Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Drexel Library

Teaching Content Areas - Literacy and Social Studies: Special Topics

Literacy, K-12 teaching, Social Studies

Web Resources

Literacy:

Meet the Author Provides direct access to authors who share their personal stories, offer their writing tips, and encourage students to “keep reading, keep writing, keep dreaming.”

The New York Times Learning Network provides lesson plans and other teacher resources including materials from the Newspaper in Education Program.

Online Poetry Classroom from the Academy of American Poets provides resources, discussion forums and tips for educators.

Poetry 180 the Library of Congress highlights a poem a day for high school students.

Web English Teacher is a teacher-created website listing K-12 English and Language Arts resources.

 

Social Studies:

Economics Pennsylvania promoting economic education in PA through student competitions, teacher resource, and professional development opportunities.

Pennsylvania Educational Alliance for Citizenship includes resources and programmers to help educators meet all aspects of PA social studies standards.

United Nations Cyberschoolbus includes K-12 resources and an interactive database of world-wide demographic data.

The American Promise provides lessons in government, civics and history, with ideas that intrigue and inspire students.

Online Collections

Literacy: 

Center on English Learning and Achievement provides research findings and school reform suggestions through print and online resources to teachers, administrators, and parents so that they can put the Center’s findings to work in their classrooms, schools, and communities. 

EDsitement is a showcase of K-12 teaching resources provided by the National Endowment for the Humanities.

National Writing Project is a professional development network that serves teachers of writing at all grade levels, primary through university, and in all subjects. The website offers resources in reading and writing as well as access to specialized educator networks. 

ReadWriteThink provides educators and students access to the highest quality practices and resources in reading and language arts instruction. 

 

Social Studies:

APSA Teaching supports political science education and the professional development of its practitioners.

Smithsonian Education includes teaching materials, links to online resources, and access to the world's largest museum complex.

History & Social Studies Teaching and Learning Resources contains resources from federal agencies in the subjects of US History and World Studies. 

Library of Congress for Teachers contains more than 10 million primary sources online.

National Geographic Education includes a variety of teacher resources, projects and education newsletters.