Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Drexel Library

University Archives Web Archiving Program

This guide is for the Drexel Archive's Archive-It web archiving program.

What is the Internet Archive?

The Internet Archive

Wayback Machine

Preservation and Access

Archived websites are freely accessible via the DUA’s Archive-It page, where website-level metadata is added by DUA staff to allow browsing and searches. Archived websites are available in the Wayback Machine approximately 24 hours after a crawl, but full-text searching may take as long as one week to finish fully processing.

All archived sites are clearly labeled as such to distinguish them from the live site. All archived sites appear with a header from wayback.archive-it.org which lists the date and time the website was captured. You can also see the capture date and time listed in the Wayback URL. For example, https://wayback.archive-it.org/1674/20211214001216/https://drexel.edu/ was captured at 00:12:16 (12:12am) on12/14/2021.

When you follow a link on an archived webpage, it may take you to an archived site from another capture date, such as clicking "The Drexel Difference" from the above link will direct you to https://wayback.archive-it.org/1674/20211119043729/https://drexel.edu/difference/overview/ which was captured at 04:37:29 (4:37am) on 11/19/2021. Archive-It will display the most recent capture of a webpage which may lead you to older archived websites.