It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sport Management: Sport Management Literature
Recommended resources for sport management research
From Oxford University Press, features in-depth, peer-reviewed summaries on sport topics. Experts provide subject overviews that readers can understand in 30 minutes or less. This sport content is free during a preview period. Replace the term in the "Refine terms" field to search for other sport-related content available at no charge.
From the National Sports Law Institute at Marquette University Law School.
"The National Sports Law Institute's Sports Law Research Website is a collection of websites intended to provide links to useful information for sports lawyers, sports law students and faculty, sports journalists and sports industry professionals."
Covers the topics of sports, physical fitness, sports medicine, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport & exercise psychology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism, occupational health & therapy, public health and more, on an international scale. Content includes academic journal, magazine, and trade publication articles, books, conference proceedings, research papers, and reports.
Topics include: exercise, physical fitness, health and physical education, motor learning, recreation, dance, kinesiology, standardized fitness tests, sports law, sports medicine, sports equipment, sports business and marketing, coaching, training and officiating, sport psychology and sociology, and physical therapy. Content includes full text or abstracts from: scholarly and trade literature, magazines, dissertations, conference proceedings, reports, government publications, patents, and more.
"Sports Management" is a subject term. Or, search using a combination of relevant keywords.
The ABI/INFORM Collection is comprised of ABI/INFORM Dateline (local and regional business publications), ABI/INFORM Global (in-depth coverage from thousands of publications), and ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry (in-depth coverage of companies, products, executives, trends and other topics). Keywords: accounting, banking, company, country, economy, finance, industry, international, marketing, management, operations, policy
Provides access to sources of local, regional, national, and international news, general insight, selected financial information and profiles for publicly traded U.S. and international companies, industry reports, quotes for financial instruments, and stock market data. News content types include: newspapers, magazines, media transcripts, wire services, transcripts, images, blogs, and websites.
Complete full-text content of local and regional news from 1983-present, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Please note, photos and some blog content for the Inquirer may not be available through this service
Previously available through Newsbank, now provided through Proquest Newspapers.
Sports in Higher Education
In addition to many of the literature resources mentioned above, The Chronicle of Higher Education includes coverage of athletics in higher education. For the most robust content including news, blogs, and data in addition to issues of The Chronicle of Higher Education, access The Chronicle through Drexel University Libraries' academic site license below. Then, navigate to Sections -- News -- Athletics.
In addition to recent and archived issues of The Chronicle of Higher Education, a weekly news and information publication, this online access contains daily updates on a variety of topics of interest in higher education. Includes advice, blogs, news, opinion pieces, videos, jobs, and contents of the annual Almanac of Higher Education.
This site license offers unlimited user seats for the Drexel University community.
Of particular interest is the Chronicle's November 2015 interactive content titled "The $10-Billion Sports Tab: How Colleges are Funding the Athletics Arms Race." This item is the result of research undertaken by The Chronicle of Higher Education and The Huffington Post. The included Interactive Table reflects how much Division I colleges depend on student fees and other subsidies for athletics. Filter by year (2010-2014), state, or conference, or click on an institution's name to view funding details or download NCAA financial reports. There is also an option to download all data into a CSV file.
Strategic Management in Sport by Danny O'Brien; Ben Corbett; Lisa Gowthorp; Lesley FerkinsWhat role can strategic thinking play in contemporary sport management? It can be the difference between leading or languishing ¿ it¿s that important! Covering sport at all levels, from community-based sport to elite sport, this is the first textbook to focus on strategic management in a sport context. The book introduces the fundamentals of strategic planning, environmental analyses, strategic direction and leadership, strategy formulation and selection, implementation, strategic control, and change management. Designed to encourage students to develop a strategic mindset, as well as critical thinking and problem-solving skills, the book unpacks key concepts such as leadership, governance, organizational change and the multiple layers of strategy in sport. Full of real-world case studies from diverse, international sport business environments, and useful pedagogical features such as review questions and guides to online resources, this is an essential text for any sport management course and an invaluable resource for sport development, recreation management or events management courses.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2018-08-22
The Global Sport Economy: Contemporary Issues by Michel Desbordes (Editor); Pascal Aymar (Editor); Christopher Hautbois (Editor)This book examines the global sports ecosystem through three of its central pillars: Sport marketing, sports equipment manufacture and sales, and sport governance and organization. By focusing on these three themes, the book presents a nuanced and multi-faceted view of how the global sports economy works and what its main strategic challenges and opportunities are. Offering a balance between theory and practice, and adopting an international perspective with case studies and examples from the Americas, Europe and Asia, the book addresses key issues such as corporate social responsibility, the impact of culture on international sport business, innovation and entrepreneurship, and consumer behaviour. The Global Sport Economyis fascinating reading for students, researchers and practitioners with an interest in sport business and management, sport marketing, the sporting goods industry and distribution and sport governance.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2019-05-30
Sport Branding Insights by Constantino Stavros; Aaron C. T. SmithIn a sporting world dominated by media and money, an understanding of sport branding is an essential skill for any sport manager. Success means being able to 'brand' - and therefore differentiate - a sport club, player, code, or event in a highly competitive entertainment market. For anyone seeking to understand or manage sport, this book offers an immediate and salient insight into the complex and dynamic process of creating a powerful sport brand. The book explains how a sport brand goes beyond just an identifying badge, reinforced by a name or a logo that helps sport consumers recognise a product or an organisation. It reveals how a brand becomes linked with consumers' opinions and perceptions of a sport product and the organisation that owns it. Readers will learn how to create a powerful brand that has both recognition in the market and strong associated imagery, by imbuing it with a spirit of the past through appeals to tradition, by endowing it with human qualities of emotionality, thought, and volition, and through the use of characters, colours, texts, and symbols. It also provides a brief guide to the new domains of digital sport branding and social media. Concise, informative, and entertaining, this is an essential resource for anyone exploring or practising the business of sport.
A Free Library card is available at no cost to anyone who lives, works, pays taxes, or goes to school in the City of Philadelphia. In addition, anyone who lives in the state of Pennsylvania can obtain a Free Library card without charge.
Out-of-state residents can obtain a card by paying an annual fee of $50.00.
In-Person Reciprocal Borrowing
To establish in-person borrowing privileges at either University of Pennsylvania Libraries or participating PALCI On-Site Borrowing Libraries, you must first obtain a Reciprocal Borrowing Letter from the circulation desk at any Drexel University Libraries location. This letter should be presented, along with your current university ID card, to circulation desk staff at the library from which you would like to borrow materials.