LibGuides: Psychiatry: Home

DSM-5/DSM-5-TR

For online access to the American Psychiatric Association's Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth edition, Text Revision (and continued access to the DSM-5 pre-revisions).

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders: DSM-5

Select books

Synopsis of Psychiatry by Benjamin J. Sadock; Pedro Ruiz; Virginia A. Sadock
ISBN: 9781609139711
Publication Date: 2014-08-26
E-Book
Massachusetts General Hospital Comprehensive Clinical Psychiatry by Theodore A. Stern; Jerrold F. Rosenbaum; Scott L. Rauch; Joseph Biederman; Maurizio Fava
ISBN: 0323328997
Publication Date: 2016
E-Book
Current Diagnosis and Treatment Psychiatry by Michael H. Ebert; James F. Leckman; Ismene Petrakis
ISBN: 9780071754422
Publication Date: 2018-10-31
eBook, 3 ed.
Kaplan and Sadock's Comprehensive Textbook of Psychiatry by Benjamin J. Sadock; Pedro Ruiz; Virginia A. Sadock
ISBN: 9781451100471
Publication Date: 2017-06-01
The American Psychiatric Publishing Textbook of Psychiatry by Robert E. Hales (Editor); Stuart C. Yudofsky (Editor); Glen O. Gabbard (Editor); Alan F. Schatzberg (Foreword by)
Call Number: WM 100 A5112 2008
ISBN: 9781585622573
Publication Date: 2008-04-16

Find more e-books

Finding articles

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Search scholarly, peer-reviewed literature in the biomedical sciences.
PubMed is a database created by the National Library of Medicine to facilitate searching the biomedical literature. The MEDLINE databases found within PubMed contains journals that have been reviewed by a panel of experts for quality. PubMed also contains PMC, which contains publicly accessible literature that have not necessarily gone through the same review process.
Keywords: biomedical sciences, medicine, basic science, molecular biology, genetics, genomics, immunology, kinesiology, neurosciences, neurobiology, nutrition, anatomy, health
PsycINFO 1887-Current This link opens in a new window
ALERT (February 2024) - EBSCOhost (CINAHL) has recently implemented some updates that are causing limited search results. For advanced searching, Boolean operators must be capitalized (AND, OR). Contact librarians@drexel.libanswers.com for assistance.
PsycINFO comprehensively indexes the literature of psychology/behavioral sciences, including journals, books and book chapters, and dissertations. Journal coverage spans 1800 - present; monograph indexing extends back to 1600. Keywords: psychology, behavioral health, behavioral sciences
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Search scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Web of Science is a terrific place to begin for research in the sciences. Also includes citation analysis tools.
https://www-webofscience-com.ezproxy2.library.drexel.edu/wos/woscc/basic-search
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Specialized literature in health sciences, including clinical research and healthcare. It includes the Cochrane database of systematic reviews, and databases of clinical trials, and non-Cochrane systematic reviews.
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Cochrane Reviews are peer-reviewed systematic reviews that summarize and assess current research for clinical treatment decisions.
Keywords: systematic review, evidence-based medicine
Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) via ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full text education literature and resources. Content types include journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, dissertations, policy papers, and reports.
Includes ability to limit search results by education level (such as early childhood education or a particular grade) and target audience (such as counselors, parents, or teachers)
PILOTS: Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress This link opens in a new window
Citations to literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations; sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.
Keywords: PTSD, trauma, stress, veterans
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Recommended link to Google Scholar for Drexel users, as it provides verified links to full text items licensed for Drexel University use. Follow these instructions to set your Google Scholar settings for access to Drexel Full Text.

Clinical tools

DynaMed Plus This link opens in a new window
DynaMed Plus is a clinical reference tool containing summaries of diseases and other topics, with information about diagnosis, treatment options, etc. All the information in DynaMed is linked back to the original articles that provided the evidence, and evidence is graded based on the quality of the study methodology and the results.

PubMed Clinical Queries
Use specialized PubMed filters to find clinical studies and systematic reviews
Diagnosaurus
Diagnosaurus, provided by AccessMedicine,provides differential diagnoses (DDx) of symptoms, signs, and diseases. By using the various indexes, you can choose to view entries by organ system, or select to view the list of symptoms only, the list of diseases only, or all of the entries.

ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Search across content in medicine and biomedical sciences. Includes books, journals, drug monographs, practice guidelines, images, and videos.
The Procedures Consult collection within ClinicalKey provides video overviews of common procedures in a variety of disciplines.
Keywords: clinical key, mdconsult, md consult

Select journals

Video Collections

Psychotherapy.net Expanded Collection This link opens in a new window
The Psychotherapy.net Expanded Collection is a collection of streaming video in the fields of Psychotherapy, Counseling and Social Work, highly recommended for clinical training.
Keywords: psychotherapy, counseling, family therapy, addiction
Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
Clips can be selected and linked in Course Reserves for teaching; most videos have transcripts available.

American Psychiatric Association

American Psychiatric Association

Get Help

Sarah Hughes
Librarian for Health Sciences
Janice Masud-Paul
Librarian for Health Sciences Research
Kathleen Turner
Librarian for Public Health, Psychology, and Criminology and Justice Studies