LibGuides: History -- History of Science and HIST 280-281-282: Home

Find Articles - History

Start with searching for articles in DragonSearch then try these more specialized resources.

America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
America: History & Life with Full Text is the definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage of over 1,700 journal titles published worldwide and serves as the master index of scholarship on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Find full text for leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and life sciences, as well as scholarly eBooks. Most journals provide content from the first year of publication through 3 years ago.

Find Background Information

A Dictionary of the History of Science by Anton Sebastian
Call Number: Hagerty 2nd Floor Q124.8 .S43 2001
ISBN: 185070418X
Publication Date: 2001
Short, dictionary-style entries for major figures and concepts in the history of science.
Encyclopedia of Scientific Principles, Laws, and Theories by Robert E. Krebs
Call Number: Hagerty 2nd Floor Q121 .K74 2008
ISBN: 9780313340055
Publication Date: 2008
Mcgraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology by McGraw-Hill Education Staff
Call Number: Electronic via AccessScience
ISBN: 9780071792738
Publication Date: 2012+
Twenty volumes, with thousands of articles. Includes cross-references, bibliographies, and a comprehensive index all fully searchable and updated online.
The Oxford Companion to the History of Modern Science by John L. Heilbron (Editor)
Call Number: Hagerty 2nd Floor Q125 .O86 2003 and Electronic
ISBN: 0195112296
Publication Date: 2003
“Modern” is defined as 1550 to contemporary times. Includes a broad array of brief articles covering all disciplines, historical periods, concepts, and methodologies and philosophies. International in scope.

Find Electronic Primary Sources

American History in Video (North America) This link opens in a new window
American History in Video includes approximately 1,000 hours of newsreels from the late 1890s to the 1980s. Beginning with the Spanish American War, the early films provide documentary footage of actual people, places, and events together with interviews and other broadcast content from the period. In addition to the officially received perspectives offered by newsreels, this collection includes some 200 hours of rare, hard-to-find, and diverse perspectives as captured in a wide range of short films.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times 1851 - 3 years Ago This link opens in a new window
Full Text coverage of the New York Times from 1851 - 2003, including original images.

DPLA: Digital Public Library of America
An ongoing project to develop, “an open, distributed network of comprehensive online resources that would draw on the nation’s living heritage from libraries, universities, archives, and museums in order to educate, inform, and empower everyone in current and future generations.”
Worldcat.org
Search for archival materials in WorldCat by selecting the “Archival Materials” from the “Format” list on the Advanced Search page. Also available as an iPhone/Android app.

Find Primary Sources via Free Library of Philadelphia

Many significant primary source collections are avialable from the Free Library of Philadelphia. Drexel students and faculty are eligible for library cards from the FLP. Library card number and PIN are needed for remote access. Some resources are only available onsite at the FLP's Central Library.

Archive of Americana
Includes Early American Newspapwers, Series 1 (1690-1876), Early American Newspapers, Pennsylvania (1790-1922), Pennsylvania's Historical Newspapers 1719-1922, American State Papers 1789-1838.
Declassified Documents Reference System
Rich collection of declassified U.S. Government documents.

Find Biographies

Biography in Context
Call Number: Electronic
Hundreds of biographies of historical figures from around the world. Search by name or use the “Biographical Facts Search” to browse by nationality, ethnicity, gender, occupation, etc.
Dictionary of Scientific Biographies by Charles C. Gillispie
Call Number: Hagerty 2nd Floor Q141 .D5
ISBN: 0684101149
Publication Date: 1971+
Fourteen volumes and four supplements. An authoritative source for information on deceased scientists who have made significant contributions to the history of science. International in scope and covering all periods from antiquity to the twentieth century.
Women in Science - Antiquity Through the Nineteenth Century by Marilyn Bailey Ogilvie
Call Number: Hagerty 2nd Floor Q141.O34 1986 and Electronic
ISBN: 9780262650380
Publication Date: 1986
Good coverage of women scientists before the Modern era even though many entries are brief. Entries are cross-referenced with the seven chronological bibliographies included in the work.

Chicago

Chicago Manual of Style, 16th ed. (Print Copies)
Print copies of the Chicago Manual of Style are available at W.W. Hagerty.
more...less...
Check the catalog record for locations and availability.
Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition
Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL)

Reference Management Tools

Robust applications for managing information

Citation Management Tools
by Kathleen Turner Last Updated Oct 11, 2024 767 views this year
EndNote Online
by Kathleen Turner Last Updated May 8, 2024 508 views this year
Zotero
by Sarah Hughes Last Updated Oct 11, 2024 306 views this year