LibGuides: Business Articles: Resources

How to Read a Journal Article

How to Read (and Understand) a Social Science Journal Article
From the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)

Reference material

Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Business and Management
From Oxford University Press, features in-depth, peer-reviewed summaries on business and management topics. Experts provide subject overviews that readers can understand in 30 minutes or less. Business and Management content is free during a preview period.

Association publications

Use the Associations Unlimited database to identify publications issued by associations within a particular field:

Citing business resources

Citing Databases in APA
This fantastic resource will help you cite non-traditional business resources such as Hoovers/Mergent, IBISWorld, and Mintel. It makes citing your business resources fast and easy! Created by Steve Cramer, business librarian at UNC-Greensboro.
Citing Online Business Resources using APA Style
This guide from Bentley University Library provides examples of how to cite business databases and web sites in APA style.
APA Guide for Business Students
This guide courtesy of the University of Saskatchewan provides guidance to business students citing sources in APA style. Includes examples of citations for company documents, market research reports, audio visual material, and websites.
APA Style Blog
The APA Style Blog is the official companion to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th Edition. Search the blog to locate sample citation formatting for electronic sources not detailed in the Manual.

This Drexel Library Guide covers various citation styles including APA:

Citation Style Manuals
by Kathleen Turner Last Updated Aug 26, 2024 913 views this year

EndNote is a citation management software developed by Thomson-Reuters and site licensed through Drexel University's IRT group. Learn more here:

EndNote Online
by Kathleen Turner Last Updated May 8, 2024 508 views this year

Academic business articles

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains materials covering all aspects of U.S. and international business and economics research. Content types include: scholarly and trade journal, magazine, and newspaper articles, working papers, conference materials, case studies, books, audio, video, company profiles, SWOT analyses, and company, country, industry, and market research reports.
ABI/INFORM Collection (formerly ABI Complete) This link opens in a new window
Covers U.S. and international business and economic conditions, trends, corporate strategies, management techniques, marketing, product development, and competitive information. Content types include: scholarly and trade journal, magazine, and newspaper articles, working papers, conference materials, case studies, books, audio, video, and company, country, industry, and market research reports. The ABI/INFORM Collection is comprised of ABI/INFORM Dateline (local and regional business publications), ABI/INFORM Global (in-depth coverage from thousands of publications), and ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry (in-depth coverage of companies, products, executives, trends and other topics).
Keywords: accounting, banking, company, country, economy, finance, industry, international, marketing, management, operations, policy
Gale OneFile: Business This link opens in a new window
Global coverage of business and business practices. Content includes articles from magazines, journals, newsletters, and newspapers plus newswires, reports, statistics, and a topic finder to identify keywords and discover connected topics.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is a multidisciplinary research database covering business, health and medical, social sciences, art and humanities, education, science and technology, religion, and other disciplines. Content includes full-text articles from scholarly journals, trade and professional publications, newspapers, and magazines plus dissertations, working papers, case studies, market research reports, and more.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
EconLit is the American Economic Association's electronic bibliography of literature pertaining to economics, covering accounting, demographics, consumer economics, economic theory, labor, modeling, monetary policy, and planning. Content types include: abstracts of articles from national and international economic journals, books, dissertations, essays, and working papers, plus full text articles and book reviews from the Journal of Economic Literature.
Materials are indexed by Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) classification and cover both economic theory and application. Use Findit@Drexel to link to full articles.
Keywords: accounting, demographics, economy, finance, industry, industrial organization, labor, law, macroeconomics, microeconomics, monetary policy, planning
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Recommended link to Google Scholar for Drexel users, as it provides verified links to full text items licensed for Drexel University use. Follow these instructions to set your Google Scholar settings for access to Drexel Full Text.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Search scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Web of Science is a terrific place to begin for research in the sciences. Also includes citation analysis tools.
https://www-webofscience-com.ezproxy2.library.drexel.edu/wos/woscc/basic-search

Trade articles

ABI/INFORM Collection (formerly ABI Complete) This link opens in a new window
Use the ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry database in this collection. ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry is a great place to discover trade and industry news. It contains over 3,000 publications including Hospital Business Week, R&D, Candy Industry, and Airline Industry Information.
Gale OneFile: Business This link opens in a new window
Global coverage of business and business practices. Content includes articles from magazines, journals, newsletters, and newspapers plus newswires, reports, statistics, and a topic finder to identify keywords and discover connected topics.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains materials covering all aspects of U.S. and international business and economics research. Content types include: scholarly and trade journal, magazine, and newspaper articles, working papers, conference materials, case studies, books, audio, video, company profiles, SWOT analyses, and company, country, industry, and market research reports.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is a multidisciplinary research database covering business, health and medical, social sciences, art and humanities, education, science and technology, religion, and other disciplines. Content includes full-text articles from scholarly journals, trade and professional publications, newspapers, and magazines plus dissertations, working papers, case studies, market research reports, and more.
Philadelphia Business Journal This link opens in a new window
Full text access to Philadelphia Business Journal, along with 44 regional Business Journals from around the United States. Content includes: articles, event notices, lists of companies and business decision-makers, job postings, videos, and other business resources including the annual "Book of Lists." Registration using Drexel email required, select Drexel University Business Journal Subscription #1. Keywords: Book of Lists, events, jobs, news, Philadelphia
American City Business Journals This link opens in a new window
Full text access to 44 regional Business Journals from around the United States. Content includes: articles, event notices, lists of companies and business decision-makers, job postings, videos, and other business resources including the annual "Book of Lists." Registration using drexel email required, select Drexel University Business Journal Subscription #1. Keywords: Book of Lists, events, jobs, news, business journal

News articles

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Provides access to sources of local, regional, national, and international news, general insight, selected financial information and profiles for publicly traded U.S. and international companies, industry reports, quotes for financial instruments, and stock market data. News content types include: newspapers, magazines, media transcripts, wire services, transcripts, images, blogs, and websites.

ABI/INFORM Collection (formerly ABI Complete) This link opens in a new window
Use the ABI/INFORM Dateline database in this collection. ABI/INFORM Dateline contains a host of regional business publications and news sources. It's a good database to search if you're researching a regional market or industry. Sample journals of interest to the Drexel community include: Philadelphia Business Journal, Northeast Pennsylvania Business Journal, and the Sacramento Business Journal.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains materials covering all aspects of U.S. and international business and economics research. Content types include: scholarly and trade journal, magazine, and newspaper articles, working papers, conference materials, case studies, books, audio, video, company profiles, SWOT analyses, and company, country, industry, and market research reports.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is a multidisciplinary research database covering business, health and medical, social sciences, art and humanities, education, science and technology, religion, and other disciplines. Content includes full-text articles from scholarly journals, trade and professional publications, newspapers, and magazines plus dissertations, working papers, case studies, market research reports, and more.
New York Times 1980 - Present This link opens in a new window
Full text of the New York Times from 1980 to present (no images). Full text of New York Times Magazine and New York Time Book Review from 1997 to present.
Philadelphia Inquirer 1983 - Present This link opens in a new window
Complete full-text content of local and regional news from 1983-present, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Please note, photos and some blog content for the Inquirer may not be available through this service
Previously available through Newsbank, now provided through Proquest Newspapers.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Full text (1990 to present, updated daily) for more than 100 regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. Content types include magazines, newspapers, newswires, radio and television news transcripts, and trade publications.
Keywords: news, region
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
The Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition in full text (no images) from January 1984 to present, with abstracts from January 1982.
Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Contains legal, news, and business-related subjects. Newspapers & legal materials are featured, including cases, statutes, and regulations of the U.S. government and the various state governments; includes the legal encyclopedia American Jurisprudence 2nd and American Law Reports; case law from 1789 to present; current statutes and regulations.
Keywords: government, legal, legislation, news

Other Libraries

Free Library of Philadelphia
A Free Library card is available at no cost to anyone who lives, works, pays taxes, or goes to school in the City of Philadelphia. In addition, anyone who lives in the state of Pennsylvania can obtain a Free Library card without charge.
more...less...
Out-of-state residents can obtain a card by paying an annual fee of $50.00.
In-Person Reciprocal Borrowing (Available to Faculty & Graduate Students)
To establish in-person borrowing privileges at either University of Pennsylvania Libraries or participating PALCI On-Site Borrowing Libraries, you must first obtain a Reciprocal Borrowing Letter from the circulation desk at any Drexel University Libraries location. This letter should be presented, along with your current university ID card, to circulation desk staff at the library from which you would like to borrow materials.