It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
History -- History of Technology and HIST 285: Home
Useful Web Resources
Find Articles - History
Start with searching for articles in Summon then try these more specialized resources.
America: History & Life with Full Text is the definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books.
Allows for searching on a broad range of topics within the scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines. It also covers patents, and industry standards. The Ei (Engineering Index) Backfile, going back to 1884, and INSPEC Backfile, going back to 1896, can be particularly helpful for History of Technology projects.
Provides full text coverage of over 1,700 journal titles published worldwide and serves as the master index of scholarship on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
Find full text for leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and life sciences, as well as scholarly eBooks. Most journals provide content from the first year of publication through 3 years ago.
Complete full-text content of local and regional news from 1983-present, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Please note, photos and some blog content for the Inquirer may not be available through this service
Previously available through Newsbank, now provided through Proquest Newspapers.
Full text access to The Philadelphia Inquirer from 1860 - 2001.
With a rich history of growth and advocacy that closely mirrors the nation’s Civil Rights progress, The Philadelphia Tribune is the nation’s oldest continuously published newspaper reflecting the African-American experience.
Contains legal, news, and business-related subjects. Newspapers & legal materials are featured, including cases, statutes, and regulations of the U.S. government and the various state governments; includes the legal encyclopedia American Jurisprudence 2nd and American Law Reports; case law from 1789 to present; current statutes and regulations.
American History in Video includes approximately 1,000 hours of newsreels from the late 1890s to the 1980s. Beginning with the Spanish American War, the early films provide documentary footage of actual people, places, and events together with interviews and other broadcast content from the period. In addition to the officially received perspectives offered by newsreels, this collection includes some 200 hours of rare, hard-to-find, and diverse perspectives as captured in a wide range of short films.
An ongoing project to develop, “an open, distributed network of comprehensive online resources that would draw on the nation’s living heritage from libraries, universities, archives, and museums in order to educate, inform, and empower everyone in current and future generations.”
A project focusing on the history of science, technology, and industry from the Center for History and New Media at George Mason University. Site includes reviews of related websites, a directory of online collections, and a guide to producing online history.
Search for archival materials in WorldCat by selecting the “Archival Materials” from the “Format” list on the Advanced Search page. Also available as an iPhone/Android app.
Find Primary Sources via Free Library of Philadelphia
Many significant primary source collections are avialable from the Free Library of Philadelphia. Drexel students and faculty are eligible for library cards from the FLP. Library card number and PIN are needed for remote access. Some resources are only available onsite at the FLP's Central Library.
The Chicago Manual of Style Online is a searchable version of the manual with answers to style and editing questions, as well as the Q&A Content. The Chicago Manual of Style Online also provides Tools, such as sample forms, letters, and style sheets.