A Free Library card is available at no cost to anyone who lives, works, pays taxes, or goes to school in the City of Philadelphia. In addition, anyone who lives in the state of Pennsylvania can obtain a Free Library card without charge.
Out-of-state residents can obtain a card by paying an annual fee of $50.00.
In-Person Reciprocal Borrowing
To establish in-person borrowing privileges at either University of Pennsylvania Libraries or any participating PALCI On-Site Borrowing Libraries, you must first obtain a Reciprocal Borrowing Letter from the circulation desk at any Drexel University Libraries location. This letter should be presented, along with your current university ID card, to circulation desk staff at the library from which you would like to borrow materials.
Offers business, cultural, demographic, environmental, macroeconomic, and political information and analysis for for 192 countries. Content includes: articles, country and election profiles, images, intelligence briefings, maps, news, reports, and statistics.
Use the pull-down menu to choose your country, and download Country Review reports. Keywords: country, culture, demography, environment
Europa World Plus is the online version of the Europa World Year Book and the nine-volume Europa Regional Surveys of the World series. Content includes political and economic information and statistics for more than 250 countries and territories plus directories of organizations and people.
Select a country, territory, or region or use the "Comparative Statistics" section to compare tables and charts of international statistics. Keywords: country, macroeconomics
Country-level resource covering general and business culture, customers, education, facts, history, language, transportation, travel, and more. Content consists of 175 country travel guides, each searchable and covering nearly 120 topics.
From the Mergent Intellect database landing page, click on First Research. On the Access First Research page, provide your Drexel email address and click the Submit button. On the subsequent page, navigate to the First Research Products area in the page footer and click on Country Profiles. Select your country of interest to view risk trends, headline news, key facts, and a country overview.
U.S. state and Canadian Province profiles are also accessible from the First Research Products area in the page footer.
Includes D&B Million Dollar Database, Hoover's Online, and Mergent Key Business Ratios on the Web Keywords: company, demographic, finance, industry, job
-Click the Country Insight tab to access Mergent Country Profiles and Dun & Bradstreet Country Insight Reports
-To access Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) country reports: select the Investext tab, select Contributor: Economist Intelligence Unit, select country of interest
-Use the Economies tab and Search Tree to search by popular economic indicators by country, access country reports, and perform country comparisons
-Explore interactive Dashboards to understand high-level trends
-Use the Analytics tab to access tools for analyzing millions of statistics from the database. Tools include an economic barometer, macroeconomic scenario forecast, consumer spending by income bands, and future demographics model.
A collection of comprehensive country profiles chronicling each nation's political history, government, leadership, elections, and political parties that includes profiles of intergovernmental organizations, development banks, and the agencies and specialized bodies of the United Nations.
From the Statista database landing page, you have access to two tools for country reports:
1) Country Reports include key figures on economy, consumers, technology and politics with a special focus on economy and consumers. Hover over Reports, then select Country Reports, then Show More Country Reports. Select country of interest
2) Country Outlook provides current key figures and forecasts on the economic and social development of a country. Hover over Expert Tools, then select Country Outlook. Select country of interest. Select Segment (Economy, Digital Economy, Labor Force, Society, Business Environment, or Public Sector).
Once in ABI/INFORM, click Browse in the top menu. On the subsequent Browse Featured Content page, scroll down to the Country Reports section and explore the various report series to locate reports about the desired country. Use Advanced Search in ABI/INFORM to find additional country reports.
The ABI/INFORM Collection is comprised of ABI/INFORM Dateline (local and regional business publications), ABI/INFORM Global (in-depth coverage from thousands of publications), and ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry (in-depth coverage of companies, products, executives, trends and other topics). Keywords: accounting, banking, company, country, economy, finance, industry, international, marketing, management, operations, policy
Click on Business Searching Interface, then click Market Research Reports, then Browse by Type: Country Reports. Click the Country tab and then Browse for or select desired country from the list to view reports about that country. Publishers include: Business Monitor International, IHS Markit Ltd., Marketline, Organisation for Economic Cooperation & Development (OECD), and The PRS Group, Inc. (publisher of Political Risk Yearbooks).
Provides access to sources of local, regional, national, and international news. On the Factiva search page, select the following:
-in the Source area, adjust the Select Source Category field to: By Type.
-Select the following Type from the list: Economics and Country Analysis
-select Date range, Region (geographic), and enter Search terms as desired
-click the Search button
User-built database of cross-cultural information about 200+ countries. The information is submitted by natives, residents, or former residents of the featured countries. Each guide includes basic cultural tips and information regarding education or doing business in the country.
This Library of Congress Collection contains electronic versions of 80 books previously published in print as part of the Country Studies Series by the Federal Research Division. These books provide "description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of select countries throughout the world."
This collection from the Ivy Plus Libraries aims to preserve country statistical office and central bank websites that often contain ephemeral statistical data on topics such as economic conditions, population, education, housing, environmental conditions, transportation, health, social services, vital statistics, and more.
The key tables by country statistical profiles include a wide range of indicators on economy, education, energy, environment, foreign aid, health, information and communication, labor, migration, research and development, trade, and society. Historical data refer to the latest eight time periods.
Provides access to major United Nations statistical databases containing over 60 million data points and covering agriculture, crime, education, employment, energy, environment, health, HIV/AIDS, human development, industry, information and communication technology, national accounts, population, refugees, tourism, trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators. Content includes country profiles, databases, statistical tables, and glossaries; statistical coverage varies by measure, but may go back to 1950.
Human Development Reports have been released most years since 1990 and have explored different themes through the human development approach. Site provides access to the reports, data, country profiles featuring human development indicators, and more.
The demographic estimates and projections found in the International Data Base are the result of over 30 years of analysis of census, survey, vital statistics, and other data by Census Bureau demographers.
WDI from The World Bank contains more than 1,400 development indicators and time series data for more than 220 economies, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. Content includes national, regional, and global estimates available as pre-defined or customizable tables, dashboards, annual publications, and country and indicator pages, with some data series extending back to 1960.
Keywords: country, economy, environment, global, market, people, population, poverty, state
The World Factbook from the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) provides information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Reference tabs include: maps of the major world regions, Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map. Keywords: Country, Maps, Government, International, Global, Political