Engineering Standards
ASME Standards & Certification FAQ
A standard can be defined as a set of technical definitions and guidelines, “how to” instructions for designers, manufacturers, and users. Standards promote safety, reliability, productivity, and efficiency in almost every industry that relies on engineering components or equipment. Standards can run from a few paragraphs to hundreds of pages, and are written by experts with knowledge and expertise in a particular field who sit on many committees.
ASTM Standards Digital Library
ASTM Compass® is the platform that delivers ASTM standards and digital library content. Compass givefirsts you access to a vast collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information, including the ASTM journals and symposia papers (also known as Standard Technical Publications). ASTM Compass publications cover a broad range of engineering disciplines including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, energy, and solar engineering. ASTM Digital Library contains 1,700+ books, 51,000+ papers, chapters and articles. ASTM compass also provide tools including Compass Points, Version Comparison, sharing function to pass on knowledge, translated standards and more.
- ASTM Compass
- ASTM Book of Standards
- Click on ASTM Compass first
- Research Reports
The backbone of many ASTM standard test methods is a comprehensive laboratory study that supports the Precision and Bias statement. Research Reports can contain a list of participating laboratories, description of samples, a copy of the laboratory instructions, the equipment/apparatus used, a copy of the raw data, a statistical summary, and a copy of the precision and bias statement.
- Related Materials
Related Materials are documents that the ASTM technical committees deem necessary for inclusion with ASTM standards.
- ASTM Journals
Journals include: Advances in Civil Engineering Materials, Cement, Concrete and Aggregates, Geotechnical Testing Journal, Journal of ASTM International, Smart and Sustainable Manufacturing Systems (SSMS), Technology & Research, Journal of Forensic Sciences, Journal of Testing and Evaluation, and Materials Performance and Characterization
- Selected Technical Publications and Proceedings
The essential engineering collection contains over 29,000 papers -- all of them peer reviewed. All symposia papers are published in book format (known as STPs or Selected Technical Papers). You can download individual papers from any book or simply download the entire book itself.
- Manuals/Monographs
Manuals are practical books offering applied information on ASTM standards, including tips and practical advice. Monographs are resource documents covering highly technical topics for advanced-level specialists, including very speciļ¬c aspects of a larger topic and valuable theory in focused areas.
- Data Series
The ASTM Data Series cover specific applications, contain compiled data, and usually include explanatory text.
- ASTM Medical Device Standards and Implant Standards and Textile Standards
ASTM's medical device and implant standards are instrumental in specifying and evaluating the design and performance requirements of a number of biomedical materials, tools, and equipments. These apparatuses are used in surgical procedures that involve the placement of such devices to specified parts and structures of the body (both humans and animals) for the purpose of enhancement or as an aid in a disability. These medical device and implant standards allow material and product manufacturers, medical laboratories, and other concerned institutions to inspect and assess such instruments to ensure proper quality and workmanship.
IEEE Standards:
- IEEE Xplore - Click on Standards
With an active portfolio of nearly 1,300 standards and projects under development, IEEE is a leading developer of industry standards in a broad range of technologies.
See aso:
MAD CAD
- MAD CAD
Mad Cad is a database with access to cross-referenced collections of building, electrical, mechanical, plumbing, fire, and maintenance codes from BOCA, SBCCI, ICBO, ICC, and NFPA. Some ASHRAE standards are also available.
Defense and federal specifications and standards
- ASSIST Quick Search
It provides direct access to Defense and Federal specifications and standards available in the official DoD repository, ASSIST is a robust, comprehensive web site used by standardization management activities to develop, coordinate, distribute, and manage defense and federal specifications and standards, military handbooks, commercial item descriptions, data item descriptions, and related technical documents prepared in accordance with the policies and procedures of the Defense Standardization Program (DSP). Besides DoD-prepared documents, ASSIST also has selected international standardization agreements, such as NATO standards ratified by the United States and International Test Operating Procedures. Since it always has the most current information, ASSIST is the official source for specifications and standards used by the Department of Defense. See ASSIST Overview for more details.
Searching for standards from other organizations such as ISO or SAE.
Find standard number and the title for each standard you need from the other organizations.
To obtain any other standards, or if you have any other questions, please contact Jay Bhatt, Liaison Librarian for Engineering, Hagerty Library room 127, Phone: 215-895-1873. Email: bhattjj@drexel.edu.
Please see the videos below to help you learn more about Standards. These are produced with assistance from the Drexel University Libraries Curricula Support Team.
