Archival Studies: Special Topics

Associations:
Professional and trade associations offer unique insider perspectives on the world of their membership with industry reports and member surveys you will not find elsewhere. Here is a representative list:

• Academy of Certified Archivists (ACA) Resources for practicing archivists.

• Association of Canadian Archivists (ACA)

• Association of Moving Image Archivists (AMIA) For those concerned with the collection, preservation, exhibition and use of moving image materials.

• National Association of Government Archives and Record Administrators (NAGARA) Organization of government archives and records information professionals.

• Society of Archivists - UK

• Society of American Archivists (SAA) Includes contact information for regional associations. Manages the Archives and Archivists Listserv

• Local Organizations: Delaware Valley Archivists Group (DVAG) Mid-Atlantic Regional Archives Conference (MARAC)

• Drexel University Archives - includes our collection of local historic photos reflecting campus life. Great tipsheet.

• Multilingual Inventory of Cultural Heritage in Europe (MICHAEL) - a cultural portal to digital collections from Europe's museums, libraries and archives. Currently accesses content from 18 European countries.

• National Archives and Records Administration - our national archives.

• New York Public Library Archives and Manuscripts - great special collections.

• Philadelphia City Archives - just down the street from the Drexel University City Campus, and open to the public.

Resources:

•  ArchivesSpace is the open source archives information management application for managing and providing web access to archives, manuscripts and digital objects and supplants the Archivists Tool-kit which is no longer being developed.

• National Security Archives An award-winning independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University, the Archive collects and publishes declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act and serves as a repository of government records on a wide range of topics pertaining to the national security, foreign, intelligence, and economic policies of the United States.

• Northeast Document Conservation Center Contains a good amount of resources in the area of preservation

Blogs:

• ArchivesBlogs a syndicated collection of blogs by and for archivists
• ArchivesNext attempts to identify what might be “next” for archival institutions
• The Anarchivist An archivist considers the profession of archives
• The SAA Students Page with content for students of archival science
• The National Archives' page of NARA blogs.