, now provided through Proquest Newspapers.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times 1851 - 3 years Ago This link opens in a new window
Search historical New York Times content from 1851 to 3 years ago. Articles, editorials, cartoons, and even advertisements are fully searchable.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Washington Post 1877-2000 This link opens in a new window
Includes all the articles published since the first issue of the paper in 1877 through 2001. Provides full text and full image articles with digital reproductions of every page, every article and every issue in PDF format. In addition to news stories, includes editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements.

Roper Center Public Opinion Archives (with iPOLL) This link opens in a new window
Provided by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research, Roper iPoll is the largest collection of poll data anywhere—from 1935 to present. Contains data from U.S. and international polling firms with broad topical coverage of opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, and more. International and U.S. datasets available for immediate download.
To run cross-tabulations without statistical programs, download datasets and documentation, or download up to 500 iPoll questions at once, you must create an account using your Drexel email address.