LibGuides: Nutrition Data and Repositories: Home

Local Data/Regional Data Sets

Open Data Philly (Health & Human Services)
Open data sets on Philadelphia with health-related content. Data is included from the City of Philadelphia, non-profits, schools and businesses

PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
An online (no software installation needed) U.S. national data and mapping tool and analytics platform with multidisciplinary applications for college students and faculty. It is used in undergraduate and graduate curricula and research related to social sciences, urban studies, real estate and housing analysis, community and economic development, public administration, public health, policy and political science, education, business, economics, statistics, and geography, among others. Users can leverage thousands of U.S. data indicators in PolicyMap to perform demographic and socioeconomic analysis, from a neighborhood census block group in many cases, up to a national level, as well as create custom regions, for their research and studies.

Phenol-Explorer 3.6
Database on polyphenol content in foods. The database contains more than 35,000 content values for 500 different polyphenols in over 400 foods.
CMU Multi-Modal Activity Database - Kitchen Capture
The CMU Multi-Modal Activity Database (CMU-MMAC) database contains multimodal measures of the human activity of subjects performing the tasks involved in cooking and food preparation. The CMU-MMAC database was collected in Carnegie Mellon's Motion Capture Lab. A kitchen was built and to date twenty-five subjects have been recorded cooking five different recipes: brownies, pizza, sandwich, salad, and scrambled eggs.

Nutrition and Dietetics Resources
by Sarah Hughes Last Updated Jan 10, 2025 19 views this year

Research Data Management Resources
by John Wiggins Last Updated Feb 4, 2025 107 views this year

Research Data Repositories
by Jay Bhatt Last Updated Jan 17, 2025 18 views this year

PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
An online (no software installation needed) U.S. national data and mapping tool and analytics platform with multidisciplinary applications for college students and faculty. It is used in undergraduate and graduate curricula and research related to social sciences, urban studies, real estate and housing analysis, community and economic development, public administration, public health, policy and political science, education, business, economics, statistics, and geography, among others. Users can leverage thousands of U.S. data indicators in PolicyMap to perform demographic and socioeconomic analysis, from a neighborhood census block group in many cases, up to a national level, as well as create custom regions, for their research and studies.

FAOSTAT
Provides free access to food and agriculture data for over 245 countries and territories and covers all FAO regional groupings
from 1961 to the most recent year available.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Largest available data aggregator for statistics, offering more than one million statistics and facts from more than 18,000 sources within the United States and internationally. Statistics, statistical dossiers, reports, surveys, and market studies are categorized into industries, broad topics, countries, and consumer, digital, and mobility markets. Global Consumer Survey covers more than 50 industries, more than 5,000 international brands, and additional topics from a global perspective. Business Plan Export aids in market modeling, business case development, and profit and loss statement creation.

International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI) Dataverse
IFPRI is often involved in the collection of primary data and the compilation and processing of secondary data. The resulting datasets provide a wealth of information at the local (household and community), national, and global levels. IFPRI freely distributes as many of these datasets as possible and encourages their use in research and policy analysis.
FooDB
FooDB is the world’s largest and most comprehensive resource on food constituents, chemistry and biology. It provides information on both macronutrients and micronutrients, including many of the constituents that give foods their flavor, color, taste, texture and aroma.
Ag Data Commons
The Ag Data Commons provides access to a wide variety of open data relevant to agricultural research and related domains. These may include subjects such as agronomy, genomics, food science, food availability, hydrology, agro-ecosystems, sustainability science, and economic statistics. Data included in the Ag Data Commons is funded in whole or in part by USDA.

ICPSR: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new window
The first time you download data, you must create free MyData Login while on-campus or using VPN. After the Login is created you will be able to download from anywhere.

Data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. Teaching/learning resources include data-driven learning guides and classroom exercises.
The data archive includes a broad range of disciplines, including political science, sociology, demography, economics, history, education, gerontology, criminal justice, public health, foreign policy, and law. ICPSR's entire collection is online and available for downloading.

Harvard Dataverse
An open-source repository for finding and storing data sets
re3data.org
The Registry of Research Data Repositories.
DRYAD
The Dryad Digital Repository is a curated resource that makes the data underlying scientific publications discoverable, freely reusable, and citable. Dryad provides a general-purpose home for a wide diversity of datatypes.

Email Me

Subjects: Biological Sciences, Health Sciences, Medicine & Biomedical Sciences, Nursing & Health Professions